Echelon Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Echelon Corporation Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Echelon Corporation CEO Ron Sege
Ron Sege
17 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Echelon Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with knowledgeable and friendly colleagues Everyone gets their own office Events parties to keep employees engaged

    Cons

    layoffs and hiring takes time

    Echelon Corporation2019-06-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Destined to FAIL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Echelon Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay and some good people working here.

    Cons

    Terrible company outlook. Everyone here are so comfy in their jobs that they don't even bother trying anymore. OLD SCHOOL management style.

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourselves please.

    Echelon Corporation2017-10-10
  3. "Working at Echelon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Echelon Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good people who are committed to quality products.

    Cons

    Depressing outlook for the company due to lacking business and selling off of the metering side of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management lacking the vision needed to drive the company to the proper markets. Hiring a firm that can direct the business would be helpful.

    Echelon Corporation2017-08-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Turnarounds Take Time & Are Painful.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Echelon Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - People that have remained are for the most part engaged - There appears to be a path to success for the company - New sales force seems to be generating a lot of new projects and activity - Company is "right-sized" for the future

      Cons

      - Some old-timers that are not working hard still remain - Company could move a bit faster in all areas, too conservative especially for a Silicon Valley firm

      Advice to Management

      - hold people accountable - communicate what is happening more frequently than once a quarter

      Echelon Corporation2017-05-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Turning it around - shocked to see all the negativity in Glassdoor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Echelon Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I'm a bit shocked to see so many disgruntled folks who still work there. If you don't believe in it, why are you still working there? Anyway, company's going through a massive turnaround and making the right bets. Losses have been contained. Technology is solid and new IOT markets very are promising. Spending a lot on R&D for a company this size and retooled the Salesforce for new markets.

      Cons

      As with any turnaround, there's a lot of work and heavy lifting needed from everyone. New markets are still developing so lots of uncertainties buts that's to be expected.

      Advice to Management

      Management could do a better job or relaying the strategy and progress to employees.

      Echelon Corporation2017-02-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Lost cause"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Echelon Corporation full-time

      Pros

      It's a paycheck, good work-life balance

      Cons

      Excessive negative politics, constantly terminating and losing talent. Very limited R&D$. CEO remains and collects $M bonus despite revenue and staff reduction of >50%, stock reverse split to avoid being delisted from Nasdaq. Current marketing and sales not winning new business. V. wealthy Board members don't seem to care ..

      Advice to Management

      Replace CEO, massive culture change needed

      Echelon Corporation2016-12-30
    • Helpful (7)

      "Echelon = Titanic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Santa Clara, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Echelon Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Not sure if there are any. I have a job - I guess that's good. Still getting a paycheck.

      Cons

      Worst company I've ever worked for. A total bore to work at and you can just tell employees currently here just don't care anymore. I give us till the end of the year. How this company is still around is a big mystery to me.

      Advice to Management

      You need to pull a 180 and fast!!! You need to fire everyone here now and start fresh. No one here cares anymore and it shows. We can start with the CEO getting the boot.

      Echelon Corporation2016-02-24
    • Helpful (3)

      "Horrible management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Echelon Corporation

      Pros

      The flexibility to work out own schedules were a plus. People there were nice

      Cons

      Upper management ran the company to the ground. The let go of a lot of good people.

      Echelon Corporation2016-02-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Recruiter"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Contract Recruiter in San Jose, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Echelon Corporation for less than a year

      Pros

      The people here are passionate, excitable and innovative. Such a great environment!

      Cons

      Haven't found any problems yet. Well, maybe they could keep milk in the fridge (instead of creamer) for those of us watching our fat intake ;)

      Echelon Corporation2015-12-08
    • Helpful (5)

      "Sinking ship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Echelon Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Core technology (LonWorks) is solid and still viable, and a few loyal employees from the "old times" who still care about customers, though the number dwindles ever day.

      Cons

      Pathetic management who cares nothing about employees or customers! Sege is just milking the OEM business and foolishly bought a crappy little lighting controls company and is betting the farm on it. What a joke!

      Advice to Management

      Leave!! Do the remaining employees a huge favor and just go. And while you're at it, try to find a little integrity and honor along the way.

      Echelon Corporation2015-12-22
    Found 28 reviews