East Carolina University "greenville" Reviews | Glassdoor

East Carolina University Employee Reviews about "greenville"

Updated 2 de Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
East Carolina University CEO Steve Ballard
Steve Ballard
142 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons to working at ECU, it is great(in 12 reviews)

  • "Greenville, NC does not offer much in the way of entertainment if you are not an Undergraduate Student(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "greenville"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Resident Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at East Carolina University part-time

    Pros

    Great community, Caring faculty and staff

    Cons

    Greenville is a less than ideal place to live

    East Carolina University2017-09-24
  2. "Great People, Not Great Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Researcher 

    I have been working at East Carolina University full-time

    Pros

    The people I Work With; Pay is Livable

    Cons

    Greenville, NC does not offer much in the way of entertainment if you are not an Undergraduate Student

    East Carolina University2019-07-02
  3. "Good town, decent university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 

    I have been working at East Carolina University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Greenville is a decent place to live. I've always lived in a smaller town, so this was an okay fit for me.

    Cons

    I didn't want to work here more than a year or two. It was more of a first-time job than anything else, but I just found everything to be antiquated and didn't really enjoy myself.

    East Carolina University2019-06-01
  4. "Student Graduate Assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at East Carolina University part-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits for someone who is just starting out

    Cons

    Greenville Area is not as good as it could be

    East Carolina University2017-09-22
  5. "East Carolina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professor in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at East Carolina University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Medical school, College of Allied Health, College of Nursing serve most of eastern North Carolina. Growing research university with a great future and a community that loves the sports teams. The football team is an off and on thing.

    Cons

    Isolated from other cities and a lack of suburbs. The city of Greenville is 90 minutes from Raleigh, Wilmington and 4 hours from Charlotte.

    East Carolina University2017-07-15
  6. "good grad school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at East Carolina University full-time

    Pros

    good labs to work in

    Cons

    greenville nc is not the most exciting place to live

    Advice to Management

    increase research funding, including for travel (to conferences etc)

    East Carolina University2017-02-10
  7. "Great colleagues; Bad administration; Southern know-nothing politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Professor in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at East Carolina University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My department was great. My colleagues were great (except see cons). Great place if you are into coastal research.

    Cons

    Cons: A surfeit of deanlets and other administrative leeches. No pay raises for years. Faculty is very unhappy. I took an assistant professor position (I had tenure) to get away from the place because we were going broke. Greenville is the Sahara of the Bozart except for the college.

    Advice to Management

    If this were a Northern university with a union, there would be a strike. The politics of North Carolina are such that an incompetent like Ballard can feather his nest while adjuncts without PhDs teach graduate classes. You are turning the place into a glorified high school with a sports program.

    East Carolina University2015-09-03
  8. "Good Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at East Carolina University

    Pros

    One of the best places to be employed in Greenville. Flexible hours. Great management.

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to say about ECU.

    East Carolina University2015-07-22
  9. "Loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at East Carolina University

    Pros

    Being a Pirate is the best thing in North Carolina. Working for this university is fun, fast paced and a great learning experience. If you like working with students and being a mentor, this place is for you.

    Cons

    Greenville itself isn't the best city. Its dirty, houses very limited food and shopping options, and can be dangerous past a certain time of night.

    East Carolina University2015-06-22
  10. "Too much chaos in some depts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Instructor in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at East Carolina University

    Pros

    Students were great. Nice campus. Many resources for diverse student body. Interesting speakers visit in the guest series.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity in some of the humanities department. The school is going through a budget crisis and many excellent faculty members are getting cut. Also there Isnt much culture in Greenville. The school is in the middle of nowhere.

    Advice to Management

    Work out budget crisis.

    East Carolina University2015-03-27
Found 15 reviews