KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Echo Global Logistics

Engaged Employer

Echo Global Logistics

Add a Review

Echo Global Logistics Employee Reviews about "logistics"

Updated Nov 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 1,142 reviews

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Echo Global Logistics CEO and Director Doug Waggoner
Doug Waggoner
651 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Echo Global Logistics and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "logistics"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    24/7 job

    Jun 26, 2013 -  in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They hire you with no experience. They have decent events.

    Cons

    Horrible compensation. 24/7 job. Even worse management. Things change at the drop of the hat, and you are expected to deal or upper management threatens your job. Something happens that is out of your control. Upper management threatens to write you up. Trust me its not worth it.. Especially since other logistics companies are actively recruiting.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Internship at ECHO Global Logistics

    Oct 14, 2020 - Client Sales in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The internship with ECHO Global Logistics was very fun and taught more than just sales. I go to shadow each department and understand what functions that department brings to the company and how every department relies on each other for the company to flow smoothly.

    Cons

    Internship was short and not full time, but still learned and gain a lot of experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Typical burn and churn billion dollar business.

    Nov 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth, if you see yourself in logistic long term (And get in good with the right people). Great for students directly out of college looking to stop foot into a corporate environmnet.

    Cons

    Echo puts on an air of continued value being placed on each and every employee, however it often gets lost in the psuedo 'culture' they have been trying to push on employees over the last year or so. From the build outs to the funky designs, yes, while they look beautiful, if you ask 95% of the employees what they need to better enjoy their lives, an increase in pay would be a the top of the list. The salary with the job barely touch the tip of the stress associated with logistics. Turn over comes in waves.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    HR Representative

    Thank you very much for providing your thoughts. We read all of our reviews on Glassdoor and all of our exit interviews; I can assure you we take the information very seriously because it's the only way to keep getting better as a company. We’re currently planning initiatives for 2016 and will continue to take employee feedback into account.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company and Leadership

    Jun 2, 2022 - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training did a great job introducing myself into the industry of logistics and gave me the right tools to be successful. Team I was assigned did a great job with layout what needs to be done on a daily basis and how to manage. very accommodating with time off for anything needed as long as keep managers informed.

    Cons

    -Started out at a Logistics Coordinator which I thought could of been placed at a high pay/salary. -Quick pace and quick learning and be able to multi task throughout the day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Growing company where hard work is rewarded

    Apr 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Echo is a growing company that provides a multitude of opportunities for those who work hard and put the time in. There are career development opportunities cross functionally, and opportunities to develop and build your skill set as a sales professional. Since the company is still in growth stages (only 11 years old)-- not all departments have 'career paths' built out but that's genuinely one of my favorite things about Echo. Your path can be organic and best suited to you as a person and where you see your career going. Sales is a tough gig. You have to put in the work, the hours and the energy to be successful... anyone in a sales job will tell you that. At Echo you work in a team environment and there are a lot of spiffs and competitions to keep a fun competition in the workplace. Commission is uncapped which is very intriguing for those who are motivated by money. The environment is excellent! I started at Echo right after graduation and couldn't have asked for a smoother transition into the business world. The industry is stable. Logistics isn't going anywhere.. especially within the 3PL space. Echo recently acquired another large logistics company and is continuing to grow in revenue year over year.

    Cons

    I've been with Echo Global Logistics for almost 5 years now. I'm not going to lie- the company has been through a lot of changes in those 5 years. As a growing and developing company you're expected to experience growing pains. Promotions (outside of sales) don't always come quickly. Those who are invested and work hard will get there. The industry is not for everyone... it's by no means glamorous. The freight market is every changing, there are ups and downs which constantly keep you on your toes.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    HR Representative

    Thank you for your encouraging review! Congratulations on your 5 years here at Echo and we appreciate your positive energy. You are absolutely right that even though all departments don’t have specific “career paths” it gives our employees the ability to create their own paths that can be best suited to the individual here at Echo! We take pride in the environment we are able to provide our employees, with teamwork, incentives/spiffs, and healthy competition. The Logistics industry is a stable one, and we are constantly evolving and growing within the industry. Thank you for your advice and sharing your experience at Echo!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great First Job

    Oct 6, 2016 - Customer Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Brand new LARGE 2nd floor facility at 600 W Chicago Ave in River North, Chicago -Recently merged with Command Transportation - now move ~3500 truckloads daily -Top three logistics companies in the industry -Salary + Commission compensation structure -Competitive, fast-paced working environment -Easy access to CTA and Metra

    Cons

    -Early start daily and long hours -Stressful situations arise daily -Must be good at handling rejection/enabling critical thinking -Relatively high turnover in logistics industry--must be persistent in sales role

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to work - Great people

    Nov 23, 2016 - Operations/Sales Support in Yorba Linda, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work. Our Branch Office staff have worked together for many years and work well together. Echo Global Logistics has great benefits for employees. Lots of opportunities within the company for growth and/or even move to a new location/region, since we have so many branches. Echo offers great employee benefits.

    Cons

    Working in the Branch environment keeps us a bit isolated from the happenings @ Corporate. Sometimes we feel like an after thought.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Client Sales Rep

    Apr 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment and great people. It is a sales job and your success is up to you, but everyone around is more than willing to help push through and succeed. It is a very dynamic job that gives you more than just one product at one price. If you can stick it out and are willing to work hard, there is a ton of opportunity, both financial and personal.. Echo is also a very highly ranked company that gives a lot more resources than the competition. They have a great training program as well to get you started.

    Cons

    It is a sales job. You will be cold calling a lot and it is hard to always find motivation. The logistics industry is very competitive as well so you will be getting a lot of no's and will get hung up on. It is not for everyone but it is a great job whether you are right out of college or have prior work experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    HR Representative

    Thanks so much for the constructive feedback. It’s true- sales is a challenging job anywhere and we strive to provide as much support to our Sales Reps as possible. I encourage you to talk to your manager if you have ideas or feedback on how we can continue to engage our salespeople.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good for beginning sales role

    Sep 19, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Thorough training program and day to day responsibilities allows you to learn the logistics industry. It's a grind so you stay busy and the long days seem to fly by. Decent salary and potential to earn well, nice health benefits and 401k program, and young culture if that is what you're looking for. Business casual dress code which is convenient since there is minimal face to face customer interaction.

    Cons

    Earning potential is only there if you're willing to put in a lot of hours. I booked a great deal of volume and towards the end had consistent commission checks coming in but that began after a year's worth of 10 hour days, out of office work, and weekends. Many of the relationships you build internally and externally will dictate the business you're able to do and how much you're going to make. Very big on office politics and very top down. There is a ceiling but after you grind there is an opportunity to coast while earning 60-75k annually if you don't want to break your back forever.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company to Start at and Great Company to Grow With

    May 25, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All in all, I love working for Echo. I have been here for 3 years, and I see myself staying for a long time. It is a really great place to start if you're just starting out in the professional world / Logistics / Sales world. Excellent training program. Really great place to grow. Able to move up and make more money, if you work hard! (If you are just looking for a slack job from 9 - 5 Monday through Friday, this job is NOT for you) - Base pay starts a bit low, but goes up, and offers good commission with sales. Really great perks - Chachkies and Knicknacks (pens, shirts, hats etc. etc.), also really great benefits package (health, dental, life insurance, 401K etc. etc.) Amazing coworkers and get togethers.

    Cons

    Need a better coverage system for time off. There is potential to lose a chunk of your book if you take time off and do not circle back to your clients. Internal drama between offices - especially when it comes to accounts. The forcing of Return to Office (RTO) 3 days a week. I think after 2 years of being remote (and Echo was very successful) - they should let people make their own decisions if they want to come in the office - let them come in. If they want to Work from Home (WFH) let them WFH. I think they will need to re-evaluate their RTO policy if they want to maintain their employees. Not everybody works the same (like how some people LEARN differently some people work better differently) and their forced RTO policy is basically assuming that all employees work the same way. It is an outdated idea, and now that the pandemic is over - they cannot put the genie back in the bottle of people making their own choices.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

Popular Careers with Echo Global Logistics Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Echo Global Logistics? Share Your Experiences

or

Echo Global Logistics Careers

Cover image for Echo Global Logistics

Take a look at the future of logistics... take a look at Echo. Driven, energetic and motivated – the Echo team is made of like minded...More

  • Benefits