Edelman Reviews | Glassdoor

Edelman Reviews

Updated December 4, 2017
359 reviews

Filter

Filter

US - All Cities

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Edelman President and CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
323 Ratings

359 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The company culture is amazing-- people work hard and care about their work but have a great work/life balance (in 89 reviews)

  • Great company to work for; smart people, great work benefits (in 105 reviews)

Cons
  • Work/life balance could be better for full time employees (in 230 reviews)

  • The pay is just sufficient despite the long hours you work (in 156 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Great Intern community-about 5-8 interns at a time in the office.
    Great community and ability to attend events
    Snacks and drinks provided in office

    Cons

    No parking or bus pass

    Edelman Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Edelman

    Thanks for your review! I'm happy to hear you found your internship to be so valuable. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR


  2. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Super empowering place that allows you to work with the biggest brands/Fortune 500 companies if you show interest. Being a global firm, you can work in offices around the globe when traveling.

    Cons

    Communication from leadership to junior level staff could improve.

    Advice to Management

    Being the biggest and arguably best firm in the world, Edelman should create strong retention programs to help prevent other firms from successfully recruiting staff.

    Edelman Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I couldn't agree more about the incredible, global opportunities that can present themselves at an entrepreneurial, worldwide firm like Edelman. I'm so happy you're... More

  3. "great experience and an even greater team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Communications Intern in Orlando, FL
    Former Intern - Communications Intern in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You learn a lot and will be challenged. Excellent work environment and definitely a work environment that promotes team collaboration.

    Cons

    Can be a bit stressful at times (but ask for help and you will receive it!)

    Edelman Response

    Nov 15, 2017 – Edelman

    Thanks for your review and I'm so glad to hear you had a great experience! Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great People in SF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Creative Director in San Francisco, CA
    Current Contractor - Creative Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Edelman as a contractor

    Pros

    Good group of people who do great work. Employees treated well and as far as freelance goes, they always pay on time.

    Cons

    Sometimes they run out of La Croix and you have to drink Talking Rain.

    Edelman Response

    Sep 8, 2017 – Edelman

    It was such a pleasure to read your review! We'll do our best to keep your favorite bubbles flowing. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Collaborative and creative place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of smart and creative people. Welcoming and supportive environment.

    Cons

    Open floor plan may be less ideal for some.


  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Marketing in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Vice President Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great people, fun work and the ability to as autonomous as you like!

    Cons

    operational processes need to be streamlined

    Edelman Response

    Jul 30, 2017 – Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I, too, love the New York office, their people and the way teams are managed to give employees of all levels autonomy and a fun working environment. I'm so glad to hear you... More


  7. "Billing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Billing Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots of great perks from happy hours, to transportation reimbursement, gym membership reimbursement, great benefits 401k, health, vision, dental. Great family oriented culture to work for. Flexible with job relocation.

    Cons

    Really cannot think of anything. I was going to say pay, however I must be honest that you get paid what you earn. If you want to get paid more you really have to have a great attitude, show up on time, turn out great work consistently. I really wouldn't expect anything other than this in order to be compensated satisfactorily anywhere else, so why not here?

    Advice to Management

    Reward you infrastructure departments, they are the life line of the entire company worldwide. AR, AP, Billing, Contracts, Legal, etc.

    Edelman Response

    Jul 12, 2017 – Edelman

    Thanks for your great review and I'm really happy to hear how many wonderful things you're experiencing in your career. Be sure to let HR know if anything changes. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director... More

  8. "Fun company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Current Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Warm environment, cool office space, everyone is friendly

    Cons

    Long application process, not stellar pay


  9. "Great Culture and Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun culture.
    Great, smart team of account managers and creatives.

    Cons

    Bandwidth is limited sometimes.
    Long hours.


  10. Helpful (14)

    "Great company for smart, hard working people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I get to work with the smartest, most creative people in the business.

    If you know how to ask for opportunities - and can tie ideas back to how it will help the business - you'll succeed here.

    If you're willing to work longer hours for big new business opportunities or raise your hand for new opportunities, this is the place for you.

    If you're aggressive about finding a mentor and learning, you'll love Edelman.

    The Edelman brand has great cache.

    The network is huge - and the name recognition is excellent.

    Cons

    I am disappointed to see some of the other reviews; the experiences they describe are so different than mine. I do think Edelman is only for a certain type of person. No one is going to give you a roadmap for your career at Edelman - you really need to carve your own path.

    Edelman Response

    Apr 27, 2017 – Edelman

    Thanks for your glowing review! I agree; Edelman is a special place with endless opportunities for proactive, hard-working people. I appreciate your feedback. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, U.S... More


Showing 560 of 1,695 reviews
Reset Filters