EWI Reviews | Glassdoor

EWI Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
EWI CEO Henry Cialone
Henry Cialone
2 Ratings
  1. "Buffalo Location: Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EWI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing team Focused on making a difference Technically challenging

    Cons

    Challenge of prioritizing team's ideas

    EWI2019-02-12
  2. "Great culture and mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EWI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work in the Buffalo business unit and love the culture and people. My work is always interesting and I love the focus on having a positive impact on the local manufacturing community.

    Cons

    None to speak of so far!

    EWI2019-02-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Unable to Share"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EWI full-time

    Pros

    Engineers are passionate and company has a lot of energy.

    Cons

    Many layoffs and restructurings.

    Advice to Management

    Develop long-term strategic vision.

    EWI2018-09-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EWI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great work-life balance. Communication by management regarding corporate goals and outcomes.

    Cons

    Didn't, really, have any cons.

    EWI2018-04-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EWI full-time

    Pros

    Exposure to many industries. Challenging applications requiring advanced technologies. Fast pace.

    Cons

    No work-life balance. Everybody sells. Promotions and salary are directly dependent on sold projects and services. Difficult to focus and provide high quality product.

    Advice to Management

    Learn more what technical staff is doing.

    EWI2018-04-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Additive Manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AM Project Engineer in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EWI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New Technology Room for innovation Requires all skill-sets

    Cons

    Demanding Potential Health Hazards Not enough skilled help/knowledge

    Advice to Management

    Pay for good help

    EWI2017-12-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Applications Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at EWI full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture makes working at EWI a joy. Constant flow of interesting projects. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Management occasionally gets short sighted with retaining talent. No ability to move up in the company.

    EWI2017-06-28
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications EngineerMechanic Design Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EWI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The projects we work on have a lot of variety and are at the leading edge of technology. It is a friendly place to work with lots of little perks and activities.

    Cons

    Traffic is sometimes a little heavy around campus. The project work is subject to fluctuations in the market ad economy. (But management tries to balance it out across different industries to level out any peaks and valleys.)

    EWI2016-10-21
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Columbus, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at EWI for more than a year

    Pros

    There is an amazing atmosphere at EWI. The small community they have built for themselves is inclusive and wonderful. You won't go a day without a friendly hello and a smile! The company is also continually expanding and evolving, and the technology is cutting edge. Everyone is passionate and really an expert in their field.

    Cons

    While continually expanding, EWI is a pretty small company and therefore doesn't give you the opportunities a big company can give. This is all a matter of preference however.

    EWI2016-01-20
  10. "Former Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EWI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    EWI understands that its people are its product, and really is very proactive on keeping the staff happy. Allows flexibility in work/life balance. Very interesting work. Encourages learning from mistakes, rather than punishment. Good transparency in financial status of company.

    Cons

    Fairly flat organization- limited opportunities to advance.

    EWI2015-06-21
Found 11 reviews
</>Embed