East West Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

East West Hospitality Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
East West Hospitality President and CEO  Colleen Weiss-Hanen (no image)
Colleen Weiss-Hanen
1 Rating
  1. "The Best Employer I've Ever Worked For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at East West Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    East West practices the " work-life balance" concept that other employers only talk about. They sincerely care about their employees and treat them well. I feel very fortunate to be working for them!

    Cons

    There is nothing negative I can say about East West nor can I think of any area where they could improve.

    Continue reading
    East West Hospitality2019-06-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Growing with Great Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eagle, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at East West Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Currently work for East West and how leadership is building on an already great culture makes me proud to work with this organization

    Cons

    Find a way to guarantee it snows a ton every year !

    Continue reading
    East West Hospitality2018-09-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at East West Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    They genuinely care for their employees. I 've been working in this company for many years and the main reason I've stayed it's because I admire leadership and the decisions they made for the wellbeing of their employees over time. No matter how hard, time-consuming or costly an initiative may be, they always focus on doing the right thing. They invest in having and keeping happy employees and they continuously work on having a great culture, focused on transparency, being supportive and collaborative. Love this company!

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of. Great company!

    East West Hospitality2018-09-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Best Place to work in Eagle County!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Avon, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at East West Hospitality full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Having leadership that cares about the employee is a rare thing, most only care about the ROI. Lots of growth and development opportunities. Company raised the minimum wage to help employees with the high cost of living. Added a sabbatical program to reward longevity. Great benefit plans!

    Cons

    Nothing negative to share from my time at East West!

    Continue reading
    East West Hospitality2018-09-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place with amazing opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at East West Hospitality full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked at East West for a long time and I love they value employees first at all levels. It's a special place when management decisions are based on what's best for the people and not the bottom line. I don't know many other places that restructure departments to make it work for the employees and not the other way around.

    Cons

    The business is very reliant on the weather. That's hard.

    Continue reading
    East West Hospitality2018-09-25
  6. "2 stars, was better than vail resorts, but that's not hard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beaver Creek, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at East West Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a job. The mountain is right under your nose.

    Cons

    Seriously low pay for property managers in the valley and workload was not shared well/management didn't really do anything.

    Continue reading
    East West Hospitality2018-09-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Terribly Unorganized + Does Not Care About Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Lead in Vail, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at East West Hospitality full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of their properties are beautiful, but due to experience with management and corporate I don’t feel I can give many positives.

    Cons

    The company itself is terribly unorganized. I worked for a company for a short time before East West came into management and all of the changes I saw changed the hotel I worked at for the worse. Everyone’s benefits became more expensive for less coverage, and they took a workplace that had room for advancement and completely destroyed what everyone had been working towards. Aside from the high cost of benefits and the inability to advance within the company, the company also neglects to pay their employees an equitable wage in comparison to the cost of living. I worked for the company for almost a year and they failed to give any kind of evaluation for their employees to discuss and negotiate wages. They not only failed to do this for new employees, but they failed to do this for ALL employees I worked with. After never receiving any kind of evaluations I also never received an exit interview, which is common practice in the valley. The turnover I saw with this company was astounding. The amount of people I saw leave this company is higher than I have seen in any workplace (which says a lot since I am a previous Vail Resorts employee, which also has incredibly high turnover). On a corporate level I feel they truly do not care about their employees unless they are upper management on a corporate level. Their HR team is a joke and failed to reply to any emails I sent, in addition to making terrible negligent clerical errors, such as incorrectly attaching people’s direct deposits to wrong accounts. I would not recommend this company to anyone, and am frankly disappointed with how unprofessional the company is as a whole.

    East West Hospitality2018-08-10

    East West Hospitality Response

    August 13, 2018HR Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and review. We appreciate your candor and are so disappointed that you had a bad experience with us. If I may, I’d like to address a few of the items you brought up: We do provide all employees with an annual performance review, during which we usually discuss performance, salary, personal growth and development. Additionally, we encourage employees and managers to connect regularly on these topics, and not wait for that annual review. Regarding turnover, this is definitely something we have been working on over the last few years. We value our employees immensely and work hard to provide a positive work environment where they can truly thrive and be their best. To help us understand what that looks like we offer stay interviews as well as exit interviews to any employee that would like them. It’s unfortunate that you were unaware of this opportunity, but we’d still be happy to meet with you for an exit interview if you have additional feedback. Just give us a call, stop by, or shoot us an email: hr@eastwest.com Agreed, direct deposit errors are a big deal. We’re so sorry for the issues you experienced and have made adjustments to our process to prevent future errors. Regarding the company only caring for their senior corporate managers, it sounds like we really missed on this one with you. Caring for our employees is foundational to us at East West. It’s who we strive to be. Our goal is to be personal, supportive, and transparent, building enduring relationships. Thanks again for your feedback. I hope you’ll give East West another chance in the future to let us show you how much we really do care.

    Continue reading
  8. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at East West Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    great people and property management processes

    Cons

    pay is terrible. no way to live, raise a family in or around Vail with even with a mid/high level management position and decade plus of service

    East West Hospitality2018-07-02

    East West Hospitality Response

    August 16, 2018HR Manager

    Thanks for your review. Glad you had a great experience with your East West team members and felt good about how we do business! Disappointed you felt East West was below average on compensation. We know pay is really important and our overall goal is to lead the market in this area. To that end we are constantly reviewing where we're at and adjusting to pay better than many of our competitors. Thanks for the feedback, we'll keep working on it!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at East West Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    The people that run our company are the best in the valley. East West truly cares about its employees' success and happiness.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say!

    East West Hospitality2018-05-13

    East West Hospitality Response

    August 14, 2018HR Manager

    Thanks so much for the great review! So glad to hear that you feel cared for here. Please let us know if that ever changes or if there are things we can work on to improve.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Avon, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at East West Hospitality part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work with some absolutely phenomenal people and the people you meet in your position are the reason to go to work.

    Cons

    The management within the company is very political to the point that people on the outside see it

    Continue reading
    East West Hospitality2018-03-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews