Edelman Reviews | Glassdoor

Edelman Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 911 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
703 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Very Happy Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diversity of work, large client list, flexibility and good work/life balance, fantastic people to work with

    Cons

    Some processes are out of date and there are times when work can suffer due to unrealistic expectations or turnarounds or low budgets. But we do our best, always.

    Advice to Management

    Reward the people that put the most heart into the company. They should be rewarded and feel valued. Work harder to match average salaries. Otherwise, you risk losing some of your best.

    Edelman2019-02-28

    Edelman Response

    March 11, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that your experience has hit on many of the strengths I love about Edelman too - our flexiblity, access to great work and amazing colleagues. I also appreciate the advice you've left. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

  2. "Great experience, a ton of learning and lifelong connections!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team is amazing, resources to learn and be successful and opportunity to travel, work on different accounts, and live abroad.

    Cons

    No cons. Excellent place to work!

    Edelman2019-09-08
  3. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really great team that allows you to work with a multitude of interesting clients and projects.

    Cons

    Very little training for the tasks and duties expected which requires a lot of self education and upper management isn't always available for questions.

    Edelman2019-09-03
  4. "I had a great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are great people there and some people aren’t lucky enough to get to work with them.

    Cons

    Can be a disconnect between upper management and staff

    Edelman2019-08-30
  5. "Great Experience; Excellent start in PR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engaging team leaders, great clients

    Cons

    Strict hierarchy, not always a lot of opportunity for travel.

    Advice to Management

    Management on the VP level should carve out time to sit down and meet with more junior staff on their team to understand their priorities and personal goals within the team.

    Edelman2019-07-17

    Edelman Response

    September 3, 2019Edelman

    Thank you for your feedback. I agree with you that managers and leaders should take time to understand your personal goals. Your upcoming review meeting is a good opportunity for this but don’t forget that you can request a conversation like this at any time and I encourage you to! ...

    Show More
  6. "Overall Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interns work on actual client work.

    Cons

    It would be nice if interns got health benefits.

    Edelman2019-01-24

    Edelman Response

    February 11, 2019Edelman

    I'm so pleased to read your review and that experience you are having as an intern. You are the future of our firm and the industry. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

  7. "Come to LA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I'm in LA. Great leadership team. Great client list. Good momentum. Transparent about performance and what is happening in the network and the industry. We're proud of our performance.

    Cons

    Pace is fast and at times can be hard to keep everyone up with expectations. It's hard to quickly access new resources and hiring in our market can be slow. Seems to be hard to find good talent to join in the market.

    Advice to Management

    Keep talking to us about priorities and reward us for our wins.

    Edelman2019-01-11

    Edelman Response

    February 11, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your thoughtful review. The LA office is a wonderful community and it's great to hear what you're experiencing as an employee there. I agree with you that finding excellent talent is a challenge, and not just in L.A.. Rest assured that part of why it takes time is ensuring ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Best Global Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Edelman is objectively the best global communications firm thanks to its privately-held structure, positive culture and willingness to celebrate high-achievers. - The D.C. and NYC offices both possess great client bases, especially in the financial sector. - When it comes to Financial Communications, it helps that Richard Edelman supports the practice - Legit opportunities for advancement - Thoughtful... managers when they have time to get to know you one-on-one - Fair compensation and willingness to give meaningful raises when promoted - Depending on the practice you're in, Edelman will invest in professional development (e.g. conferences and trips)

    Show More

    Cons

    - Edelman is probably too big right now at nearly 6,000 people - Too much focus on revenue over margin - Lack of focus on the basics (e.g. media relations, etc.) - Often times, weak senior talent at the VP-Practice Chair level doesn't get discovered as incompetent until after departures - FinComms leadership can sometimes be aloof and FinServ leadership seems to almost always lack the right sector expertise -... Financial practice pays 15%-25% less than boutique peers

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of the public relations basics given Edelman will never be an advertising firm. Be bold in terms of investing in the next generation of talent while cutting ties with overpaid senior staff that do not possess business generation skills.

    Edelman2018-09-11

    Edelman Response

    September 20, 2018Edelman

    Thanks for your thoughtful feedback! It's clear you experienced some of the great qualities of Edelman that I also value - positive culture, meaningful rewards, impressive client rosters, thoughtful management and more. While business growth will continue to be a driver for us, I ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Fast paced. Worth it if you can keep up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paid Media Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You learn so much, so fast. - 2-3 years in an ageny like this is like 5 years in-house - You get accustomed work under pressure - GM and leadership are great. - Solid benefits -Location is prime

    Cons

    - Hours are long. But if you spend your time efficiently you are out at 5. - If you don't put in the effortand can't keep up, it WILL be noticed and you won't last long here. - Pay could be better but is still competitive - There are alot of supervisors but not alot of mid-entry level. Can feel like alot of eyes are watching you when in reality they can't perform the same tasks. - The desk areas gives off a solid... Office-Space vibe. Can be very dull.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make all departments evenly manned. Mandate office wide certifications on all of the common software used around the office so people actually understand what is going on in the other areas

    Edelman2018-09-02

    Edelman Response

    September 10, 2018Edelman

    Thanks for your feedback! You clearly learned a lot and I hope your time here was fulfilling and enjoyable. I appreciate you taking the time to share some advice and insights. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -responsive CEO and management team -top class clients

    Cons

    -need more defined path to management and success for junior employees

    Edelman2018-08-02

    Edelman Response

    August 6, 2018Edelman

    Thanks for your comments! Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

Found 911 reviews