EMI Music North America Reviews | Glassdoor

EMI Music North America Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EMI Music North America

    Pros

    Fun environment, great music, nice people

    Cons

    Company was sold, and the consolidation process was difficult for everyone.

    EMI Music North America2018-01-23
  2. "A great place to work, albeit chaotic at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EMI Music North America

    Pros

    Energetic, fast moving, creative. recommended

    Cons

    An industry in turmoil - so difficult politics and egos to navigate

    Advice to Management

    Clear vision - steady hand of the tiller

    EMI Music North America2016-12-07
  3. "Senior VP of Supply Chain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EMI Music North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people, great industry, Hollywood a great location, pays well

    Cons

    frequent layoffs, multiple bosses in a short period

    EMI Music North America2016-11-15
  4. "Legal Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EMI Music North America

    Pros

    Interesting work. Opportunities to learn about the music industry as it related to law, including copyright, royalties, and contract review work.

    Cons

    Would have enjoyed more opportunities to sit in on relevant legal meetings and calls

    EMI Music North America2016-09-16
  5. "plenty of responsibility across all levels of management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at EMI Music North America for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great but hectic work environment...fantastic group of co-workers..

    Cons

    constant downsizing in a declining recorded music market. Hedge fund purchase doomed company for eventual takeover by Universal Music.

    EMI Music North America2016-06-04
  6. "account management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Account Manager in Rogers, AR
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at EMI Music North America for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic people! Family oriented. Excellent customer partnerships

    Cons

    Not enough content. Constant pressure of new ownership

    EMI Music North America2015-09-16
  7. "It was once a great company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at EMI Music North America

    Pros

    Overall I had a positive experience working in the EMI Music system, and this was largely due to my direct superiors.

    Cons

    Management at the top has typically been the key factor in the demise of this once great label. In my 4 years there, I think we went through 2 or 3 regime changes.

    Advice to Management

    Office culture could improve. Too meeting heavy (meetings about meetings, which makes it difficult to get the job done).

    EMI Music North America2015-02-08
  8. "lucky to work for music industry... but for low income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at EMI Music North America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    working in music gives you the flexibility to dress down everyday. you get to hear music before anyone else, meet artists, see concerts. Good vibe overall

    Cons

    the lowest average income in entertainment industry is within music labels. Lots of hours and putting up with egos for a low price

    Advice to Management

    when a CEO earns millions of dollars to hang out with artists, but the "little" people do all the dirty work... just not fair. It's ok to do all those things, but for a reasonable price

    EMI Music North America2014-07-03
  9. "Music Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President Finance in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at EMI Music North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People were dedicated and committed to delivering excellence for our artists and customers Managed through the business transformation from a mostly physical business to a mostly digital business Gained proficiency at cash flow management and cost reduction. Maximized every dollar.

    Cons

    The incredible shrinking business or "Honey, I shrunk the music business". 50% reduction in the US market during the 12 years of experience. Continual focus on cost reduction through staff reductions and outsourcing. Technology was dated and clumsy.

    Advice to Management

    Employ a more open and innovative environment to stimulate ideas and creativity to improve business operations. Increase investment in business analytics.

    EMI Music North America2014-05-16
  10. "Some of the best work experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EMI Music North America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great people, nice work environment, fun events.

    Cons

    they weren't current enough on digital progression and HR was awful.

    EMI Music North America2014-04-30
Found 31 reviews