ESS Reviews | Glassdoor

ESS Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 233 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
ESS CEO Buddy Helton
Buddy Helton
26 Ratings
  1. "Is a very flexible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 

      I have been working at ESS part-time

      Pros

      I live working with ESS. Flexibility is the key. The school district is great!

      Cons

      Low pay, sometimes is hard to manager schedule due to short notice, but manager is very understanding.

      ESS2019-05-01
    • "Love the company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at ESS

      Pros

      Always have a job opportunities

      Cons

      They don't do direct deposit%

      ESS2019-04-30
    • "Terrible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at ESS full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      If you need a job and don't want to flip burgers, this is the place to work....and stress at!

      Cons

      Does not care about workers. Never gives the same answer twice.

      ESS2019-06-01
    • "Not a living wage in New Jersey"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Woodbridge, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at ESS part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Make your own schedule online.

      Cons

      We need to make a living wage here in New Jersey. Create a scale to compensate various qualifications, or licensure.

      Advice to Management

      Do substitute teachers get what a district pays the substitutes or does ESS skim off the top as employment agencies do?

      ESS2019-05-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Horrific"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Paraprofessional in Portland, CT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at ESS part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Easy hiring process and easy to use schedule.

      Cons

      The company views employees as disposable and would rather fire you and find new employees. Unless you are upper management you get paid minimum wage with very little room to grow. If you work what is considered full time you are still paid and treated as a part time employee.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees with more respect.

      ESS2019-05-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Para at ESS"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Special Education Paraprofessional 

      I have been working at ESS full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Accessible management. You can speak frankly to them.

      Cons

      Very laissez-fare about making sure you receive initial paychecks.

      ESS2019-03-20
    • "There's always available work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Roanoke, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at ESS full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly staff easy interview option for long term assignments that pay higher rate.

      Cons

      Training longer than necessary. Sometimes lesson plans were unavailable.

      ESS2019-03-20
    • "Working as a Substitute Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at ESS part-time

        Pros

        Flexible schedule Competitive wage Choose of location

        Cons

        Random assignments Not very many cons

        ESS2019-03-10
      • "Great company!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 
        Recommends

        I have been working at ESS full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        The hiring process was simple, the jobs are plentiful (I'm in a long-term placement currently), and the pay is decent for what it is.

        Cons

        The only con I can see is that communication with ESS is primarily through email (though their response time is fairly quick).

        ESS2019-02-18
      • "Easy Money"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Subsitute Teacher 
          Recommends

          I have been working at ESS full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Quick, easy money. The primary district I work with is great.

          Cons

          The only con is the low pay, I wish they would increase it. We subs deal with a lot at times dealing with students.

          ESS2019-02-15
        Found 233 reviews