EMSL Analytical Reviews | Glassdoor

EMSL Analytical Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 243 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Peter Frasca
151 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some what flexible schedule, I was able to come in a little earlier or later than my scheduled time(in 27 reviews)

  • "Very Flexible hours, a time off request or personal day has never been denied regardless of lab staffing(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Anyone who really works here and is not upper management would never rate it that high(in 29 reviews)

  • "health insurance plan is not so good(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It's getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at EMSL Analytical full-time

      Pros

      New programs & incentives Opportunities for OT and bonuses for hardship hours Year-round company events help to break the monotony of the day to day work Family-like atmosphere

      Cons

      OT affects work-life balance Advancement opportunities are available but limited Competitive job market makes it stressful at times

      EMSL Analytical2018-12-28
    • "Lab Tech Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Laboratory Technician 

        I have been working at EMSL Analytical full-time

        Pros

        Very flexible schedule, willing to work with you

        Cons

        The wages overall could be higher

        EMSL Analytical2019-06-19
      • "Good start in Cinnaminson NJ"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at EMSL Analytical full-time

        Pros

        Great place to gain lab experience, develop skills and cross train into different departments. The work load varies by the day depending on the number of samples received. The company has a friendly and casual atmosphere. Wellness challenges are fun and help to encourage healthy habits.

        Cons

        Sometimes long hours due to a lot of samples, big projects or increased workload due to being understaffed. Little room for career growth and advancement.

        EMSL Analytical2019-06-06
      • "Resume builder for recent grad"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Microscopist in Cinnaminson, NJ
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at EMSL Analytical full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        This job/company will boost your resume with some corporate laboratory experience. They boast of flexible scheduling. Great co-workers. Large, well-known company with opportunities to relocate. Some cross-training available. Requested time off is always met.

        Cons

        Little to no upward movement available. Training periods last much longer than implied in the interview, during which you get paid less. Training goes beyond the advertised two week course described in job postings and instead can last months. This is something to consider if you are not a recent grad living with your parents. Minimal benefits. Health insurance plans are quite poor, unless you opt for the most expensive,...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Talk to your employees. Use simple data tracking to rule out those that don't meet performance standards and make adjustments accordingly. Communicate constructive feedback. Rework your training programs. They are completely disorganized and change from trainer to trainer. Make expectations of work performance clear.

        EMSL Analytical2019-06-20
      • Helpful (2)

        "Horribly ran"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Lab Technician 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at EMSL Analytical full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Hours are flexible. Great job when in school.

        Cons

        No room for upward movement.

        EMSL Analytical2019-06-07
      • Helpful (1)

        "It’s okay."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Analyst 

        I have been working at EMSL Analytical full-time

        Pros

        People, hours, and I think that’s it.

        Cons

        Inadequate pay for living in the Bay Area.

        EMSL Analytical2019-05-17
      • "Great Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at EMSL Analytical part-time

          Pros

          Great co-workers and management. Fast paced environment

          Cons

          Not super rewarding long term

          EMSL Analytical2019-05-01
        • Helpful (3)

          "Staffing could be better."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at EMSL Analytical full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Good communication among various labs.

          Cons

          The office I worked in was understaffed so it was very hard to get promoted or change positions.

          EMSL Analytical2019-04-25
        • Helpful (4)

          "Not Worth It"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Lab Technician in Huntington Beach, CA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at EMSL Analytical part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          They've kept me part time for two years so I get out at one pm in time to be able to do errands. A few of my coworkers are incredibly nice. Sometimes there are office lunches.

          Cons

          They've kept me part time for two years so I get paid less despite putting in more effort than other people in my position. Spoken with management at least four times to move to a different/full time position with promises to advance but no difference in multiple months. Heavily overworked, they take projects without asking their employees if they can handle the amount of samples. Equipment frequently malfunctions,...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Please take your employees into consideration, quit the office politics to better your working environments.

          EMSL Analytical2019-05-16
        • Helpful (2)

          "Bittersweet"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Microbiologist 

          I have been working at EMSL Analytical full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Chill, basic, some days very busy others not as much

          Cons

          No promotions, no sick days

          EMSL Analytical2019-04-22
        Found 243 reviews