EMC Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor

EMC Consulting Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
EMC Consulting CEO Joe Tucci
Joe Tucci
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company that allows and helps you grow while providing a great atmosphere and cares about its employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Advisory Solutions Architect in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMC Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, training and promotion from with in the ranks. Job postings are sent to all employees.

    Cons

    Many layers of middle management, hot jobs and postings are not easy to apply or contact the correct hiring manager.

    Advice to Management

    Cut some middle layers and cross training

    EMC Consulting2015-03-23
  2. "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EMC Consulting full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company and good people.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to share about them.

    Advice to Management

    Will work there again if offered.

    EMC Consulting2019-07-30
  3. "Churn and Burn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMC Consulting for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid well, relevant work based on skills

    Cons

    Awful management, only focused on numbers not retaining employees, very poor work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    None. Sold to Dell, so hope things are better now.

    EMC Consulting2017-09-14
  4. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMC Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training and certification access

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging due to travel

    Advice to Management

    None

    EMC Consulting2017-04-12
  5. "Overall view of EMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EMC Consulting

    Pros

    Great opportunity to advance your training!

    Cons

    Long hours and working with the "GOALS" system can be a setback each quarter because you don't have complete control of all aspects required to complete the goals!

    Advice to Management

    increase yearly raises....

    EMC Consulting2016-12-18
  6. "Product manager salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at EMC Consulting

    Pros

    Really good company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    EMC Consulting2016-02-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Solutions Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Hopkinton, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EMC Consulting

    Pros

    Great People, interesting clients and peers

    Cons

    Things are a bit in the air with takeover. Poor training for newbies

    EMC Consulting2016-01-20
  8. "Sr. Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMC Consulting

    Pros

    Good benefits, work-life balance, nice people to work with

    Cons

    more value to number of years of service than what contribution you can bring to table

    Advice to Management

    There are talented people out side Boston as well :)

    EMC Consulting2016-01-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Decent company--some politics, and recent cycle of hiring/letting go people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager Consulting 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMC Consulting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Up until I left in 2013, I had a good experience at EMC consulting. I had some excellent mentors as well as managers. Things started towards a downward trend in 2013, so I left.

    Cons

    EMC makes room for good employees, even in bad economic times. However, they take away the entire support system around you--including many experienced folks, and then rehires new people in good times just a few months later--causing much frustration for those who have been there for a while. When I left in 2013, there was a significant amount of politics at all levels, which I cannot stand.

    Advice to Management

    Please stop the yo-yo effect of hiring and letting go people within months of each other (I saw that a number of times during my stint at EMC). On top of that, offers of significant exit/retirement packages that cost the company a pretty penny could be used towards stopping the yo-yo effect of hiring/letting go. It doesn't make sense that you hire a bunch of people, let them go and give them packages, and then we... hire people a few months down the line for the same position that's being terminated. This was a continuous cycle, not just a one time deal.

    Show More
    EMC Consulting2015-03-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "If you want to get laid off once you hit a salary range they consider too high, this is your company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMC Consulting full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You have a job. Yyou may start with a good salary, but don't expect to get more than 2%/yr even if you're a star.

    Cons

    EMC is interested in making lots of money for their execs/CEO. Research the multiples of how much the CEO makes versus the average salary in the company. In the hundreds of times, versus other companies throughout the WORLD where the norm is under 25 times. You will be worked - hard - for years and they will give you a 2% raise even if you're billing $250-300/hr for them. You will then find out that the Indian... H1-B consultant working on your team is making HALF what you do, and has been for 6 years - no raise. Then you'll get laid off because they can hire two of them for one of you. This is real. It happens everywhere. You can be as loyal as you can be to this company, but they will NOT be loyal to you. Go elsewhere. I suggest a startup where your long hours may pay off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When you have a worldwide meeting and brag about hom you just made more money in the last two quarters than in the previous 30 YEARS, don't follow it up - in literally the next SENTENCE - with how money for raises is tight, while the CEO and execs will be taking home MASSIVE bonuses due to huge stock grants the Board gave you. The Board which is filled with people in the same strata as you and getting voted the... same huge stock grants...

    Show More
    EMC Consulting2014-11-24
Found 116 reviews