ERGO Reviews | Glassdoor

ERGO Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
ERGO CEO & Founder John Hendricks (no image)
John Hendricks
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Horrible place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ERGO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, almost everyone is young and fun, pool table (that you can”t use because you will be drowning in work), beautiful office that they can’t fill because everyone keeps quitting.

    Cons

    When I first interviewed for ergo, I was ecstatic to be joining a company that had it all together from what I could see. I couldn’t have been more wrong. I wasted months of my life working around the clock correcting my bosses mistakes and working my butt off. My job description was completely opposite of the one I interviewed for. The leadership team treats their employees horribly. They only see the bad in their employees and don’t bother asking the people they actually work with what they think. Salaries are way below industry average. This company gets mostly entry level employees who are just trying to get their foot in the door.

    Continue reading
    ERGO2018-01-03
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Wanted: Life + Soul Sweat shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ERGO full-time

    Pros

    In all honesty, ERGO has many talented people coming in. KEY WORDS: Coming in. Not staying. The fact that they pull great talent is surprising, to maintain the talent is the primary thing to need to solve as a whole equation. This place is sinking ship! Leadership is oblivious of what direction the company is going (down) and they point fingers with things that go wrong. JH should be ashamed of himself for putting great talents into this suffering as he calls this, "Say Something Relevant." Do not be fooled.

    Cons

    They fool you with the car desk as someone greets you inside their 'startup' office, mind you this company has been established for ten year plus with the same exact clients. No growth in this place, no knowledge in this place, no hope in this place. Run! This place states 'ERGO,' but this place ruins the 'R' and ends up being EGO. Egotistic– to the point that HR runs doesn't even want to be here. Run, Run, Run like Kanye West.

    Continue reading
    ERGO2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great ppl and not so great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Supervisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ERGO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small company, so you have the opportunity to learn a lot more than you would at a major. Most of the employees have an entrepreneurial spirit so the work environment is what you make it, as everyone is willing to get their hands dirty.

    Cons

    Only one major account, so if that fails - good luck. They need a biz dev staff that focuses solely on new business. Not always enough employees to handle the work on hand. A ton of late nights.

    Continue reading
    ERGO2019-07-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Email Marketing, therefore interactive?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ERGO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bagels, it's literally just bagels.

    Cons

    Terrible "Management" team, low pay, the worst employee morale and treatment anywhere I have ever worked, and I used to work at Chick-fil-A

    Continue reading
    ERGO2019-04-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sweat shop run by an egomaniac"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ERGO

    Pros

    Location (Manhattan) I honestly have nothing else to say here

    Cons

    Small agency that is run by an egomaniac as his current ego-trip. The projects are mostly the same work being done over and over (emails using the exact same templates for e.g.) so there is no creativity and no learning experiences The owner is the biggest con though. He is an obnoxious megalomaniac way out of his league in running an agency. He has no idea how to motivate his team, or even delegate to the right team members. The agency has lost a large number of employee s because of him and replacing them has been impossible as his reputation worsens.

    Continue reading
    ERGO2018-11-30
  6. Helpful (9)

    "If You Have Another Option, Go There."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ERGO full-time

    Pros

    1. Free bagels on Fridays. 2. The people are awesome. They are some of the smartest, nicest people you will ever meet and because of the poor office conditions and issues with leadership, we support and rally around each other.

    Cons

    1. There is no proper training or mentorship to help you get started. You are not put in a position to suceed. The leadership is more concerned with production and quantity, instead of creativity and quality. 2. The onboarding process was not good, which leadership admitted, and because the mentorship and training process is bad as well, you get blamed for things you did not know. It is sink or swim and there not enough competent leaders to ensure your sucess. When 6 people quit within a month and it takes a while to replace them, it raises red flags. 3. Another problem with the lack of training and people is the work/life balance. You are inundated with work you are not prepared for, and because leadership is concerned with quantity, work/life balance is not considered and several people feel burnt out.

    Continue reading
    ERGO2018-11-16
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid if possible. Design sweatshop!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ERGO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office space in a somewhat good neighborhood to get to. Good co-workers and nice coffee and snacks.

    Cons

    Interview and position did not match what the actual work was. Production shop disguised as an agency that only has one very demanding client who they let set timelines. Timelines and work were unreasonable which forced employees to work insane hours with no respect for personal time. CEO micromanaged projects and did not respect the creative process. Pay is below standard for the amount of time you would be forced to work there. After I started there, I learned that they burn out designers in under a year.

    Continue reading
    ERGO2018-03-29
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, fun culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ERGO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented team, care about quality, fun, free snacks everyday and bagel Fridays, cocktails

    Cons

    Need to hire more team members (but they're doing that actively).

    Continue reading
    ERGO2017-04-03
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Good bagels, great location and the best team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ERGO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people working there are super nice. The work environment is pretty easygoing but everyone gives it their all. Birthdays are celebrated with cupcakes and a song, there are free bagel Fridays, there's an annual company outing and the team does lunch together every once in a while. There are lots of great restaurants in the vicinity so you aren't spoiled for choice. The company seems to be in an upward trajectory at the moment as well—some really exciting new projects are happening in 2017, the office is being beautified (there's a new pool table!), and additional employee benefits are being considered.

    Cons

    No matching 401(k). I've noticed some people consistently doing overtime work, hopefully this will change once there are new hires to take some of the load off their shoulders.

    Continue reading
    ERGO2017-02-08

    ERGO Response

    February 8, 2017CEO & Founder

    Thank you for the kind words. A couple of thoughts... In the past there was no interest in 401k as people preferred bonuses which we give every year in addition to annual salary increases based on performance ratings. But, in the perks and benefits survey we just conducted, a surprising number of people expressed interest in this so we're revisiting it -- as well as some other really neat ideas that were proposed. And, I totally agree about the overtime thing. Hiring is priority 1, 2 and 3. But it's critical that we hire the right people, which takes time. When we rush to hire the wrong people it's a setback for the culture, and then they write mean things on GD : (

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ERGO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ERGO is a great place to work. It has great people and a laid back culture. There are many opportunities for growth, all you have to do is work hard and reach for them.

    Cons

    Sometimes I don't get the bagel I want on bagel Fridays.

    Continue reading
    ERGO2017-01-20
Found 21 reviews
</>Embed