Earls Kitchen + Bar Reviews | Glassdoor

Earls Kitchen + Bar Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 370 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Earls Kitchen + Bar CEO Mo Jessa
Mo Jessa
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great place to make long lasting friendships with great people(in 25 reviews)

  • "great work environment, great leadership courses, training programs(in 23 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work! Lots of young people. Management is good for being a restaurant. Food is yummy. Standards are set well. Can move up in the company pretty fast.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Stricken the hiring process. Let go of servers that have bad attitudes and bring everyone else down.

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-05-06
  2. "EARLS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time

    Pros

    good money, everyone's nice and happy doing the job

    Cons

    long long hours , no break at times

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-04-15
  3. "Great Part Time for Young Servers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome staff, I have met some of my closest friends at Earls. Restaurants can get messy but Earls is the best one I have worked in so far despite hiccups here and there. Management genuinely cares. We have a LOT of fun. Good about giving time off.

    Cons

    So many staff members so sometimes hard to prove yourself as a top server despite doing a great job. Staffing issues mainly in BOH cause problems with execution. Management styles are inconsistent — some managers are great to work with and others definitely should not have the position they do. They base a lot of your performance on average guest check which isn't fair to servers who work mostly brunch shifts ($10 brunch...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More recognition for servers beyond sales — food running, helping others, positivity, etc. Give people a chance to prove themselves in a better section. More team bonding events — one or two a month at least, even if they are informal.

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-04-02
  4. "server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    friendly environment, growth opportunities, busy

    Cons

    guest can be unfriendly sometimes

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-03-22
  5. "Line cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar

      Pros

      - Great place for beginners - Easy to learn

      Cons

      - People lack professionalism - They overwork you

      Advice to Management

      Treat everyone equally not just the leaders

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-03-01
    • "review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Orlando, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      * Fun and co-workers. * Good food * 50% off one meal

      Cons

      * management has gone down hill * only restaurant I have ever worked at that doesn’t let server add gratuity to any check (including parties of 6+) * this company does not look out for their employees * schedules out of availability

      Advice to Management

      Look out for your servers. When they keep getting stiffed and you guys do nothing about it, it causes people to leave. Get your scheaduling down and don’t schedule people out of their availability. Needs more structure and order.

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-02-07
    • "Alright"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time

      Pros

      Very friendly environment all the time

      Cons

      Long long long long hours

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-01-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lot of work, Low Pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Salaried Manager in Bellevue, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great opportunity for movement up the chain!

      Cons

      Extremely hard to live on 38,000 dollars salary gross pay in the Seattle area.

      Advice to Management

      Increase the annual take-home pay for all salary leaders.

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2018-12-12
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar

        Pros

        Great people, service, hours are flexible

        Cons

        there is none, need good experience

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2018-11-28
      • "Amazing Run"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Head Chef in Denver, CO
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Amazing development program. Great company to grow and learn with. I can run my own business

        Cons

        Too Much IYB at times. They leave you on your own at times that they shouldn't. It's hard to put someone in a failing restaurant and expect them to pull it out a lone. Chef before me was bad and they didn't do enough to help me transition. If your store is struggling, their will be little Work/Life Balance. Food is taking a back seat to budgets

        Advice to Management

        Be more present and ask more questions.

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2018-11-26
      Found 370 reviews