Echo Global Logistics Carrier Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Echo Global Logistics Carrier Sales Representative Reviews

Updated August 15, 2017
36 reviews

Filter

Filter

Carrier Sales Representative

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Echo Global Logistics CEO and Director Doug Waggoner
Doug Waggoner
26 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • I enjoy working at Echo it is a very Comfortable and Friendly work environment (in 47 reviews)

  • The Dallas branch exemplifies the "work hard play hard" mentality very well (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • Long hours, micro manage, not a great life/work balance (in 26 reviews)

  • The commission structure is a rat race (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (7)

    "Cannot beat the culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The company has an incredible culture. I have created so many valuable relationships here at Echo that will last a life-time. It is a perfect job as the first job right out of college. It is fun, everyone is outgoing, but at the same time they take the job very seriously. It is definitely a “Work hard-Play hard" environment. There is also a lot of room to grow as the company is expanding and growing non stop. If you are a hard worker, you will be rewarded with compensation, trips, gifts... The company has an open door policy, and when I say that they do, they really truly do. No matter what level you are at, you will be heard.

    Cons

    The company is great, but the industry of logistics is rough. It is definitely not for someone of a sensitive personality. The industry can either break you or make you stronger. Partially, that is the reason why the company invests into people so much, so the pain of the industry wouldn’t overwhelm people too much. The initial compensation is not very high, but as I said before, if you work hard you will be compensated.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work motivating people and rewarding everyone for the good job that they do and keeping the work place so positive.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Aug 19, 2016 – HR Representative

    Thank you for sharing your experience! It is great to hear the excitement and motivation you share. The Logistics industry can certainly be tough some days, and it is not for everyone, but we... More


  2. "Smile and Dial :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great way for young jobseekers w/o any work experience to move to a city and earn a paycheck

    Cons

    No clear career path for carrier sales reps. Possible to work your way up to a management position, but the sweat equity it would take to get there would likely be better rewarded if spent elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Promote positivity. Create culture where carrier sales reps aren't such easy targets for unwarranted blame.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for the feedback. We understand that the carrier sales role can be difficult, which is why we have implemented one of the richest commission structures in the industry. There is opportunity... More

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -It's a job
    -Pretty awesome team managers
    -Sales is hard. But once you really grasp that, its easy work
    -You can take advantage of your time here and learn valuable skills that can be utilized elsewhere
    -Decent benefits
    -Fooda

    Cons

    -The culture. Its awful. Yes you can meet great friends here, but thats only after you've been with the company for 3+ years. If good culture to you is beer on Fridays (an effort to help you forget the fact that it's 5pm and you're still at work) then sure, the culture is great
    -If you are a woman, especially a good looking one, be prepared for a million dirty looks on a daily basis. The women who work here are catty and insecure which makes the atmosphere very uncomfortable for women who are actually nice
    -The open office layout
    -There could be a snowstorm outside and the AC in the office will still be on. It's extremely cold, all the time
    -Everyone on the customer side is extremely lazy, which leads to the carrier side doing more work than they should. Top management knows this, but could care less about fixing the issue
    -Echo/Command is still going through that 'feeling each other out' phase. Honestly, to me, coworkers from Command seem to have better work ethic and are overall better people, in comparison to original Echo coworkers

    Advice to Management

    None; it won't change anything.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Recruiting Coordinator

    We do appreciate you taking the time to write down your thoughts, and are truly sorry that you have not had as positive of an experience with Echo as we would have hoped. Every company faces... More


  4. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible company, very deceiving."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The office atmosphere is among the best you can find in a proffessional office setting but that is the only positive aspect of working for this company.

    Cons

    I have been working full time at Echo global logistics for 2 years. The company higher ups are among the shadiest business proffessionals you will ever come across in your job search. They do not value or care about their employees whatsoever and simply rely on the alarming turnover rate of employees to keep bodies coming in just as quickly as they are walking out the door.

    The avg. starting base salary is always changing in a growing industry such as the logistics industry and certainly has since I started with the company 2 years ago. New hires are now being offered 8k-10k more to start than I was when I started with the company. After working hard for 2 years and making the company a good amount of money but falling just short of their extremely challenging requirements to make any sort of commission month after month I approached management and asked if they were willing to up my base salary to just match what the new hires were getting and was told simply no. They stated it was unfortunately my problem that I started with the compamy when I did and that they are not entitled to have to give anything more since I signed the contract even after showing great work ethic for 2 years. I was told it costs them 80k a year just to keep my body in the seat and the less they have to pay you the happier they are regardless of how much income and profit you bring to the company.

    The commission structure is a rat race. It is designed for you to fall just short every month but keeps the rat running and chasing the wheel.

    Working 60+ hours a week is draining physically and mentally, which is fine. However when you get home at night and you are so mentally drained that you can barely communicate with your family or friends and think about the fact that you didnt make any more money that day than an hourly minimum wage employee at the local mcdonalds its frustrating. (At least mcdondals pays overtime)

    Another huge con about the company is that unless you are willing to play in the thursday night softball league and go out with the team until 3-4am afterward to a local bar dont expect to be allowed to work on any of the good accounts that actually gives you a chance hit the ridiculously high commission requirements. In other words the "good ol boys club" are the ones that get taken care of not the hard worker who chooses not to be a degenerate.

    Advice to Management

    None they do not care about opinions. The only thing management and the corporate higher ups care about are themselves.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Recruiting Coordinator

    The logistics industry is tough – it is competitive, fast paced and constantly evolving. The hours can be hectic and stressful, which is why we implemented activities such as a softball league, team... More


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Potential is there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with, can build lifelong friendships. Many tools and resources are provided to be successful.

    Cons

    Saturated company in a saturated industry. If you are a carrier sales rep you are competing against 500+ other people within your company, aside from the numerous other brokerages through the U.S. you're competing with. Takes a lot of hard work and even more luck. Integration with Command Transportation has also shown clear differences in company culture

    Advice to Management

    Continue to mesh Command and Echo cultures into one cohesive unit. Decrease the size of incoming hires; company is already saturated to begin with.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts and advice on Echo! Logistics can be a tough industry and we know the frustrations that come with it, but we continue to empower our... More


  6. "Carrier Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Awesome atmosphere, especially right out of college
    - Great Benefit Package
    - Very Cool office, startup feel
    - Barista on site
    - Commissions can be HUGE
    - top reps get free trips

    Cons

    - Commissions are a little vague when you first get hired
    - About a year of no commission before you start hitting minimums
    - Long hours of calls calls calls


  7. "very young management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    sitting in a chair all day

    Cons

    unhealthy food and stupid stresses over if my toilet paper made it on time to TX.

    Advice to Management

    Lighten up from policing everyone. Worst case of people micro managing you every day

  8. "Hamster Wheel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Could wear essentially whatever you wanted to work.

    Cons

    No upward mobility, eat what you kill on a daily basis, base draw.

    Advice to Management

    Hire less reps, get lighter loads.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jun 20, 2016 – HR Representative

    Thank you for your review. Having a casual dress code allows our employees to focus on the work at hand. We do have limits to this, however, because we do have visitors walking through each office... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Resume Builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Troy, MI
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics (More than a year)

    Pros

    The atmosphere is pretty laid back and you don't get micro managed. There are some great people at this company that you get to work with. When you get on a roll there are people there to keep you motivated.

    Cons

    Being ignored by client representatives and managers, very apparent lack of respect and communication skills by some employees. Carrier sales are always receiving the brunt of blame, everything some how is our fault. Obvious favoritism. Lack of career development. High turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    More hands on training by all levels of management. Hire within and provide more opportunities for growth. Treat everyone with respect.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jun 24, 2016 – Sr. Carrier Sales Manager

    Thank you for the review. I’m happy to hear you enjoy your teammates in your role – you’re right, the people you work truly help motivate you on a day to day basis and keep the atmosphere light... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not what it once was...No defined career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, atmosphere, upper management. No micromanaging, great potential to earn a ton of money relatively quickly. The proprietary software used really streamlines all the relevant information needed to run your book of business and sell freight on a daily basis. Great external resources such as carrier databases [carrier411/fleetseek]

    Cons

    50+ hrs a week. Carrier sales side is saturated, there's not enough freight for the amount of people working as carrier reps. There is really no career path, you either manage accounts and can lose them in a heartbeat to safety or acquisition or you're a manager. Your livelihood is subject to market conditions. Your sales can hit rock bottom after years of success and growth. The merge with Echo in my opinion will diminish the culture that Command has developed. Its tough to see new reps inherit accounts only by being in the right place at the right time, its actually sickening. You could have put in 5 years of solid hard work, setting up new accounts and reviving underutilized ones, and someone else fresh in sales can take over an account that generates 4-5x what you've built over the years.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring carrier reps! Develop a strategy for handing down accounts to seasoned reps who may just need a little help getting back on their feet instead of carelessly distributing accounts to new people who've never developed their own accounts, its a huge slap in the face.