EY Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

EY Associate Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1503 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with a lot of intelligent high performers and management who cares about career progress.

    Cons

    Technology is subpar in some areas.

    EY2019-07-13
  2. "Can be a good role for someone who likes to manage their own schedule and has seasonal busy season"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Support Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule/location Teleconference meetings which allows you to work/meet with others anywhere any time Web training available Overtime pay

    Cons

    This position doesn't have enough peers Requires you to be a self starter/pro-active May not always meet your supervisors in person Limited to no growth opportunity

    Advice to Management

    Better training, and in person meet up opportunities for business support team members (non-audit)

    EY2019-08-12
  3. "Tax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Senior Associate 

    I have been working at EY full-time

    Pros

    Manageable good environment very challenging work. Able to balance work

    Cons

    Long hours and they need to listen more

    EY2019-08-09
  4. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at EY full-time

    Pros

    smart people, really enjoyed my time

    Cons

    big company, can feel lost in shuffle

    EY2019-08-08
  5. "Be wary if not auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Support Associate 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, benefits, vacation, great emphasis on work life balance

    Cons

    Upwards movement is hard for individuals outside of the Auditor role

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your support roles, give them clear promotion paths and they will want to stay longer

    EY2019-08-14
  6. "Worklife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits is great and the people are great

    Cons

    Working hours horrible and work/life balance

    EY2019-08-09
  7. "Good people, pressure and good for some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a great place to start if one aspires to make a career in accounting. You meet great people and lots of them. You get to garner a wide range of experiences in various areas of accounting.

    Cons

    With a big global corporation comes with a level of rigidity. It is difficult if you want to transfer out of a department or a client. The level of stress comes with the work sometimes can be overwhelming.

    EY2019-07-25
  8. "You’ll work a lot of hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible on work location. 13 holidays off. 80 hours sick pay. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Have to be there 6 years before 401k match. Low pay for non-accountants. Work expectations will be 55-70 hours during busy season. (Busy season for me is 5-6 months)

    EY2019-08-08
  9. "Awesome job and opportunity until it went overseas and/or automated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Support Associate in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, people, company, benefits, location, professional environment and so much more.

    Cons

    We trained our coworkers overseas then our jobs were eliminated in the US. Automation is great until it takes your job. Wish there were more opportunities for many of us to stay in other positions.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep the great employees employed if possible.

    EY2019-07-16
  10. "Excellent place to begin your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Valuation Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve learned a lot about valuation methodologies and modeling.

    Cons

    It’s challenging to juggle various engagements at once. Sometimes all engagements will flare up at once and it gets crazy. Sometimes there are significant lulls in activity.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in employees.

    EY2019-07-12
Found 1503 reviews