Eastman "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Eastman Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Eastman Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Mark J. Costa
Mark J. Costa
740 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Decision making is a very lengthy process, an employee needs to have a champion to have a career(in 43 reviews)

  • "Small town, large company -- transitioning to global company is difficult(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - SQL Database Administrator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Eastman for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, Great work-life balance, challenging and changing pay

    Cons

    large corporate environment, security permissions makes it hard to get your job done sometimes, a necessary evil in a large corporate setting.

    Eastman2019-08-14
  2. Helpful (17)

    "Deteriorating Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Systems Analyst in Kingsport, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits, fair pay, good work life balance

    Cons

    We got a new CIO about a year ago. That CIO openly admitted to lying about reorganizations and restructuring in an open Q&A session. Company culture is shifting to be a lot more cut-throat with relative performance assessments (forced ranking with set targets for number of people 'not meeting' expectations). Some leaders outside of IT are able exert too much influence over how IT recognizes and promotes talent. Most frustrating recently is when the least competent candidate is selected for leadership potential and despite constantly making poor choices (leading to high performers leaving the company), nothing is done about it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying and actually penalize poor performers even if they have a long history of contribution.

    Eastman2019-08-06
  3. "Chemical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of independence, guidance from senior engineers, good compensation and work life balance. It has been a very fulfilling experience so far

    Cons

    There are some issues with integrating small sites to work fully with the larger main manufacturing site

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating with employees about where the company is headed and why

    Eastman2019-06-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Eastman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for to grow. However, compensation can be low.

    Cons

    Work life balance can suffer.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate employees for the job they do, not how long they have been with the company.

    Eastman2019-06-07
  5. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive 

    I worked at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    manager was awesome and fair

    Cons

    work life balance could be better

    Eastman2019-03-13
  6. "Great Emphasis on Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay and work-life balance. They tell you to go home if you are working too much.

    Cons

    A lot of people feel that they are underpaid, but I am not sure. Benefits are nice, but the deductibles are high on health insurance. The bonus is good, but the company bases it on its own performance. They have some measures, but a lot of it feels arbitrary.

    Advice to Management

    Change the bonus system to reflect the pure fact that we know things will occur. The vibe is that the company has to be perfect in order to get the baseline bonus.

    Eastman2019-02-22
  7. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance for the most part, great fitness classes on premises during lunch and after work, good salary especially considering cost of living in area can easily afford one income living, numerous interesting projects to work on

    Cons

    Decision making is a very lengthy process, an employee needs to have a champion to have a career

    Eastman2019-02-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The other engineers I work with are extremely smart and capable, and our team's boss is very committed to using the talents of her team efficiently and helping us reach our career goals, even when that means moving to a different team or department within the company. There are some good training opportunities offered both to new employees and veteran engineers. The culture of Eastman encourages work-life balance and focuses on collaboration between employees rather than competition to perform. The Kingsport site is very large, so mechanical engineers have a great opportunity to get experience with several different types of equipment and support multiple processes.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the initiatives that upper management is pushing seem to be geared towards making the company seem more streamlined, rather than increasing the efficiency and safety of plant operations. It would also help if upper management was more transparent with their employees about the state of the company and how money will be spent.

    Eastman2018-10-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The subcultures matter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In IT, things are awesome. I work with great people on some pretty cool stuff. I get to stay up to date with the latest technology trends for business and do some pretty fulfilling work. My management is fantastic. They want the best out of me and for me. They make sure that I'm happy with how things are going and are willing to takes steps if I'm not. There's lots of flexibility in how I do my job as long as the job gets done. Work-life balance is fantastic, things are pretty flexible if I need to move around my hours a bit to accommodate my home life. I feel like I get to be myself here and don't need to hide who I am. I have met some great friends working for Eastman. I would definitely recommend working in IT at Eastman.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things outside of IT don't seem quite as nice, but I can't really say first hand. I have heard from some people outside of IT that their line of management isn't great, but I suppose there will always be some of that in a company. Culture in the different areas can be pretty different. There has also been lots of turnover lately. It seems that Eastman has a difficult time keeping younger talent.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on great culture. If you take care of your employees then your employees will take care of you.

    Eastman2018-09-27
  10. "Eastman Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, fun culture and great work life balance.

    Cons

    only a little time to decide on offers given

    Eastman2018-09-28
Found 189 reviews