EOG Reviews | Glassdoor

EOG Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 120 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
EOG CEO William R. Thomas
William R. Thomas
43 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Good Small Oil Exploration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EOG for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent compensation and benefits. Good location.

    Cons

    Information Systems department is highly unstructured with a constantly changing direction.

    EOG2016-08-12
  2. "Excellent E&P"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Engineer I in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EOG full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Large company with a small company feel. Due to decentralized structure, you work down the hall from folks doing all sorts of different jobs for the same project. Leads to high collaboration and teamwork.

      Cons

      Hiring structure, pay raises, promotions can ambiguous and non-consistent. Often times outside hires are paid more than their inside counterparts.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the decentralized structure, and also be more up front with folks about promotions, moving, raises, etc.

      EOG2016-08-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "IS Operations"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IS Operations in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at EOG for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great 401 matching, and Benefits.

      Cons

      Promotions seem informal within the IS Operations team.

      Advice to Management

      Keep employees happy and compensate well

      EOG2016-07-04
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EOG

      Pros

      Keeping up with the latest technology and leading the industry with own innovation

      Cons

      not always a measured approach to new projects

      EOG2016-06-29
    • Helpful (2)

      "Stable company so far in the downturn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Reservoir Engineer in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at EOG full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      very stable company so far in the oil downturn

      Cons

      Geo science driven which is good in general but engineers may feel under appreciated

      EOG2016-06-15
    • Helpful (5)

      "What a mess. %100 worst job I have ever had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at EOG full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Happy I no longer work there. When the price of Oil and Gas is high, outlook is promising. When Oil/Gas prices drop, watch your back.

      Cons

      Backstabbing goes on all the time. Do not trust any co-workers if you plan to work there. Cutthroat environment. Spoiled adult brats everywhere think they are entitled. The Geo team are highly egotistical and act extremely pretentious. They act as they run the entire organization. EOG as a whole has around 2,760 employees total as this isn't a large company. However, you'd think they were in the White House leading...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Management has zero clue on seeing the big picture.

      EOG2016-07-19
    • Helpful (2)

      "Materials management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Materials Management in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at EOG for more than a year

      Pros

      Relaxed dress code. There's not much else that I can say that was great. I really liked some of my coworkers that I worked with in my department.

      Cons

      Management was awful. Contractors were treated like second class citizens. Too much favoritism. They don't value the people that actually work hard.

      Advice to Management

      Get people that are actually qualified to manage people.

      EOG2016-07-14
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at EOG full-time

      Pros

      They treat their employees very well with benefits and compensation add-ons.

      Cons

      Not great base salary and political in certain departments.

      EOG2016-05-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EOG full-time

      Pros

      Company that allows you the independence to be creative with ideas/projects.

      Cons

      You get left behind if not in the right department.

      EOG2016-05-02
    • "Help Desk Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at EOG

      Pros

      They have great benefits, such as 4+ weeks paid vacations, sick time, stock options, bonuses. They also have a great working atmosphere and great people to work with. Travel is 25%

      Cons

      They tailor to much to the customers instead of what might be best for the company technical wise. You contract for a while. Some usually at least a year before you're even considered to be hired.

      EOG2016-04-27
    Found 120 reviews