EOG "great company" Reviews | Glassdoor

EOG Employee Reviews about "great company"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
EOG CEO William R. Thomas
William R. Thomas
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company, great people, huge potential for professional development(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, generous vacation not a lot of red tape(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ups and downs inherent to the oil and gas market(in 4 reviews)

  • "Trying to transition from contract to full-time can be a bit of a stretch, particularly when the oil market is down(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EOG full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Very team oriented, highly efficient, technologically driven and has a great company culture.

    Cons

    Tends to hire people based on college transcripts and internships. Missing out on good people from smaller universities.

    Advice to Management

    Be mindful of company size, strive to maintain the current culture (not an issue now, but may be in the future).

    EOG2018-12-12
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EOG full-time

    Pros

    Great company with great people

    Cons

    Alot of travel involved and 24/7

    EOG2017-11-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse in Big Piney, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EOG full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Pay is higher then most.

    Cons

    Insurance is not the greatest.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, Just don't forget about the people who are working behind the scenes

    EOG2017-06-07
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Denver division is going downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EOG full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    - EOG as a whole is a great company. - C-suite is excellent - Great upper level leadership company wide. - Work/ life balance is generally great. - Long term incentives have the potential to be quite lucrative.

    Cons

    - Some good management has left Denver division recently. - New mid-level management doesn't have sufficient experience managing people, their technical skills are also lacking. - Extreme micromanagement. Good engineers with experience are treated like children. - Trying to improve things is discouraged, encouraged instead to keep your head down and keep doing things exactly like they've been done in recent memory....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Trust your experience technical people to make good decisions. Extreme micromanagement and trust issues create an environment of distrust and bad communication.

    EOG2017-01-11
  5. "Welding and Utility Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welding and Utiliyy Inspector in Beeville, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EOG for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with vision toward the future of the energy industry. They treated all of theyre employees well as far as I could see,

    Cons

    None, I would still be there had oil prices not fallen off drastically. I would like to find another company to call my home.

    Advice to Management

    Just to be honest and upfront with your employees, because we need to know the good and the bad of things to come.

    EOG2016-02-08
  6. "Hr administrative supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Supervisor in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EOG for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    No negative comments from me.

    Advice to Management

    none

    EOG2015-11-16
  7. "File Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EOG full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    No issues with company great staff

    EOG2015-06-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GIS Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EOG full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    GREAT Company to work for as far as benefits and salary go. The corporate atmosphere took some getting used to, but soon you realize it's the same everywhere.

    Cons

    In my department, the people who focused more on playing the game and politics seemed to get the upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    Everyone loves management when the company is doing great!

    EOG2012-12-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Well Run Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Title Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EOG full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great company, great people. You know exactly what's expected of you and what to expect from the company.

    Cons

    Difficulty advancing, infrequent and very low raises.

    EOG2012-10-19
Found 118 reviews