Ecolab "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ecolab Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Ecolab Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Doug Baker Jr.
Doug Baker Jr.
1,042 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance is not so good(in 141 reviews)

  • "On call 24/7 M-Th, 6-8 weekends per year ( with NO additional compensation)(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Love this Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, teammates, culture and work-life balance. It’s all good.

    Cons

    It can be too lax from time to time

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2020-02-11

    Ecolab Response

    February 18, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback! Your work is important to us and we appreciate your ongoing impact and willingness to take on meaningful challenges.

    Continue reading
  2. "Account manager pest elimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Ecolab

    Pros

    The earning potential is up to you, company vehicle, benefits, you make your own schedule and build relationships with customers.

    Cons

    Work life balance is poor, hard to get help, vacation coverage is hard to come by and weekend duty.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2020-02-13

    Ecolab Response

    February 19, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. Please know we are committed to encouraging a fulfilling and meaningful career for our employees. We welcome your feedback and we're always looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good Products, No Idea How to Market Them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company car, decent health benefits

    Cons

    work/life balance, marketing needs to be improved

    Ecolab2020-02-11

    Ecolab Response

    February 18, 2020HR Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can participate on multiple, enriching professional adventures that will make you become the best you can be.

    Cons

    Still immature in terms of processes, systems, documentation, and work-life balance.

    Ecolab2020-01-24

    Ecolab Response

    January 31, 2020HR Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Tough job with high potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Service Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ecolab full-time

    Pros

    If you work very hard, you can earn a lot of extra money.

    Cons

    Dog eat dog environment and poor work/life balance.

    Ecolab2020-01-21

    Ecolab Response

    January 31, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. "Good job but need to pay for performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and vacation time

    Cons

    Middle management lack of support

    Ecolab2020-01-14

    Ecolab Response

    January 16, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for reaching out. Please connect with your HR business partner to discuss your concerns.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great long term company, little mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fair compensation Good benefits Great expertise Flexible work schedule Company Car

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance Too much micromanagement of corporate accounts

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2019-12-27

    Ecolab Response

    January 3, 2020HR Communications

    This is helpful feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We encourage you to connect with your manager or HR partner to discuss your concerns.

    Continue reading
  9. "No training for early engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Engineer in Odessa, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Decent pay, but does not match what others make in the west texas area.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2019-11-18

    Ecolab Response

    November 20, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience. An inclusive culture is really important to us, and we work hard to provide a variety of programs and trainings to support associate advancement. We recognize we can always improve, and we’re committed to this work for the long term. We encourage you to share your concerns with your manager or HR partner if you have not already.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Very Poor Work Life Balance. Special kind of person needed to stay here long term."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will be working with some very bright and talented people. Health benefits aren't great but they're there. The industry you work in, does make a difference. That is satisfying. Company car that can be used for personal use as well. Good company to pick up a lot of skills and knowledge. Room for upward career mobility if you are okay with working day and night in this thankless profession for a decade. Some customers are awesome. Most are very demanding though unfortunately.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive if you live in a more expensive area. In the interview the job will be described as a "sales job" or "account manager" job but you will spend 85% of your time carrying pails around, throwing chemicals into cooling towers, and acting as a plumber. You "Make you own schedule" BUT have to work 14 hours per day, on the weekends, and on vacation to "stay caught up" or as management would say "To handle your business" Nalco has a customer first mentality. This results in high turnover of employees and abuse of employees time to meet unrealistic demands of customers. Salary + commission sounds nice but corporate will keep adding additional tasks to your plate to the point where you can barely find the time to sell and get that over target commission. Most of you time that you could be selling will be spent writing reports, responding to emergencies that aren't actually emergencies, and doing difficult to manage spreadsheets. They "Train" you but they don't. You will have to cram about 10,000 pages of material in 6 months then when you actually have a territory assigned to you none of the information you learned will be useful so you pretty much have to learn by trial and error. Company culture is atrocious- You are expected to eat, breath, and crap Ecolab. Anything less and you are viewed as a lazy and disgusting worker, even if your sales territory is up in revenue and profits constantly. Terrible work life balance. Taking work home. Anxiety thinking about work before bed. They will not directly say it but it is implied that furthering your education and having a life outside of work is frowned upon. Chemical exposure- since the "sales" job is actually 85% service technician you will need to be careful to long term exposure to chemicals. I have noticed a lot of the older people in the industry get "sick". You will get up to 50-100+ emails per day and will be expected to respond to all of them within a rolling 24 hours in addition to the multiple hours of driving you will be doing, hands on service, meetings, and reports you will need to complete. Every process you do is extremely tedious and overly complicated. It will take you an hour to produce a quote for a $500 piece of equipment for example.

    Continue reading
    Ecolab2019-10-30

    Ecolab Response

    November 7, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. Safety is core to Ecolab’s purpose to make the world cleaner, safer and healthier, and we take concerns regarding the wellbeing of our employees very seriously. Ecolab’s products and programs are developed in accordance with stringent safety and sustainability standards, and we consider how each solution minimizes the use of natural resources and improves safety, from sourcing to manufacturing, to use and disposal. Our products also are evaluated according to widely accepted health and environmental safety criteria. We provide a number of avenues for current and former employees to share any concerns they may have. Please connect with us directly at GlobalCompliance@Ecolab.com regarding your specific concerns so we can investigate further. Please know we are committed to encouraging a fulfilling and meaningful career including comprehensive and market-competitive benefits to meet the needs of our associates and their families, a variety of programs and trainings to support associate advancement, and supportive managers that play an important role the associate experience. We recognize we can always improve, and we’re committed to this work for the long term. We also encourage you to share your concerns with your manager or HR partner to discuss them further.

    Continue reading
  11. "Good Company. Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - District Manager 

    I have been working at Ecolab full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are good and you can be set up for a nice retirement

    Cons

    Work life balance does not exist

    Ecolab2019-11-05

    Ecolab Response

    November 7, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We welcome your feedback and we're always looking for ways to improve the employee experience. We encourage you to connect with your manager or HR partner to discuss your concerns.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 221 reviews