Ecolab "call 24 7" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ecolab Employee Reviews about "call 24 7"

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Ecolab Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Doug Baker Jr.
Doug Baker Jr.
1,042 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance is not so good(in 141 reviews)

  • "On call 24/7 M-Th, 6-8 weekends per year ( with NO additional compensation)(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call 24 7"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great but time consuming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ecolab is a WONDERFUL company. They offer a great benefits program, wonderful professional environment and development opportunities and the coworkers within my group were some of the best I've ever worked with. Corporate management sometimes listened to employees. Reasonable expectations.

    Cons

    Work hours are long. You are working 24/7, including vacations.

    Ecolab2019-05-06

    Ecolab Response

    May 13, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We welcome your feedback and we're always looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Service and Sales Route Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Sales Manager in Apple Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits package, paid training, and gaining experience with a reputable company.

    Cons

    Poor work/ home life balance. Long, labor intensive days/weeks, periodically working 12 days in a row, 60-70 hours/ week, on-call 24/7 service, confusing pay structure, home storage of materials and equipment, fierce competition within divisions and teams creating a toxic work environment, lack of ground support, and lack of promotional growth.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2019-10-12

    Ecolab Response

    October 16, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. We welcome your feedback and we're always looking for ways to improve the employee experience. We encourage you to connect with your manager or HR partner to discuss your concerns.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "This is a 50/50 Sales/Service Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territ 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Autonomy over your day to day schedule, ability to run territory as it is your own small business, totally owning customer relationships.

    Cons

    Heavily relies on national corporate contracts, sign up for a sales job but end up doing service work day in and day out, on call for service 24/7.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2019-10-02

    Ecolab Response

    October 9, 2019HR Communications

    This is helpful feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Still have nightmares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pest Control Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Able to build great relationships with customers

    Cons

    Never off the clock..a 24/7 job

    Ecolab2019-09-19

    Ecolab Response

    September 25, 2019HR Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "TM REVIEW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee vehicle. Sense of accomplishment. Some expense reimbursement Some good opportunities to make half way decent money. Good learning opportunity and personal development depending on your DM and how engaged they are. Some upward mobility

    Cons

    Favoritism and a good old boys club Complete disconnect from senior management to boots on the ground. Parts holds. Way too many parts to stock vehicle. Company expects you to use home as an ecolab storage space and doesn’t reimburse for storage. Way too much red tape just to get simple tasks done. Cams never reply to emails. Revolving door of workers which means frequent caretaking and cleaning someone else’s mess up. On call 24/7/365 including holidays. Incredibly needy customers that take advantage of our free service. Unmanageable workload. Poor training; especially with the new catalyst initiative; we were literally given 3 days to learn the material and given quizzes which required a minimum passing score. Mentor app; which is impossible to get fairly graded on. Little recognition on a job well done. Quick to question and nit pick. Company provides little to any support. Pay is insultingly bad. Even if you crush it and gain 100k in new business your paycheck will only go up 6k a year.... Everyone in the field is burned out and overworked. Tracking down invoices. New catalyst system has way too many processes and is unnecessarily complicated. Some customers have absolutely zero respect for your work life balance. Expected to still work and “manage” your business while on vacation. Company doesn’t seem to know what it is doing. Zero compensation losing a corporate account in which you had no control over losing.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2019-09-02

    Ecolab Response

    September 5, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We strive to provide comprehensive and market-competitive benefits to meet the needs of our associates. We recognize we can always improve, and encourage you to connect with your manager or HR partner to discuss your concerns.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Not my ideal job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay, great resources, fast opportunity to move up the corporate latter, and company vehicle free of decals.

    Cons

    Work life balance is poor, you feel pressure from customers 24/7, and vehicle app that tracks your every move, even off the clock in company vehicle.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2019-04-22

    Ecolab Response

    April 24, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We welcome your feedback and we're always looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing job for the Right candidate in the right territory, otherwise be advised..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company success, job security and leadership. Industry competitors simply cannot match Ecolab's innovation and market penetration. Ecolab truly is everywhere it matters. District Managers are the lifeblood of institutional division, and will do their very best to help you succeed. If you like working independently, driving 400-1000 miles per week and are a results driven, self motivated individual, this may be your perfect match. Competitive 401k, always a great time working with fellow field reps. Ecolab managers work hard and party hard. Ability to grow income annually. HTMs generally have less service requirements, more commission potential and realized earnings.

    Cons

    Little work/life balance. Your success, compensation, and overall experience is largely determined by the territory you work in and how much time you're able to spend away from home. Territory size and $ volume varies dramatically, and could be the difference between driving 5-15 hours a week, or 30-40. Territories with primarily Warewashing accounts do not consistently produce large commission, unless... new corporate contracts could earn you 5-figure commission months if it is a direct account or equipment is included. Or... you cold call and win new business like your life depended on it. Unfortunately the amount of Extra Service Requests you receive will not allow for much of this. Other cons: Must manage all work equipment at home. Company does NOT pay for your storage. Expect to spend $2-3K additional gas expenses on top of what they contribute. 70% equipment servicing + windshield time /// 25% Sales/business processes is a reasonable time estimate. TMs with mostly indirect accounts have difficulty projecting monthly sales budgets, as 75-80% of budgeted sales come from Sysco, US Foods or other distributor. Expect some 12 hour days and 60 hour weeks. On call 24/7 M-Th, 6-8 weekends per year ( with NO additional compensation). Don't expect to learn any equipment servicing specifics while at training in Eagan MN. They'll teach you how to sell new accounts and take care of your customers, not how to fix, replace or install equipment and machine components. Expect to get down and dirty regularly. Restaurant kitchens are disgusting. Hazardous working environment at times. Must be comfortable working with High voltage machinery and motors. Late nights/overnight often required for ESRs or machine installation. Expect 2-4 days/mo. Your fleet vehicle is your mobile office. Must keep it stocked with parts and organized.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2019-02-01

    Ecolab Response

    February 6, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We strive to provide comprehensive and market-competitive benefits to meet the needs of our associates in a safe environment with equipment that also meets their needs. Please know we are committed to encouraging a fulfilling and meaningful career for our employee, and we take your feedback seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Appliance Repairman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vehicle for personal use Benefits (401k, Stock Purchase Plan, Health Insurance)

    Cons

    On-Call 24/7 essentially. If a laundry machine at a hospital goes down @ 11:00 p.m., guess what? You're going to fix it. Ever seen the inside of a plumbers or electricians van? That's exactly the way the inside of the vehicle you're provided for "personal use" as well will look. You are an Appliance Repairman... no way round it. Yet, you're also required to be a sales person. It's 90% service 10% sales. Rolling around on nasty dish room floors, smelling soaked laundry in nursing homes, burning your arms steam pipes, dealing with chemicals that will dissolve your eye as soon as it touches it.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2019-01-02

    Ecolab Response

    January 9, 2019HR Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company car Some freedom/flexibility in your schedule Good on-boarding/training program Good 401k match, stock buying options

    Cons

    -Jack of all trade, master of none work-load -Promoted as a sales role but has a huge service element -Below average salary -You technically have PTO but it's almost impossible to disconnect from work; you're essentially on call 24/7 -Vacant territories in your district result in nightmare work-loads on the rest of the team -Upper management talks to the field as if they can be 'independent entrepreneurs', and then proceeds to dump loads and loads of busy work, reports, and micro-managing tasks on everyone

    Ecolab2018-10-08

    Ecolab Response

    October 10, 2018HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. Please know we are committed to encouraging a fulfilling and meaningful career for our employees. We understand the important role that managers play in the employee experience, and we’re actively working to expand our manager training. We encourage you to share your concerns with your manager or HR partner if you have not already.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "bill collector, equipment installer, trainer, and worst of all their own 24/7 personal call center for customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pest Control Technician in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not the same 4 walls everyday, decent income.

    Cons

    24/7 on call, zero home life, day night day night, customer call backs and silly Ecolab policies such as being “on site” within 4 hours of a certain calls. Say BYE to any friends, family, hobbies, or peace of mind. Your phone will ring ALL DAY LONG with calls you are expected to show up to on top of running a route big enough to split between two people.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2018-09-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 79 reviews