EMC Employee Reviews | Glassdoor

EMC is now part of Dell. Dell and the EMC family of companies have united to become Dell Technologies. We drive global progress and transformation by bringing practical innovation to people and organizations everywhere. Let your career transformation begin at jobs.dell.com

EMC Reviews

Updated March 25, 2017
4,053 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4,053 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Can be tough to have a healthy work life balance if you are not careful, just depends on the role you are in (in 162 reviews)

  • Political just as any big company (in 90 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with big company problems"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Franklin, MA
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Franklin, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMC full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, opportunities to learn and grow if you stick around for a while. I learned a lot over my 6 years at EMC and felt it impacted my future jobs for sure. There is flexibility of work-life balance and avg level of transparency shared every quarter with what's new and upcoming by the CEO. I don't know how this has been impacted by the Dell acquisition though.

    Cons

    EMC was huge company and sometimes difficult to navigate. Many people are doing the same job, and feel threatened of protecting their place. It could be a bit more collaborative and less political.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage young blood to speak up - since many people stick around EMC for most of their life, there isn't an opportunity for new grads and hires to speak up or feel empowered.

    EMC Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a thorough and detailed review of your experience. On a regular basis, the leadership team hears about common themes (both positive and otherwise) to ... More


  2. "Customer Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Engineer in Arlington, TX
    Former Employee - Customer Engineer in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMC (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company fosters a culture of teamwork. My team members were great resources for problem solving and passing knowledge. The recent acquisition of EMC by Dell leaves a lot of questions regarding the direction of the service arm of the new company. Overall as an EMC employee, I enjoyed my time there. I was not with the new Dell/EMC company long enough to give any meaningful feedback.

    Cons

    Some internal processes and tools need to be improved to increase productivity. The training could be more targeted to individual roles to increase employee effectiveness in their roles.

    EMC Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with us. Productivity improvements are certainly on our radar as well as on-going upgrades to our training and development of our employees. Best of ... More


  3. "Senior Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Hopkinton, MA
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Hopkinton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company benefits and salary. Nice blend of co-workers.

    Cons

    Repetitive work due to last minute decisions was regularly a problem.

    EMC Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your review!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Senior Program Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Lead Program Manager in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Senior Lead Program Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EMC full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Leading Edge provider of services

    Cons

    Advancement is slow at best

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within

    EMC Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Good luck to you!


  6. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hopkinton, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hopkinton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good Work life balance
    Diverse engineering environment

    Cons

    Lack of innovation
    Groth Opportunities are limited as you climb up the ladder

    EMC Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience.


  7. "Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EMC full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good Pay. Market Leader with good products.

    Cons

    grew to be to corporate heavy.

    Advice to Management

    Cut the corporate staff and grow the field staff.

    EMC Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    We appreciate and value your feedback and will definitely continue to analyze all feedback received on this site. Thank you for taking the time to share with us.


  8. "good company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    strong sales culture and bonus structure

    Cons

    not for people unwilling to work hard


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Quality Engineer Co-op in Hopkinton, MA
    Former Employee - Software Quality Engineer Co-op in Hopkinton, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - smart, intelligent and dedicated colleagues
    - lot of events, parties, outings, pot lunch through both university relations and internal team etc.
    - My manager was very nice. Unlike some managers who just want to get the work done, she invested time and resources for me to learn things.

    Cons

    Due to the merger, there are a lot of cost cuttings and I saw a lot of people being fired or leaving in a very short time.My own team was almost half when I left.

    Advice to Management

    Try retaining good employees.

    EMC Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Great to hear that overall you would describe your experience as 'great' - we do appreciate your overall feedback and value all of the reviews left here on this site. Thank you for taking time to ... More


  10. "May good for some people"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hopkinton, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hopkinton, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMC full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Although benefits were good before Dell acquisition. The overall incentive has decreased.

    Cons

    Lack of promotion! Cost cutting on employees' detriments.

    Advice to Management

    Never met one! Therefore I have no opinion good or bad.


  11. "Program manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Paxton, MA
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Paxton, MA

    I worked at EMC (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, great culture to work in. Very diverse culture. Good opportunity to travel and attack challenges globally. All in attitude while developing products.

    Cons

    Very restrictive from a management perspective. When attempting to be cross functional there are times during an issue or product failure ownership of the problem was difficult to assign.



Showing 4,053 of 4,299 reviews
Reset Filters