East Carolina University Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

East Carolina University Research Assistant Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
East Carolina University CEO Steve Ballard
Steve Ballard
4 Ratings
  1. "Undergraduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at East Carolina University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were no negatives. My experience was awesome.

    Cons

    I wish I could have continued, but I had to leave due to my course load.

    East Carolina University2019-06-21
  2. "Great research experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Undergraduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at East Carolina University

    Pros

    Wide range of research laboratories across the REU. Students and mentors are nice.

    Cons

    Some mentors can be absent at times.

    East Carolina University2019-08-05
  3. "Great to Learn but not to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at East Carolina University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule great learning experience

    Cons

    low pay no benefits no negotiation for compensation

    East Carolina University2019-05-08
  4. "It is OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at East Carolina University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a party school. You will have fun.

    Cons

    You really cannot count on good support financially

    East Carolina University2019-04-26
  5. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Greenville, NC

    I worked at East Carolina University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities to grow and learn.

    Cons

    The location is not optimal.

    East Carolina University2018-03-22
  6. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at East Carolina University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provides health care and salary.

    Cons

    Student fees are close to 2K per semester.

    East Carolina University2017-05-18
  7. "Molecular Biology and Biotechnology Graduate Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at East Carolina University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very diverse, lots of opportunities, welcoming, always something going on, teaching assistantship required

    Cons

    not many classes to choose from, spread very thing,

    Advice to Management

    make this program more involved with Brody School of Med.

    East Carolina University2017-03-23
  8. "Pros and Cons of work at ECU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Research Assistant in Greenville, NC

    I worked at East Carolina University for less than a year

    Pros

    The job allow for students to work around their class schedules. Allows for much more personal interaction with professors and allows students to gain a through understanding of engineering technologies not otherwise taught

    Cons

    Because the lab is funded by grants the total allowed hours are limited, the lead professor has a weak spot for students and more then are necessary are often hired so this job cannot suffice as a primary source for income.

    East Carolina University2016-05-27
  9. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Research Assistant in Greenville, NC

    I have been working at East Carolina University for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible schedule and supportive professors.

    Cons

    Some professors are not always pleasant to work with

    East Carolina University2015-11-22
  10. "Graduate Researcher jobs can be tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Graduate Research Assistant in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at East Carolina University for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are an affordable option in the area and can help you achieve your PhD.

    Cons

    It can be tough to complete your dissertation and get past your committee, but this is true elsewhere too.

    Advice to Management

    Make it clearer what will be expected at the onset of the degree and working relationship, I may not have come had I known it would take 6, and not 3 years to complete.

    East Carolina University2015-05-06
Found 14 reviews