Ecolab "call 24 7" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ecolab Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Ecolab Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Doug Baker Jr.
Doug Baker Jr.
1,055 Ratings
  1. "Service Specialists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company Vehicle, Flexible schedule, good benefits

    Cons

    Always an open route or more that overburdens the service technicians. 24/7 fast paced operation.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2017-09-23
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Pest District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    fair benefits, great retirement/ 401 k plan

    Cons

    Before this review is taken with a grain of salt, let me say that for the first 5-6 years I was employed here, I bled Ecolab blue and I would tell everyone I came into contact with that this was the BEST company that I ever worked for and they would have to blast me out of here. However, since about 2012-2013, that all started to change and Ecolab is NOT the great ethical place that they would have you to believe. Upper management within the division is full of liars and backstabbers who would rob their grandmothers and sacrifice their children to cover their own rear ends. Work life balance is a MYTH. As a manager it is 24/ 7/ 365 on call period. Time off for vacation is nonexistent. Pay plan for field management is not commensurate with the job requirements. Ecolab has lost sight of what made the pest division great in the first place. They no longer hire and promote the best talent for positions. They hire and promote through the "good ole boy system". The field training for service specialists sucks at best as the training is not real world and new service specialist are immediately overwhelmed when they are assigned to their routes. The new service specialist pay plan is also a joke. Some of the districts are so large, the managers need to spend nights and in some cases, weeks away from their families if they have open routes in a remote part of the district.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2017-08-16
  3. Helpful (10)

    "If you enjoy call center work, this is for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Provides all computer equipment needed for remote work. Vacation accrual and benefits from day 1. Decent pay for this type of work.

    Cons

    Typical call center work - lots of angry callers and high stress environment. Micromanagement and emphasis is on quick call times and metrics, not service. 24/7/365 work environment means you're scheduled to work on all holidays. Need to request holidays, Fridays and Mondays off 6 months in advance. Different break and lunch schedule daily. Sometimes lunch break is over 5 hours into shift. Lack of consistent answers between managers and CSA help line. Forced to field calls about credit issues, but no access to full credit history.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2017-05-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time

    Pros

    Company Car, monthly allowance, get to drive around and meet new people

    Cons

    you are on call 24/7, when they call you have to stop what your doing and run

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2017-05-03
  5. "Territory Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ecolab full-time

    Pros

    Very flexible and great vision for the company.

    Cons

    On call 24/7 and get TONS of calls.

    Ecolab2017-03-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "BEWARE if considering NYC Territory Manager position in NYC!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time

    Pros

    Company vehicle for personal use.

    Cons

    Not much, if any time to use vehicle for personal use as work/life balance is virtually non existent in the NYC District! Obviously can't speak for other Ecolab positions in other cities. In NYC, the goals and expectations for Territory Manager are unrealistic and therefore unattainable, unless you are possibly willing to work literally 24/7, and even then...The skill sets required for this position are as far apart as possible. You are expected to be a top sales executive while having the skills of an experienced plumber, electrician, carpenter, etc., and you are expected to excel in all of those capacities. I read in reviews before I interviewed for this position that other's before me felt that they were mislead. I too, felt the same way. The classroom training they provide is minimal at best and the "in field" training, specifically in NYC, is virtually non existent due to the nature of the business of NYC restaurants and hotels and constant open territories. If you have all of the skill sets they require and don't mind not having much, if any kind of a personal life, this job is for you. If not....STAY AWAY!

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2017-02-28
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Once a great job, going down hill faster than hot snot out of a chrome nostril"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Service Specialist in Norwood, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home. Bosses are so lazy and disconnected you will never see them as long as your customers don't call and complain about you.

    Cons

    On call 24/7 They have a poor understanding of individual state laws pertaining to employee rights. Such as sick time, vacation carry over etc. In response to the new legislation regarding salary exempt status they made everyone hourly with a variable rate and used it as an oppurtunity to lower wages by about 10% for the same production we were doing even though they posted over 6 billion in profits in 2015. They have a belief that management doesnt need to know pest control, just how to manage people They cater to corporate customers offering free service off of our sweat. This hurts more now with the new variable rate that is tied into our invoiving production. Run, dont walk.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2016-12-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Route Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time

    Pros

    Company vehicle, parts and tools.

    Cons

    24/7 on call, you will be a installer, a sales manager, a technician, plumber, electrician for one price.

    Ecolab2016-11-28
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Don't walk away....run!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Specialist Pest Division 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Take home work vehicle,cell phone.

    Cons

    Everything else. Way to many negatives to write here. For starters,they do not value the customer service aspect of the SERVICE Specialist position. They recently went to a nonsensical pay system where you have to reach a targeted dollar amount for every hour you work in order to make a good living ....Really? In what universe is that a good idea?so,the more hours it takes me to run my accounts the less I make,even though the reason that I spend extra time is in order to take care of the customers problems like they pay us to,or to drive to accounts hours away from where I live? Oh,wait,to be paid well we have to sell extra products and services even though we are not salesmen and dispite the fact that we do the dirty work,dealing with dangerous chemicals and the creepiest of the crawleys?Really?? Throw in the facts that they expect you to be in call 24\7 for free,there is no time for literally ANYTHING else in your life except Ecolab,you get Looney toon pages at any hour,management is clueless and\ or dishonest with the employees,a new person will work themselves to death for peanuts because they will have to take everyone's infestations while these same people lie to them and say they are their friends,they set you up to fail,the list goes on and on. This is a dirty,unsafe,way underpaid and under underappreciated,stressful,laborious,nonstop 24\7 nightmare of a job that has taken almost all of the joy out of my life.......

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2016-11-12
  10. Helpful (12)

    "ZERO work/life balance! Pest elimination division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pest Control Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are acceptable, able to work independently without a supervisor breathing down your neck, company service vehicle (Don't refer to it as a truck!) provided.

    Cons

    Let me start out saying that once you sign on with this company it is a 24/7 job and your home life will become nonexistent so if you're married or have children this is probably not the place for you! 7 week training program is very thorough but once out on your own you are left to fend for yourself, no help whatsoever from coworkers/management, this may be in my district only, not sure about other regions. Promises made on a regular basis from management that are empty and never followed through with. Pay scale is very confusing so you really never know how much you actually make hourly/annually. No one here at this company seems to care if you're job is done correctly just as long as the invoices are ran by end of month you're good to go no matter how poorly you perform at your job duties and that will be difficult for some to swallow if you take pride in your work! Corporate America at its finest !

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2016-10-12
Found 79 reviews