KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

EMSL Analytical

Is this your company?

EMSL Analytical

Add a Review

EMSL Analytical Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jun 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 of over 350 reviews

2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
EMSL Analytical President Dr. Peter Frasca  (no image)
Dr. Peter Frasca
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very flexible schedule, willing to work with you(in 31 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, repetitive work that is easy to pick up, reasonable workload(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "If us non relatives get each other sick that’d be ok but we cant take a chance of getting the related upper management sick(in 37 reviews)

  • "Benefits are pretty wack and everyone complains about the health insurance(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of EMSL Analytical and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Like a sweat shop

      Jun 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Cinnaminson, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible hours is about it

      Cons

      They treated us non related people like cattle during the covid pandemic. All the family hasn’t been in the building for two months & now that they are thinking about coming back they are going to start taking employee temperatures. If us non relatives get each other sick that’d be ok but we cant take a chance of getting the related upper management sick.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      DO NOT WORK HERE.

      Jan 25, 2019 - Lab Technician in Sparta, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had great coworkers (fellow lab techs) who became some of my best friends. Experience in GMP environment helped me get better job.

      Cons

      Every year this laboratory has a mass exodus of employees due to being overworked, underpaid and underappreciated. Very hostile work environment created by upper management. Stressful because of amount of samples and management complaining we aren’t working fast or efficiently enough. Expected to do way more than humanly possible in 8 hours. When we weren’t done with our outrageous workload by days end, we were expected to stay until everyone had finished. Expected to work in bad conditions: for example, one day there was a small propane explosion where we evacuated. Three minutes after we were told to get out of the building, we were told we could go back in because it was “safe.” We did not listen to this and stayed outside building for an hour until propane smell went away (they never called fire department to come check it out). After that AC was broken and the lab got up to 85 degrees (sweat shop) and they didn’t shut down the building or let us go home, they allowed us to put ice packs on the back of our necks while we worked—how generous! This place is money-hungry and they don’t give a crap about their employees. Upper management aren’t pleasant and love micromanaging and yelling. Taking breaks although they say are allowed for legal purposes are frowned upon because work isn’t getting done. Don’t expect to have a social life because you’ll always be at work doing way more than one person can in 8 hours for terrible money.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Evade Mismanaged Soulless Laboratories

      Dec 16, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only pro for this company is the other downtrodden people you work with.

      Cons

      First and foremost, if you get nothing from the following review at least understand this, EMSL is a terrible company to work for and I promise you can do much better. Do not waste your time with a heartless family who preys on the weak. Their greed has blinded them to the decay that is occurring within their own walls. The EMSL empire is crumbling from within, so do yourself the favor and don’t get caught in the rubble. Upper management is disillusioned and blinded by their greed. The employees that make them rich have been suffering for a long time. We have voiced our concerns, and made it clear of the changes that need to take place to make EMSL a halfway decent working environment. From subpar standards and practices, to the lack of pay and benefits, this company continues to ignore our pleas. There are so many issues with this company that I will not be able to get through all of them in this one review. Clearly this company has its eyes set on one thing only, and that is how much money they can squeeze out of their employees. They offer truly horrific benefits, which barely cover anything medical in nature. The lowest plan they offer is no better than taking that portion of your pay, and throwing it out the window. The only way to get some decent coverage, and I use the term decent loosely here, is to go with their most expensive plan offered. Few actually go this route, because the price for this is astronomical and will leave you with nothing left in your check. Don’t worry though, the fine people in upper management have a completely different health insurance company and plans that are more suitable to them. Keeping with the terrible nature of this company, and their quest for money, let’s dive into pay. Employees are paid incredibly low wages while performing potentially hazardous work. They have a couple areas in the company nailed down with a stepped pay program, where you get so much each year, then it is percentage based after that. Other parts of the company have pay which can best described as a shotgun pattern. Some people are getting paid really low, while others are getting paid somewhat decent wages, and they are all doing the same exact work. This issue has been brought up to management, but it has fallen on deaf ears countless times. The pay is not worth the work that you perform, in both the amount they expect you to do and the potential health risks you put yourself in. You may be wondering about the overall morale within the company. I regret to inform you that it has fallen to an all time low. They currently have made one particular department so cutthroat, that a majority of people are scrambling to get out of the company. They are currently using scare tactics, to keep people from voicing their concerns and complaints about the company... you have failed. This place continues to hemorrhage great employees which is the backbone of any company. Their short sightedness and heartless practices will be the ultimate demise of their business. Overall my experience here has been dismal at best, they only great thing about this place is the people you work with. Another sound piece of advice is to read the reviews below this one, everything that has been said before me is true. They have requested people to write positive reviews on this website, they have blamed us for plumbing, and the Emails sent from a man who has lost a few too many marbles. Even the poorly worded reviews that were written quickly and with anger have a lot of truth within them. The obviously glowing reviews that praise be treating like family have little truth, except for the part stating being like family since they clearly are. Under no circumstance can I recommend working for this company. Even the desperate seeking employment should look else where. They will chew you up and spit you out the first chance they get. If you do find yourself working there, ask around about about a particular Halloween party a few years back. They awarded second prize to a racially appalling and insensitive costume. Just shows you what kind of place you really work at.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Could have benefited a lot from higher morale

      Oct 29, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work wasn't terribly difficult and I genuinely appreciated a lot of my coworkers and bosses

      Cons

      Generally, morale was quite low due to upper management not doing a particularly good job of managing the the employees that put in the majority of technical work for the company. It's hard to stay at a place for long if every time you turn around, you're met with something that makes you feel like you have little value...

      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Piggybacking on Horrible place to work review

      Oct 20, 2019 - Laboratory Analyst in Cinnaminson, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility (depends on department and the manager really) and fellow employees

      Cons

      Dr F has bragged about how all the used, cushionless 2nd hand lab chairs were bought at auctions for cheap. He’s also said he can’t give employees a 10% raise because EMSL only makes “supermarket profits” yet they buy super expensive equipment, solar panels, the whole nearby shopping plaza, etc. and end up stiffing us with a $30 Christmas insult, I mean bonus. Dr F even said, “I don’t know why you guys have stuck with us for so long when other companies pay better and have better benefits” - this was said at an anniversary party for his own employees! His brass even looked shocked when he said that. He’s sent emails saying “we can’t pay the best but we have the most heart” which is sadly far from the truth when you witness how poorly employees are treated. He’s asked the whole company to purposely give good Glassdoor reviews because all the real reviews are bad. By the way the fake reviews written by his brass are so obvious, especially when they state things such as “the pay is up to market standards” and “upper management is great” and “they value their employees”. Give me a break. They demote great employees and don’t fight to keep the good ones, then wonder why turnover is so high? They knowingly change their PTO policy many months in advance but decide to tell employees with about 1 month left so they can screw employees out of using all their vaca days they’ve saved up. They blame employees for plumbing issues when they buy low flow toilets and don’t hire pro plumbers, go figure. They stiff employees out of raises because they have too much senority and take advantage of new hires by having them sign raise schedules then voiding them out of the blue, not keeping their word. Their employee of the month recognizes some but not all the really hard workers either. Certain departments seem to be treated better than others and some managers just sit in their office and go on their phones all day, wonder how they get those positions? While other managers actually work and then get demoted. Dr. F’s emails are borderline senile in nature, asking us where to find black walnuts and us to help his chickens lay jumbo eggs. You can’t help but feel sorry for new hires, they don’t know what they’re getting themselves into. They want us to thank Dr. F for being “so generous” when our premiums go up because he “absorbs” some of the increase. This company survives on employees who work for way less than what they are worth, which in the end is the employee’s fault to be honest. If someone can take advantage of you, they will.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Horrible place and management

      Oct 17, 2019 - Laboratory Analyst in Cinnaminson, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Experience for resume, some workers have become close friends.

      Cons

      The management and upper management here are terrible. I have been with this company for a while unfortunately so i know a lot of what goes on behind the scenes. Upper management does not care about employees at all, they are just numbers. They know that if they can pay someone less to do the same job they will just try to force out people who have been here for a while who are making more. Dr. Frasca who is the owner of the company specifically bragged to us on a "tour" of the lab that instead of just paying a ton of taxes at the end of the year he went out and bought a laboratory machine that costs $750,000 that he still doesn't use. Just an fyi there are no holiday bonuses at this company except for a $30 gift card, but don't worry while he's handing you that he will brag about his machine he bought. I have been told that he purposely walks around the building in beat up clothes to make it seem like he doesn't have much money so that when people ask for raises it will make it seem like the company doesn't make that much. Dr. Frasca also sends out really unprofessional emails all the time. One email was sent to everyone saying "what else can i give you except the skin off of my back!". He was mad that people were asking for more money and better benefits. And by the way the benefits are the worst i've ever seen. If you have a family you will probably pay over $1000 a month for bad coverage. Good luck with that. When this company started a nightshift differential pay it was stated that it was for all analysts who work at night, but of course they shamefully told some people that they could not receive this because they already make too much. What a joke. Almost everyone i know says that management doesn't even look at them when they walk by in the hall. This is a terrible way to run a company, it creates a hostile environment. All i can say is if you have nowhere else to go and seriously need experience then i would recommend going here for some quick learning about how a company shouldn't be run.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Resume builder for recent grad

      Jun 20, 2019 - Microscopist in Cinnaminson, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This job/company will boost your resume with some corporate laboratory experience. They boast of flexible scheduling. Great co-workers. Large, well-known company with opportunities to relocate. Some cross-training available. Requested time off is always met.

      Cons

      Little to no upward movement available. Training periods last much longer than implied in the interview, during which you get paid less. Training goes beyond the advertised two week course described in job postings and instead can last months. This is something to consider if you are not a recent grad living with your parents. Minimal benefits. Health insurance plans are quite poor, unless you opt for the most expensive, in which case you will not see much of a pay check. The "flexible scheduling" is mostly a half truth. You have wiggle room with clock-in and out times, but management takes notice and will hold it against you if they feel you aren't doing enough samples in a day. OT is in the form of "Bonus Days," which is only offered to certain employees, supposedly based on performance. I have seen these being withheld from some well performing employees based on small infractions that management decides to take notice of, while other poorly performing employees committing the same infractions go unnoticed. They consider these "Bonus Days" as a sort of gift, while in reality the lab is extremely behind and needs the help to get back on schedule. Also, if you do not consistently partake in OT management may stop offering them to you. There is a large communication gap between all members of the lab. From trainers to experienced analysts, to lower management, and especially upper management. The lack of communication is well known and well discussed among all levels of employees, but the structure is such that those put in places to listen are already over worked and hold no authority to make a change. It can always be chocked up to, "We'll see what upper management has to say." There is a huge push by the non-laboratory side to increase work performance, but this comes without any input from the laboratory. Incentive programs are implemented without ever spending a day in the laboratory or fully understanding the scope of an average work day. When these poorly thought out competition-based incentive programs don't work as planned they use laboratory employees to track the time use of others and report on each individual. The concerns seem to stem from a few bad apples that could be ruled out with minimal investigation, but there seems to be an avoidance of confrontation at all costs by management. Instead, they accuse all employees of wasting time and utilize a fear based environment to try and increase work output.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      EMS”helL” - don’t do it!

      Jan 3, 2019 - Analyst in Cinnaminson, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with a great group of people. We bonded over our 10-12 hr work days and complaining about the company. We nicknamed it EMS”helL”. Having great coworkers made the days manageable.

      Cons

      Don’t believe any of the reviews that have 4-5 stars. Dr. Frasca sent out an email company wide asking employees to write good reviews because the reviews on Glassdoor were so terrible. Anyone who really works here and is not upper management would never rate it that high. If you are a tech in any department, you are basically treated like crap and told you are replaceable. Most techs are desperate college grads looking for experience. I was lucky enough to have a few promotions and move up in the company, but buyer beware. You never really get a raise, you are just expected to do your job on top of everything new you learn. If anyone leaves you will be expected to do their job on top of yours. Even with those raises my base pay was really low. You only make any money because of the ridiculous amount of overtime you are required to work because there isn’t enough staff in the lab. There’s too many samples with quick turns for anyone to work 8 hrs. Management will ask you to work weekends and OT, and if samples are late they will micromanage you. Several times we had a manager check on us every hour looking for results. What happened to “no undue pressure” from your handbook? I got hired at another company in an entry level position making $10k more in an entry level position then I was making after 4 years of hard work and “raises” at EMSL. If you are a skilled worker and offered a job here, run while you can! There is a reason they are always hiring, most people don’t stay past a year or two. Do not even expect to have a work/life balance or any kind of acknowledgement for your hard work. This place will suck out your soul and steal your happiness.

      Continue reading
      34 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      You will be just a number!

      Sep 1, 2019 - Analyst in Cinnaminson, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers and flexible hours, its sad when they are truly the only good things you can say about a company.

      Cons

      Upper management truly has no clue, they institute incentive programs that do nothing but encourage bad laboratory practices. Their employees are disposable to them, they value none of their employees. The more seniority you have the worst they treat you.

      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Pros

      Seriously -- I can't think of ANYTHING good about this company, other than you don't have to bring your own toilet paper to work.

      Cons

      Where to even begin..... Management is a failure. FAILURE. Lab managers get bonuses based on profit. Analysts see zero dollars added to their paychecks based on that same profit. Analysts do every smidgen of the work, and reap absolutely none of the benefits. Upper management are literally all family members, and have no CLUE how the company actually works, or what the analysts even do. The bosses could not do the analysts jobs -- they are not qualified. This company is not interested in any analysis being scientifically sound. Quality control has everything to do with paperwork, and nothing to do with quality. If you are even considering working for this company, stop considering it right now. They will pressure you into working longer, later hours than you ever imagined. You will miss out on family time, and instead of compensating you, you will be labeled as "the guy/girl who we can force to work weekends." They will promise you rewards for taking on more responsibility, but will never follow through. If you see a 50 cent raise in your salary after working for them for 3 years, you are among the lucky, privileged few. This is not an exaggeration. You deserve better than to be treated like a child. As a coworker put it best, "this place sucks the life out of your soul."

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

    Popular Careers with EMSL Analytical Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at EMSL Analytical? Share Your Experiences

    or