ETA Agency Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
ETA Agency CEO Cynthia Allen (no image)
Cynthia Allen
10 Ratings
  1. "Work Hard, Play Hard"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ETA Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of drinking, tons of fun

    Cons

    Need a lot of initiative, very fast paced, prepare to work hard.

    ETA Agency2019-12-12
  2. "Chill Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ETA Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really chill and has a lot of flexibility

    Cons

    Need to be a self starter

    Continue reading
    ETA Agency2018-06-08
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Wonderful place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ETA Agency

    Pros

    Down town Long Beach with lots of places to eat.

    Cons

    This is not a place to start or grow your advertising career. There are not any real benefits, the pay is at the bottom of the industry pay scale, and the turn over is high. If it was a good company to work for people would stick around. As others have stated, the owner tends to make all the decisions based on her emotions and not what makes sense for making this place a better place to be. You'll be subjected to having some of the management judge your job performance who have never even worked at another advertising agency before. ETA lacks the kind of leadership you expect to find in a small boutique ad agency.

    Continue reading
    ETA Agency2015-10-02
  4. "Not too big, nor too small."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ETA Agency

    Pros

    It's unique to other agencies in terms of culture and environment. Everybody gets along very well because it's not too large, nor too small. Overtime hours are a lot less frequent and drinks are always available after working hours. There are a lot of bars, restaurants and retail stores nearby so there's no reason to be hungry or bored during your breaks or after work. It's a relatively smaller agency, so getting exposed to different functions of the agency is normal. I learned what I could learn for years in a bigger agency within a year at ETA. Management has a pretty good judgment in terms of compensation (compared to industry) as long as you work hard for it. Everybody gets to celebrate their birthday in the office with free lunch (for everybody) from restaurant of their own choosing with extra pocket money.

    Cons

    Employee turnover rate is high, but advertising professionals are actively switching from one agency to another. If you're not a thinker, willing to work proactively and wear different hats, this is not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    ETA Agency2015-07-31
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Archaic Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freelance in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ETA Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Drinking and tons of food.

    Cons

    I've thought about writing a review for this company for awhile. I believe that it's important for me to share my experience about this company so that other individuals will not have to experience the heartache and the turmoil as others have. Here it is. The owner was once a cop who later decided to pursue a career in advertising. I don't know if most of you know this, but when you have been trained as a cop, there is a frame of mind that is taught to each individual and that is fear. Most cops operate in a form of control and fear mode. So when you take that kind of perspective, the owner shaped her company off of that premise. Hence the company is archaic. Most companies now operate in a progressive, agile, flexible, and collaborative format. Most companies realize that it is very important to keep loyal employees by being more employee focus which is driven by communication, honesty, and integrity. However, this company does not operate in this format. It's really behind in keeping up with new business paradigms, which is more community driven. I'd like to think that they've changed as a company. After reading most of the horrible reviews about this company, there was a flood of great reviews on that "one" day. I would not be surprise if the employees were asked to write a great review to mitigate the damage from the former employees. It's a small boutique company and it's sad to see this company as a revolving door for employees. If there are 10-15 employees, there shouldn't be 2 people leaving every year. The owner operates from her emotions. If an employee isn't part of the social crowd, there is a sense of fear that she instills in the employee. The fear of losing your job. Now, this sucks if you feel like your head is on a chopping block all the time. In fact, it's horrible losing sleep over it. Employees are guilt into working over time without a fair compensation. In fact, compensation isn't very competitive here. I suggest finding another company that will treat you fairly, provide excellent compensation, and will not make you feel guilty for taking time off. At the end of the day, choose a company that will allow you to take time off without the fear of losing your job and that will allow you to have a well balance work life. I wouldn't settle for a company like this. Even if you are young and in need of a job. Trust me, there are plenty of jobs out there. Don't settle for anything less. As you know, it's your skill set and talents that this company is making money off of. Some money is going to your pocket, but more money is going toward the company. Think about it. Who is more important? You or the company? The company provides for you, but it's your skill set that makes the company run. If you are ever being taking advantage of, it's okay to walk away and quit. There is no need to stay. There are plenty of jobs out there. Oh! If they try to lure you in with their nice office and fancy lifestyle, don't fall for it. It's just surface. By the way, there isn't a huge career growth within this company. I suggest working for startups or top notch advertising agencies if you are looking for growth.

    ETA Agency2015-07-10
  6. "I Learned So Much At This COmpany"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ETA Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was exposed to everything in the agency and they have a true hands on team approach.

    Cons

    I was exposed to everything so you have to be really good a multi-tasking

    Continue reading
    ETA Agency2015-05-12
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Prepare to be Burned Out"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ETA Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location in Downtown Long Beach and some fun people.

    Cons

    The employee retention rate is so ridiculously low here and there are so many reasons for that. Where else will you find an accounts coordinator training an account executive, a copywriter who gets paid 100k a year yet does nothing, and someone with no other job experience running an entire company? This place is so defunct and it is those who are willing to work who suffer. ETA is a small business so clearly you can't just stick to one finite job description, and that is perfectly understandable, but the issues arise when people leave to quickly and their jobs fall upon other shoulders. Almost everyone on the accounts floor works diligently, but there is only so much they can do with such a limited staff and poor management.

    Continue reading
    ETA Agency2015-05-01
  8. Helpful (9)

    "High School All Over Again"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ETA Agency

    Pros

    At the beginning the CEO is still fake and trying to put best face forward.

    Cons

    You get sucked into thinking that working there amazing, but things change quickly. You then begin to realize it's all just one big high school nightmare. If you're not in the clique then get ready for the boot.

    Continue reading
    ETA Agency2015-03-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fast paced, family- like environment, I couldn't be happier."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ETA Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working here for just under a year now, and I'm always excited to come in to the office. The team I work with is cohesive, very collaborative, and brings each project to the next level. ETA is a very tight knit workplace, and everyone is fun to be around. There's always good music playing in the modernly designed office space. It's bright inside, there's a shuffleboard, and the office is dog friendly. We have themed Fridays, and great clients. The morale here is positive, and it's obvious that upper management puts their heart and soul into their work. Very inspiring.

    Cons

    This is not the company for you, if you want to sit around and pretend to work all day. Work hard and you will see benefits, they will acknowledge your dedication. I have no cons to write, I love my job.

    Continue reading
    ETA Agency2014-01-27
  10. Helpful (9)

    "If you lie with dogs you get fleas"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ETA Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A few good people. Although they are falling fast and hard. Nice location. Nice office.

    Cons

    Advertising isn't something you just fall into because you can't pursue your career with the Long Beach Police department anymore. Some of us actually got in to this business because we enjoy advertising. Also, the maturity level of management is something no one should be subjected to. The owner threw her most committed employee--who helped her build the business from the ground up--out like last night’s garbage. With her compulsive narcissistic behavior no one is safe. Even when you make all the current employees pontificate about how wonderful this place is, it's clear it's not what it appears to be. Not a place for the individual or individual thinker to survive. It's what the owner is comfortable with, one big high school clique. Once you get that place on you, you'll have a hard time getting it off you later. It will follow you around like a bad stink.

    Continue reading
    ETA Agency2014-01-29
Found 17 reviews