Ecolab "call 24 7" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ecolab Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Ecolab Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Doug Baker Jr.
Doug Baker Jr.
1,055 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Work like a Dog"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get a car and some gas

    Cons

    When hired, you are told you are a salesperson, you become a Service person working on dirty dish machines, you must know how to wipe, 110,220,480 volts, and troubleshoot electrical problems, Plumbing skills are also a must, your suits and ties will get filthy, when you are laying on the ground under a dirty greasy dish machine, you will have to take care of 8-10 exsisting accounts a day, try to sell new business also, and Cover trouble calls at other restaurants, which may be an hour away, if you sell a new account, you are expected to install it, without much help as they got rid of the Servicemen in 09, so now you spend at least a half a day installing your new account, which takes time away from your 8-10 accounts, and sales calls, now remember you are on Call 365/7/24, so when your at your kids game, or your daughters birth, or your Dads funeral, you have to go take care of Ecolab customers, and you get no extra pay or OT pay, and when on Vacation, you must get someone to cover your Calls, and you must cover theirs, also any open territory’s you must cover all calls at No extra pay, if you read other reviews, they all relate to the same things, management is horrible, you have no personal life, and it’s getting worse, also HUGE turn over, I worked 20 years, and finally left for a less stressful job, and a happy wife, If you do take the job, you will be gung ho for a month or 2, then the reality of working 24/7 set in, and if your female, watch out it’s the Good Ole Boys will be Boys Network.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2018-08-31

    Ecolab Response

    September 5, 2018HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We strive to provide a safe environment as well as comprehensive and market-competitive benefits that meets the needs of our associates and their families. An inclusive culture is really important to us, and we work hard to offer a variety of programs and trainings to support associate advancement. We welcome your feedback and take it seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time

    Pros

    Great Experienced, learned a lot when it comes to electrical and plumbing.

    Cons

    No Life! you literally work 24/7, really stressful, not for everyone

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2018-08-03

    Ecolab Response

    August 8, 2018HR Communications

    Thanks for your feedback. Fostering a positive culture and employee experience is important to us. We recognize that we can always improve and appreciate your review.

    Continue reading
  3. "Pest control Technician / Utility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pest Control Technician in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Spacious Service Vehicle, state of the art equipment

    Cons

    Keys for accounts, micromanagement, work is practically 24/7 for those that work at night.

    Ecolab2018-05-22

    Ecolab Response

    May 24, 2018HR Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Territory manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Gatlinburg, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time

    Pros

    Benefits. Co-workers. Company car

    Cons

    No loyalty. Management not in touch with actual day to day, or bigger picture. You are on call 24/7 Some people can handle it , some cant

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2018-04-26

    Ecolab Response

    May 2, 2018HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. We're always working to improve the employee experience and are committed to encouraging a meaningful career for our employees. We appreciate your review and take it seriously.

    Continue reading
  5. "Route Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RSM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is good, 401k is good, DM Great! Co-workers awesome!

    Cons

    First off why are Route managers payed 2.5% bonus and TM’s given 8%. I get left taking care of laundry accounts aligned to me expected to sell the same monthly promotions and asked to care take open TM territory’s but I’m payed less! All this on top of having the same budget increase. Totally unfair! As someone who gets stuck taking care of laundry and dish machine leases laundry issues are rarely a 911 issue and can wait, where as dish machine down is urgent for all restaurants and causes a higher workload and stress. But once again your co-workers who generate less revenue for the company get payed $3000 more than you at the end of the year. Work life balance terrible, high stress. “Innovation” which leads to too many different parts needed for all of the different dish machines that you take care of. It is nearly impossible to keep up with your inventory to make sure you have everything you need on top of taking care of your customers. On call 24/7. I constantly have to skip the little things like replacing old dispensers and wall charts and making sure the Ecolab brand looks good just to keep up (this drives me crazy).

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2018-04-05

    Ecolab Response

    April 13, 2018HR Communications

    Thanks for your review. Our employees are important to us, and your feedback is helpful as we evaluate ways to improve the employee experience. Please consider sharing your concerns with your manager or HR partner if you have not already.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - "Leiter Events, Marketing und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit" in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Liked the work.. and the accounts.

    Cons

    Didnt like working Day,, Nights,, Weekends... Holidays... 24-7 phone going off.....

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2018-04-08

    Ecolab Response

    April 13, 2018HR Communications

    Thanks for taking time to share your feedback. It helps as we explore ways to improve the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good products and equipment with a strong International and National Sales Contracts. Up to 70-80% of your business is already contracted. If you have a Sales Territory in a prosperous area you can make fair money but Ecolab will want to split your Sales Territory after a certain Sales Numbers are met and you have to rebuild your Sales. I was hired away from a competitor company for a South Texas Territory Management position from 1993-1998.

    Cons

    Extreme hours. You are on call 24/7 to the Restaurant, Hospital, Hospitality Industry. Excessive Paper work on every Sales/Service call. At the end of a 10-12 hour day you must complete the required reports.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2018-02-23

    Ecolab Response

    March 5, 2018HR Communications

    The wellbeing of our associates is very important to us. We appreciate your feedback as we consider how we can improve the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "An honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provide you with a company car, computer and tools. They do provide fairly decent training for their products. Hands on training for 3 months before being put into a territory on your own. Pretty decent support system, the experienced guys will help out if you need it, and you can always call the hotline for assistance.

    Cons

    You are always on-call, and in Vegas, that is 24/7, as many properties do not close. You are expected to crawl around in disgusting kitchens, wearing slacks and a button up (with a TIE), installing dishmachines and equipment. They don't provide nearly enough safety equipment. They don't care about actually saving customers money, in fact, if you do that (by lowering chemical dilution rates), they will get on you because you are bringing in less revenue. They have very unethical practices, and favor those with seniority, regardless of how terrible of employees they are. They lack leadership, they promote based off of your sales and how much you drink the Kool-Aid, and not based on actual leadership ability. They claim you have a flexible schedule, but you really don't. Pay is abysmal, and in order to make decent money, you would need to work 14 hours a day... unless you are handed a pristine territory that is worth a few million dollars (not going to happen). Promotions have no rhyme or reason, they just promote people based off their good ol boy system.... Usually a Territory Manager moving to District Manager someday, or a Street Sales Rep... but some people in the good ol boy system will skip 2 or 3 levels and end up in a much more lucrative position without "putting in the work"... making it yet again, inconsistent. Antiquated technology for prospecting, and refuse to listen to better ideas.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2017-12-13
  9. "Distributor sales development manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution Sales Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom and flexibility. Large sense of empowerment. Rewarding if you put the time and effort in.

    Cons

    24/7 business, so you can be called out at 9:30 at night if there’s an emergency. In the DSDM roll you don’t have that problem though.

    Ecolab2017-12-01
  10. "Pure Force Working Conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a job until another one comes along.

    Cons

    1st let me say.......I still work for the company so I'm not holding a grudge....I just speaking the truth. No constant schedule. Pay is terrible....they leave you in the dark on exactly how you are paid. No employee understand or can tell you exactly how they are paid.....just pick one and ask. You have to cover all open routes with no extra pay. You work 7 days a week covering weekend duty. ( this is against all labor laws) Your expected to take call 24-7 . If you receive a urgent call at 9:00 pm, you are expected to go service this customer. And the kicker is..........your territory is HUGE so the service call could be three hours away. Management is terrible.....no people management skills at all. They talk all this crap about leadership and promoting when it's just a cover to get you to do their job. I'm here to tell you ......promotions are few and far between. There is so much more but I will end with this. Just find a Sales and Service Route Manager and ask him. I say him because they do not hire women for these jobs. My Advice...look elsewhere. Turnover is terrible. I've been with the company a little over 3 years and I'm top of the seniority list. The company has a year round 3 week training program in Mn. because they can't keep people.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2017-12-12
Viewing 11 - 20 of 79 Reviews
Previous PageNext Page