KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Eastman

Is this your company?

Eastman

Add a Review

Eastman Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 201 of over 2K reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Eastman Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Mark J. Costa
Mark J. Costa
839 Ratings
Pros
  • "Not expected to work over 40 hours per week and work/life balance is valued(in 169 reviews)

  • "Friendly work environment, teams and no work pressure(in 118 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Decision making is a very lengthy process, an employee needs to have a champion to have a career(in 59 reviews)

  • "Small town, large company -- transitioning to global company is difficult(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Eastman and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company to Grow With

      Oct 27, 2020 - HSES Manager in Anniston, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance, available Senior Management group, great compensation/benefits packages, Safety focused organization

      Cons

      Large Corporate structure that can get cumbersome to work through

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good place to work, not what it used to be.

      Oct 24, 2020 - Technical Service Representative in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ok benefits, not keeping up with industry standard Vacation has just been expanded to three weeks

      Cons

      Salary increases are rare Work life balance greatly depends on your manager Bonuses have been negatively affected over the past 6 years

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Culture

      Dec 29, 2020 - Product Manager in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are very hardworking, loyal, driven employees.

      Cons

      Work/life balance was terrible, managers would belittle employees.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company to work for

      Sep 6, 2020 - Strategy Manager in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ethical, good work life balance

      Cons

      Too many processes Slows decision making

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Leadership is the worst!

      Sep 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team members and immediate supervisors. Enjoy the location.

      Cons

      Terrible leadership that only care about results and not people. Your voice will not be heard. Very hypocritical environment where leaders say one thing but do another. Frustrating environment where there are 100 #1 priorities and 100% is expected on everything. No work/life balance at all. The problems are at the top.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people and great culture.

      Mar 2, 2020 - Entry Level Chemical Engineer in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid a lot more than average, especially considering the location. Not expected to work over 40 hours per week and work/life balance is valued. Couldn't find better people to work with and I really like Kingsport and Johnson City. Eastman is doing some really exciting and innovative stuff to help solve the plastic crisis our generation is facing.

      Cons

      Upper UPPER management values shareholder earnings over continuous improvement and employee salaries (raises have been delayed 2 years in a row to meet cash flow goals). However, safety is not compromised, which is nice.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good pay, for a price

      Oct 11, 2020 - Finance 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the highest paying companies in the area

      Cons

      Work-life balance continues to worsen as the company eliminates positions.

      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jul 25, 2020 - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, work-life balance and opportunities for growth.

      Cons

      There is nothing bad to say.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      A good work life balance at a top company

      May 3, 2020 - Process Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and work life balance with competitive benefits.

      Cons

      Medical benefits have decreased in the past few years, but with good pay, is still a solid job.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      The subcultures matter

      Sep 27, 2018 - Systems Analyst in Kingsport, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In IT, things are awesome. I work with great people on some pretty cool stuff. I get to stay up to date with the latest technology trends for business and do some pretty fulfilling work. My management is fantastic. They want the best out of me and for me. They make sure that I'm happy with how things are going and are willing to takes steps if I'm not. There's lots of flexibility in how I do my job as long as the job gets done. Work-life balance is fantastic, things are pretty flexible if I need to move around my hours a bit to accommodate my home life. I feel like I get to be myself here and don't need to hide who I am. I have met some great friends working for Eastman. I would definitely recommend working in IT at Eastman.

      Cons

      Things outside of IT don't seem quite as nice, but I can't really say first hand. I have heard from some people outside of IT that their line of management isn't great, but I suppose there will always be some of that in a company. Culture in the different areas can be pretty different. There has also been lots of turnover lately. It seems that Eastman has a difficult time keeping younger talent.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 201 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Eastman Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Eastman? Share Your Experiences

    or