Echo Global Logistics "commission structure" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Echo Global Logistics Employee Reviews about "commission structure"

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Echo Global Logistics CEO and Director Doug Waggoner
Doug Waggoner
422 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours are needed in order to become as successful as you want to be at this position(in 40 reviews)

  • "it was a terrible commission structure(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "commission structure"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Echo - Chicago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time

    Pros

    great culture, fun sales environment, great opportunity to make money and develop professional sales skills, good organizational structure, positional mobility, benefits packages. Overall very good place to work!

    Cons

    competitive industry, long days, commission structure salary,

    Continue reading
    Echo Global Logistics2018-02-28

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    April 2, 2018Talent Attraction Program Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and advice on the mentorship program. This will be shared with leadership....thanks!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large 3PL to get your foot in the door for logistics.

    Cons

    - Poor management. - No room for growth in the company unless you are at HQ. - If you are in a branch, they move up people who are either romantically involved with management. - There is no one on one meetings with management for professional growth. - There is no transparency for bonus structure and no there is no transparency for commission structure for client sales and carrier sales. - They do not have a formal training for managers, so managers are mainly staffed by senior sales or operations staff. Therefore they have no education on how to manage a team effectively. - There seems to be a lack of wanting to collaborate as a team for problem solutions.

    Continue reading
    Echo Global Logistics2020-02-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company Different Commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics

    Pros

    Culture and the training will help you in the long term. Learning the industry from Echo will help benefit your career in logistics if you are just starting out.

    Cons

    The cons are the commission structure which is monthly. You need to hit monthly OTE or you dont make anything that month. The company sets penalties in place to take your commission if/ when earned for example...late deliveries from the past etc. This structure is based to make sure you dont get paid commission and if you do it’ll be around $200-1000 for the month after you made the company over $100,000.

    Echo Global Logistics2019-11-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Solutions Executive 

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun people to work with

    Cons

    it was a terrible commission structure

    Echo Global Logistics2019-11-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Cold Call Central"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, constant catered lunches and breakfast, happy hours, young company culture

    Cons

    A lot of pressure from management to meet cold call quotas and new account quotas. Managing shipments is too stressful. Commission structure isn't fair and only benefits 5% of the sales reps.

    Continue reading
    Echo Global Logistics2019-01-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Carrier Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual dress code. Location. Co-workers

    Cons

    Terrible commission structure. No upward mobility. Management constantly looking down on you and underestimating you. Long hours.

    Continue reading
    Echo Global Logistics2018-04-27

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    May 2, 2018Talent Team

    Thanks for taking the time to review! Being a growing company we are always looking to improve. One area of improvement is the new Learning & Development team that has been put in place this year and how this will positively impact our upward growth, the management skills of our managers, and how everyone is trained! We are looking forward to this impact..

    Continue reading
  7. "National Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time

    Pros

    Work hard and build your own business. A lot of micro-management but if you hit your numbers you

    Cons

    Changed commission structure couples times.

    Echo Global Logistics2018-02-26

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    April 2, 2018Talent Attraction Program Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! As Echo is growing rapidly there will be some changes along the way. We are excited about the growth and opportunities individuals have to build their business here!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible company, very deceiving."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office atmosphere is among the best you can find in a proffessional office setting but that is the only positive aspect of working for this company.

    Cons

    I have been working full time at Echo global logistics for 2 years. The company higher ups are among the shadiest business proffessionals you will ever come across in your job search. They do not value or care about their employees whatsoever and simply rely on the alarming turnover rate of employees to keep bodies coming in just as quickly as they are walking out the door. The avg. starting base salary is always changing in a growing industry such as the logistics industry and certainly has since I started with the company 2 years ago. New hires are now being offered 8k-10k more to start than I was when I started with the company. After working hard for 2 years and making the company a good amount of money but falling just short of their extremely challenging requirements to make any sort of commission month after month I approached management and asked if they were willing to up my base salary to just match what the new hires were getting and was told simply no. They stated it was unfortunately my problem that I started with the compamy when I did and that they are not entitled to have to give anything more since I signed the contract even after showing great work ethic for 2 years. I was told it costs them 80k a year just to keep my body in the seat and the less they have to pay you the happier they are regardless of how much income and profit you bring to the company. The commission structure is a rat race. It is designed for you to fall just short every month but keeps the rat running and chasing the wheel. Working 60+ hours a week is draining physically and mentally, which is fine. However when you get home at night and you are so mentally drained that you can barely communicate with your family or friends and think about the fact that you didnt make any more money that day than an hourly minimum wage employee at the local mcdonalds its frustrating. (At least mcdondals pays overtime) Another huge con about the company is that unless you are willing to play in the thursday night softball league and go out with the team until 3-4am afterward to a local bar dont expect to be allowed to work on any of the good accounts that actually gives you a chance hit the ridiculously high commission requirements. In other words the "good ol boys club" are the ones that get taken care of not the hard worker who chooses not to be a degenerate.

    Continue reading
    Echo Global Logistics2017-06-28

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    July 19, 2017Recruiting Coordinator

    The logistics industry is tough – it is competitive, fast paced and constantly evolving. The hours can be hectic and stressful, which is why we implemented activities such as a softball league, team events and spiffs to encourage team comradery. Our top sales reps hit commission by working hard, pushing through the tough times and having open communication with their managers on how they can consistently improve. We encourage you to discuss with your manager any commission challenges and see how they can help develop you as a rep to continue to grow your book of business.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "STAY AWAY FROM HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent LTL package and their managed LTL program is unique. Outside of LTL the pros just about stop at that point

    Cons

    -They pride themselves on being a technological innovator in the industry but When they acquired Command they actually kept the bulk of the programs we designed in house. Our programs now what their entire platform is based on. The few programs that are native to Echo are outdated and highly inefficient. -The vast majority of carrier reps have been there less than 2 years so their purchasing power really isn't all that competitive. This makes sense when you realize that their turnover is sky high -Their commission structure is constantly evolving and transparency as to your own earnings couldn't be worse. At Command transportation we had an itemized inventory for every single load we moved and how much commission was won or lost. This is not the case at Echo. You have to jump through many hoops to see the real money you're making. -Overall, they've acquired too many companies and don't know which way to go. They aren't an efficient company don't do nearly enough for their reps. This is a great industry to be in but Echo has started to turn and burn employees for their own bottom line. If you want to press your luck and try it then that's up to you. However, I think most people will have better luck both personally and financially at a smaller, more nimble firm.

    Continue reading
    Echo Global Logistics2017-04-14

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    April 25, 2017Recruiting Coordinator

    We understand the frustration that comes with an integration and know working through the different kinks can be difficult. The companies we acquire are a strategic move to help leverage different areas of our business and continue to place us as a top 3PL in the industry. We believe the acquisition of Command, as well as other acquisitions we’ve done, will continue to make our company and employees more successful. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your frustrations, and want you to know we hear them and are working diligently to address any issues across the company.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not Built for a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time

    Pros

    Stability, Loose Environment, Nice people

    Cons

    Poor leadership, no career opportunities, commission structure is flawed, low pay

    Continue reading
    Echo Global Logistics2017-03-09

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    March 16, 2017Recruiting Coordinator

    We appreciate the feedback however feel that this does not signify our company. We want our employees to be aware of the tremendous amount of opportunities they have in front of them, and we strongly encourage growth from within. We are continuing to provide leadership training to our managers to ensure our employees have admirable leaders to learn from as well as having honest career conversations with all employees who ask for them, to help them gain new skills to continue to advance in their careers.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews