Edelman Reviews | Glassdoor

Edelman Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 911 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
704 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Very Happy Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diversity of work, large client list, flexibility and good work/life balance, fantastic people to work with

    Cons

    Some processes are out of date and there are times when work can suffer due to unrealistic expectations or turnarounds or low budgets. But we do our best, always.

    Advice to Management

    Reward the people that put the most heart into the company. They should be rewarded and feel valued. Work harder to match average salaries. Otherwise, you risk losing some of your best.

    Edelman2019-02-28

    Edelman Response

    March 11, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that your experience has hit on many of the strengths I love about Edelman too - our flexiblity, access to great work and amazing colleagues. I also appreciate the advice you've left. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director US HR

  2. "D.C. office has gone downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This place used to be great. I built my career here.

    Cons

    With new D.C. leadership, there is a new mentality that does not value individuality, just conformity. Emphasis is on speed and overworking, not quality,

    Edelman2019-09-14
  3. "Great experience, a ton of learning and lifelong connections!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team is amazing, resources to learn and be successful and opportunity to travel, work on different accounts, and live abroad.

    Cons

    No cons. Excellent place to work!

    Edelman2019-09-08
  4. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really great team that allows you to work with a multitude of interesting clients and projects.

    Cons

    Very little training for the tasks and duties expected which requires a lot of self education and upper management isn't always available for questions.

    Edelman2019-09-03
  5. "I had a great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are great people there and some people aren’t lucky enough to get to work with them.

    Cons

    Can be a disconnect between upper management and staff

    Edelman2019-08-30
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Awful leadership, toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You gain a great client roster and network. The name value helps prep you for your next move.

    Cons

    At Edelman, your concerns fall on deaf ears and bad behavior often gets rewarded. Politicking is what gets you far and you fake it until you make it.

    Advice to Management

    Raise your salaries for your junior staff members. Listen to their concerns.

    Edelman2019-08-27
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Edelman has a historically good reputation; company offers a lot of sick days that roll over

    Cons

    The vibe is very corporate feeling from the second you walk in the office. The overall compensation and benefits package is not competitive with the market. Leadership is gossipy and plays favorites. I would try to describe the culture, but there isn't one to speak of. HR and leadership are aware of the culture problems, but haven't done anything to address the issues over several months. Plans have been made, but... not action was taken. We were told the "employees are supposed to create the culture", but it is hard to do that with no resources or support. As an employee, you don't feel valued or empowered, but instead feel extremely replaceable. People are leaving this office in droves and positions are not being backfilled, resulting in team members without managers, uneven workloads and total confusion on plans for teams.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Needs to totally reset. Some serious leadership and management courses are needed. Start genuinely caring about your people and fostering a culture that empowers employees to grow within Edelman.

    Edelman2019-08-15

    Edelman Response

    September 3, 2019Edelman

    I'm sorry to read your post. I can start by telling you that leadership and HR care deeply about our employees and are always working towards improvement. I am confident that the local teams in your office are doing important work to progress against some of the issues you mention, ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some teams get exposure to interesting clients.

    Cons

    Edelman does not care about you as a whole person. Atmosphere is gossipy and catty. All they care about is how much work and money they can squeeze out of you. Regret making to transition to agency work from in house. No wonder we can't keep clients and can't keep up with our competitors. It is burnout for real, with none of the perks of other demanding jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Think about your employees as people... it's almost a 50% turnover rate.

    Edelman2019-08-13

    Edelman Response

    September 3, 2019Edelman

    I'm sorry to read your post and it sounds like a conversation with local HR is in order so we can understand more about your experience and what specifically is leading you to feel this way. I can assure you that the firm leaders and HR team who I work with regularly do very much ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Company spiraling into controlled disintegration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salaryman in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    they have a shower and bike rack and rooftop without wifi to discourage use

    Cons

    No opportunity for career growth here Salary is exceptionally low Don't expect a bonus or a raise generally

    Edelman2019-07-31

    Edelman Response

    September 3, 2019Edelman

    Thanks for your review. I'm glad you like the bike rack, but I consider it a problem if that's legitimately your highlight. Please discuss your career growth aspirations openly with your manager if you haven't already. Our industry is evolving quickly and it's rarely the case that ...

    Show More
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was able to build a large set of skills in a short amount of time while working at Edelman.

    Cons

    Frequent leadership changes can create stagnant working environments.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on senior leaders who are great independent contributors but poor managers.

    Edelman2019-07-24
Found 911 reviews