Eccovia Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Eccovia Solutions Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
51%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Eccovia Solutions CEO Carl Champagne (no image)
Carl Champagne
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A few were let go or laid off, and the ones that I know the details about were logical and reasonable(in 7 reviews)

  • "Promised profit sharing that never seems to happen(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Many pros and a few cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eccovia Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’m a newer non-management employee. There are a lot of either old or unjustified negative reviews here, so I wanted to add my perspective. The company has made significant progress resolving the issues mentioned in negative reviews. I would guess that more than a few of these are disgruntled former employees that are venting. Some of the older ones seem wildly innaccurate, so props to the company for listening and... improving. Overall, this is a great place to work a great company culture. We offer a product that is one of the best in the market at what it does, and it’s extremely valuable to many that rely on it. Benefits are good. Unlimited sick days are nice, and most positions offers flexible hours, and a flexible work location. The fully stocked breakroom and onsite chef save me a lot of time and money and helps me to eat healthier. The chef is very talented. The current management team is great. They have offered unbiased advice, and are genuinely been concerned about my wellbeing, my career path, and my personal goals. There has been some turnover restructuring in management, which has probably helped with the concerns in some older reviews

    Show More

    Cons

    While flexible sick leave is nice, I would like to see that same flexibility given to other types of paid time off, and see management taking more steps to encourage a work-life balance. 3-day paternity leave is nice, but less than what other software companies are offering. To clarify some negatives in other reviews and add my own thoughts. I have personally never felt threatened or experienced “hostility”.... If there was some hostility in the past, the company has taken steps correct the problem. There is some stress due to things like big contracts and deadlines, but nothing unexpected for the type of work. And yes, there has been turnover, even in the short time I’ve been here, but such is the nature of our industry. Many left on good terms, and we have also hired new equally talented employees that are balancing out some losses. A few were let go or laid off, and the ones that I know the details about were logical and reasonable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see a continued effort and focus to improving our workplace culture and a focus on work-life balance. I think there are still big steps you can take here to attract and retain talented employees. Also, sometimes we focus on profitability and the software itself as an end, without remembering the bigger picture of what we do. I think it’s important for management to find ways to ingrain a purpose... and a 'why' in the company. We are providing a valuable tool that is trying to help solve some big problems that are much bigger than just our company, and we can play a part in that, and we'll make a better product if we can keep that in mind.

    Show More
    Eccovia Solutions2019-11-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eccovia Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company has a lot to offer! You feel respected and like your opinion matters. Management is easy to talk with and willing to help out wherever. There is also a lot of room to grow and advance your skills. They take care of their employees with great benefits including free medical insurance, vacation/PTO, daily breakfast and lunches also for free!! They understand employees need a good work/life balance and... honor those needs.

    Show More

    Cons

    Needs better communication throughout all employees and could be better organized with more policies in place which is in the process.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making positive changes

    Eccovia Solutions2019-02-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "If you want to be threatened work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eccovia Solutions full-time

    Pros

    the chef, some really good people, new hr person made big improvements in benefits covering 100% medical for entire family, friendly new front desk person.

    Cons

    CEO needs to retire, CDO likes to bully and threaten, hostile work environment

    Advice to Management

    your going to lose all the "good" people because you treat them so poorly.

    Eccovia Solutions2019-02-20
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Headed in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eccovia Solutions full-time

    Pros

    There is no shortage of valuable, challenging projects to work on that really make a difference to the company and clients. And the fact that our clients are helping their communities adds to a sense of purpose here. The team that I work on has a lot of capable people who work well together, without a lot of ego. The company just announced some significant improvements to our benefits for 2019. The free lunch and... breakfast is also a nice perk. Hours are generally flexible as long as you meet your commitments.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is a history of turnover here, and still some lingering effects of that negative culture, lack of trust, and timeline pressures. However, my experience is that the current management understands the value of the employees and is working to help them succeed. Cultural problems can't be fixed overnight, but we're headed in the right direction. Also, the office building is Class C, in contrast to a lot of tech... companies in the area which are investing in modern (expensive) locations and spaces, FWIW.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire good people, invest in them, treat them well, and they will deliver for you. Upgrade to a new office space if/when the finances allow.

    Eccovia Solutions2018-11-25
  5. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Millcreek, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eccovia Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been with Eccovia, formerly ClientTrack, formerly DSI for 6+ years. We have grown a lot in the time I've been here, and it has been very rewarding. There have been many employees and managers come and go in my time and there have been some bad reviews on here. Maybe I'm fortunate and haven't had experienced most of what others have claimed on here, but quite the opposite. Management, for the most part, have... always been supportive and have had my back. I have seen many people move into new roles and positions and be very successful in them. Nothing is handed to you, and perhaps that's what has prompted some of the negative feedback. I've worked my butt off to get where I'm at today, and am thankful for the opportunities I've been given here.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of, other than that one stinky guy that hangs out in the kitchen.

    Advice to Management

    Reviews, we still haven't implemented them although it's been talked about for years. Spread out some of the responsibilities. We still rely too much in my opinion on a few individuals. Be more open to working remote.

    Eccovia Solutions2018-10-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I've had a good experience working at Eccovia."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eccovia Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a fast growing company. I've had many opportunities to take on more responsibilities. I've been rewarded for my extra work. Lots of opportunities to learn and grow. Working here has been a good career move for me and I have no plans on leaving. I like my coworkers. The benefits are good and continue to improve. I'm new to the software as a service industry and have really enjoyed learning about the industry... and our product.

    Show More

    Cons

    With the rate of growth things can be a little unorganized at times but I have viewed problems as opportunities to show my value to the company.

    Eccovia Solutions2018-10-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Scrum Master"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eccovia Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growing and entering new markets

    Cons

    Has some process and growing pains

    Eccovia Solutions2018-10-02
  8. Helpful (18)

    "DON'T BELIEVE the 5 STAR REVIEWS!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Murray, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eccovia Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to get experience. Fun people. Free lunch, beverages, and snacks.

    Cons

    First of all, the company is trying to improve its Glassdoor score so almost all of the 5 star reviews here are fake. There is one person in the company who adds these reviews - of course forced by CEO. The company's very poor management starts with the CEO. Employees are afraid of being fired without cause. The CEO appears to have some sort of disorder - or at least a need for power over people. He is... literally hiring 10 people and firing them within 5-6 months (if they are lucky). The company's foundation is based on a couple of people who are allowed to do whatever they want. I am not saying they are bad people. I am saying that when there is a firing wave they get to walk around feeling good about their job security while the average employee waits and wonders if they will be the next one called to HR. HR has no employee review process. There is no documentation on job performance whatsoever. There is no desire to improve employee performance or promote from within. You will wait a long time for a raise. Communication between departments is very poor and the rumor mill runs rampant. During my time, I saw several people who were trying to change things for the better end up getting fired. Those with hopes of coming in and being part of developing a new culture are quickly disappointed. As for the work - they will promise you responsibilities that are suited to your skill set but in reality your job assignments are far from what is promised. Unrealistic deadlines and the lack of proper training minimize the chance for success. Honestly this company survives only because they don't have strong competition in the market. If you were to start a company and hired all employees fired from Eccovia you would have a fantastic company - so many smart, loyal, and mature people.

    Show More
    Eccovia Solutions2018-07-02
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Bizarro world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Eccovia Solutions

    Pros

    A few nice people but not enough to make a difference in my day. I would love to say that I work with an amazing team but I don’t. I am ashamed and questioning whether I should add a Eccovia on my resume.

    Cons

    They tell you that it’s a family atmosphere but as soon as you open up and tell them something sensitive or important or trying in your life ..... they yank the cord. I was told I would be hired on, was even shown the documentation and salary. Then for whatever reason I opened up and told them about a serious trial I was dealing with - with my spouse. I don’t know I thought maybe I had landed the perfect job... with a wonderful caring team. Not the case. So if you need a family atmosphere don’t go here. If you don’t care have at it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honesty goes a long way. You will never have amazing people working for you when the individual doesn’t matter.

    Eccovia Solutions2018-07-31
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Toxic culture from the top down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eccovia Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good place to build up your skills before leaving.

    Cons

    The high turnover as people who seem to be doing a great job suddenly disappear should be the first clue that the atmosphere is toxic. Anyone there over two years is unusual, and even the great reviews (by typically current employees trying to ward off bad reviews while their rose-colored glasses are still working out) can't deny that fact.

    Advice to Management

    The company never ran better than when certain key people (who were let go or quit under protest) left in 2015. They acted as a great buffer between the worker bees and the crazy at the top. It's time to retire Carl... but then again, your lifestyle skims off all the cream in the top-heavy company that doesn't make it's way down to the worker bees, so why change something that's personally enriching?

    Eccovia Solutions2018-01-21
Found 63 reviews