Econ One Research Reviews

Updated Jan 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Econ One Research CEO Lisa Skylar   (no image)
Lisa Skylar
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Wonderful People

    Dec 5, 2020 - Senior Economist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Challenging work environment and brilliant colleagues

    Cons

    Marketing and advertising could be stronger for Sr. Economists looking to build a client base

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Econ One prides itself on excellent work product and is very supportive of professional growth/development

    Jun 24, 2020 - Managing Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am extremely grateful to call Econ One my "home away from home" since 2008. The company invests significant time and money in the growth/development of its employees. As a result, I have learned how to communicate with clients more assertively and proactively. Additionally, I have had the good fortune to work with extremely smart people in which we have made our quantitative work product fun and exciting. This has allowed me to advance in my career and ultimately form my own practice within the firm.

    Cons

    There is a steep learning curve for people who are new to litigation consulting. In this line of work, it is invaluable to (i) commit to the project(s), (ii) work efficiently, and (iii) communicate clearly both to team members and clients. Those expectations can be overwhelming for some employees. At the same time, the folks who commit to the process have built long, steady careers at Econ One.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent Co.

    Sep 25, 2020 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is an open-door policy; many of the projects that you tackle on a day-to-day basis are quite interesting; the office dynamic is friendly, and as long as you do your work everyone gets along.

    Cons

    Each economic group functions differently, meaning pay structure and work schedule differ; you need higher academic degrees for further advancement with more responsibility; work-life balance varies based on the number of projects being undertaken.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Decent Company for Economic Consulting

    Jun 25, 2020 - Senior Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Econ One functions largely in separate project teams with some collaboration between the teams. Therefore, one person's experience may differ from others. - For consulting, a decent work/life balance - Research in a variety of industries, which keeps work interesting - I've enjoyed my interactions with almost all my colleagues - During COVID, company has actually felt more like a single company rather than each project team being a separate company

    Cons

    - While there are one or two examples of non-PHDs reaching higher levels of the company, it can be difficult to tell if that's an option - Given it's a small company, sometimes I feel like there's a little less flexibility than I would like. It would nice to be able to do office exchanges, work from different offices, have remote work options (outside of COVID), etc. - The bonus system can feel like a bit of a black box - Starting vacation is somewhat low

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    An organization of integrity and character

    Jun 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - no bureaucracy / no office politics - honest, direct, and supportive colleagues - integrity and strength of character was revealed during unprecedented public health and social upheaval in 2020, through being flexible and supportive of employee needs and concerns regarding work conditions, maintaining regular and effective communication regarding evolving business conditions, prioritizing community building and professional growth, and beginning a conversation to ensure the organization is acting in a way that reflects shared values.

    Cons

    - work load can vary, though this is more a bug of the industry than it is of the enterprise.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great team environment

    Jun 23, 2020 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Best part is the people: not only you can learn a lot from them, but also they care about your career and are very approachable - Work/Life balance: Econ One cares about you and offer a good work-life balance - Opportunities to improve data analytical & programming skills

    Cons

    - Some weeks can be challenging with long work hours - Work may not be balanced across the staffs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good team environment

    Jun 24, 2020 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Very smart team and supportive upper management - Great place to learn & grow - Good orientation and training

    Cons

    - Work load varies a lot - Most of the company uses/prefers work product in SAS or STATA but there is some movement towards more contemporary programming languages

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Welcoming, collaborative workplace

    Jun 23, 2020 - Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Econ One provides a collaborative work environment. My input from an entry-level position is always welcome. I've had the opportunity to work with lots of different managing directors from different offices.

    Cons

    There are sometimes lulls in workload, but that's typical of any consulting firm.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A place that values honesty & integrity

    Jun 23, 2020 - Senior Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Open door policy - Ethical leadership - Great team / teamwork - Compensation & benefits

    Cons

    - Work/life balance could be improved

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Jun 18, 2020 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely talented peers, detailed and challenging work

    Cons

    Work hours can extend past normal business times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

Popular Careers with Econ One Research Job Seekers

Economic Analyst
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Econ One Research? Share Your Experiences

Econ One Research logo
or