East Tennessee Children's Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

East Tennessee Children's Hospital Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Keith D. Goodwin
20 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Technologist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at East Tennessee Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff, culture, and excellence of care is the absolute best!

    Cons

    Staffing tends to be an issue. We can't seem to stay adequately staffed.

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2019-05-07
  2. "Your next employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at East Tennessee Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You know you make a difference every day helping babies and kids

    Cons

    Doesn't pay very well. Under staffed and under paid.

    Advice to Management

    I am extremely reliable and hard working. I am trustworthy and respectful.

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2019-08-05
  3. "Takes care of children... and their CEO's pocketbook."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Service Representative in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at East Tennessee Children's Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is a good medical plan at ETCH. It costs considerably less than many other companies. With the on staff NP that you can see for illnesses, so you don't have to pay your copay at your doctor, it does help cut down on out of pocket medical expense.

    Cons

    Favoritism of certain employees, managers not being held accountable for not treating their employees fair, higher up managers not concerned with the problems in these departments. Bad finance decisions for the company means that while they make 10 million dollar budget cuts and don't give employee raises (even though we are already the least paid in the area for the same jobs) two weeks later they announce yet another...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a new CEO, this one is going to put the hospital under. Make an effort to not discriminate across areas. Just because you can pay a new person less money to do the same job, doesn't mean you should force your dedicated employee into retirement to do so. That's not ethical.

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2019-08-06
  4. "Best Place in the world for kids who need healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at East Tennessee Children's Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tremendous mission, dedicated staff, excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Each unit has its own challenges and all managers/directors/administrators are not created equal. Strategic planning is weak, need clear goals at the top to allow departments to move forward with conviction

    Advice to Management

    Minimize the politics... vision has to have direction.

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2019-04-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "3W nurse for over ten years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at East Tennessee Children's Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Teamwork. Smart, collaborative, caring coworkers. Very rewarding and intense field of work, I miss it often. Usually good nurse-patient ratio (1:4 or 1:5) on a busy med-surg unit. Always have supplies you need. Good health and dental insurance at a reasonable price.

    Cons

    Short staffed at times. Sometimes patient acuity makes that 1:4 or 1:5 ratio very difficult. High stress environment. Very little sick time.

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2019-03-03
  6. "Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at East Tennessee Children's Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to only work with kids

    Cons

    Schedule is very difficult and pay makes it seem not worth it

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2019-01-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Technologist in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at East Tennessee Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Precious patient population! Hard working staff

    Cons

    Short staff, inadequate training. Gossip and lack of professionalism in the workplace.

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2018-11-28
  8. "Central Supply Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at East Tennessee Children's Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly employees and willing to help.

    Cons

    Weekend are up and down work flow.

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2018-11-05
  9. "Love working for Children's Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at East Tennessee Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Very fulfilling job, most coworkers are amazing. Very supportive supervisors.

    Cons

    There is a disconnect between administrative and clinical staff.

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2018-10-13
  10. "Pharmacy Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at East Tennessee Children's Hospital

    Pros

    Helping children and their families

    Cons

    Short-staffed, lower pay, management not very involved in resolving every day problems and concerns that we have.

    Advice to Management

    Need to hire more full time employees and less PRN.

    East Tennessee Children's Hospital2018-09-24
Found 46 reviews