KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Econ One Research

Engaged Employer

Econ One Research

Add a Review

Econ One Research Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 45 reviews

4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Econ One Research CEO Lisa Skylar   (no image)
Lisa Skylar
14 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

357

130 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Incredibly smart, flexible management

    Dec 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    firm is inclusive, welcoming, knows how to hire good people, and gives employees autonomy.

    Cons

    honestly none! the work sometimes ebbs and flows and deadlines can be tough, but such is life in professional services.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    nice office environment

    Jan 18, 2022 - Economist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are intelligent, full benefits

    Cons

    work stops every time clients are in mediation

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great People, Complex Work

    Jul 27, 2021 - Senior Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Able to work with top tier employees Complex, multi-faceted work keeps you engaged Great pay and office location

    Cons

    Workload can sometimes be more than a standard week if a case is particularly busy. However, you will often know this ahead of time and can plan accordingly.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company if you love data

    Oct 14, 2021 - Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone in the office are super friendly - Many opportunities to work with diverse datasets - A lot to learn from managers

    Cons

    - Hours can be long

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Econ One prides itself on excellent work product and is very supportive of professional growth/development

    Jun 24, 2020 - Managing Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am extremely grateful to call Econ One my "home away from home" since 2008. The company invests significant time and money in the growth/development of its employees. As a result, I have learned how to communicate with clients more assertively and proactively. Additionally, I have had the good fortune to work with extremely smart people in which we have made our quantitative work product fun and exciting. This has allowed me to advance in my career and ultimately form my own practice within the firm.

    Cons

    There is a steep learning curve for people who are new to litigation consulting. In this line of work, it is invaluable to (i) commit to the project(s), (ii) work efficiently, and (iii) communicate clearly both to team members and clients. Those expectations can be overwhelming for some employees. At the same time, the folks who commit to the process have built long, steady careers at Econ One.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Decent Company for Economic Consulting

    Jun 25, 2020 - Senior Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Econ One functions largely in separate project teams with some collaboration between the teams. Therefore, one person's experience may differ from others. - For consulting, a decent work/life balance - Research in a variety of industries, which keeps work interesting - I've enjoyed my interactions with almost all my colleagues - During COVID, company has actually felt more like a single company rather than each project team being a separate company

    Cons

    - While there are one or two examples of non-PHDs reaching higher levels of the company, it can be difficult to tell if that's an option - Given it's a small company, sometimes I feel like there's a little less flexibility than I would like. It would nice to be able to do office exchanges, work from different offices, have remote work options (outside of COVID), etc. - The bonus system can feel like a bit of a black box - Starting vacation is somewhat low

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent Co.

    Sep 25, 2020 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is an open-door policy; many of the projects that you tackle on a day-to-day basis are quite interesting; the office dynamic is friendly, and as long as you do your work everyone gets along.

    Cons

    Each economic group functions differently, meaning pay structure and work schedule differ; you need higher academic degrees for further advancement with more responsibility; work-life balance varies based on the number of projects being undertaken.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Wonderful People

    Dec 5, 2020 - Senior Economist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Challenging work environment and brilliant colleagues

    Cons

    Marketing and advertising could be stronger for Sr. Economists looking to build a client base

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    An organization of integrity and character

    Jun 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - no bureaucracy / no office politics - honest, direct, and supportive colleagues - integrity and strength of character was revealed during unprecedented public health and social upheaval in 2020, through being flexible and supportive of employee needs and concerns regarding work conditions, maintaining regular and effective communication regarding evolving business conditions, prioritizing community building and professional growth, and beginning a conversation to ensure the organization is acting in a way that reflects shared values.

    Cons

    - work load can vary, though this is more a bug of the industry than it is of the enterprise.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great team environment

    Jun 23, 2020 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Best part is the people: not only you can learn a lot from them, but also they care about your career and are very approachable - Work/Life balance: Econ One cares about you and offer a good work-life balance - Opportunities to improve data analytical & programming skills

    Cons

    - Some weeks can be challenging with long work hours - Work may not be balanced across the staffs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Econ One Research Reviews FAQs

Econ One Research has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 45 reviews left anonymously by employees. 89% of employees would recommend working at Econ One Research to a friend and 92% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Econ One Research employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Econ One Research. This rating has improved by 14% over the last 12 months.

89% of Econ One Research employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Econ One Research 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Econ One Research to be culture, career development, coworkers and the cons to be management, benefits, compensation.

Popular Careers with Econ One Research Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Econ One Research? Share Your Experiences

or

Econ One Research Photos

+ Add Photo
Econ One Research photo of: Econ One climbs the US Bank Tower.
Econ One Research photo of: A quick look around.
Econ One Research photo of: Welcome to our DC office.
Econ One Research photo of: Meeting in our DC office.
Econ One Research photo of: Econ One gives back holiday 2015 party.

Have you worked here?

See All Photos