Edelman "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Edelman Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
758 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work/ life balance can be tough(in 264 reviews)

  • "Are there times when you're going to need to work some long hours or endure a heavy week and some weekend work(in 181 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Culture and Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun culture. Great, smart team of account managers and creatives.

    Cons

    Bandwidth is limited sometimes. Long hours.

    Edelman2017-06-01
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Great place to learn, but at what cost?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Account in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work. Good benefits Exposure to different clients and streams of work. Creative environment with creative problem solving. Overtime pay Edelman is successful for a reason.

    Cons

    Long hours + Low pay Poor culture; very passive aggressive to your face and VERY aggressive behind your back. This seems to be the case across different practices. No one really likes their job, even if they are quite good at it (which says a lot about how the company is run) VERY political Difficult to know who to trust across the practice High pressure the majority of the time Very much a "sink or swim"... culture Every assignment is NOT a high priority, but they are treated this way Leadership is lacking - you can be a strong leader without being mean or belittling people.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let me say this: Edelman is successful for a reason. The seniors leaders know how to achieve the bottom line, and offer creative solutions to complex problems. That is really cool, and I admire the commitment to creating high quality work. So if you want work here, go for it. But I do need to say it is NOT for everyone. So if you are unsure if you want to join or not, read the following. Edelman is in a weird... place right now and has a very strange environment. People aren't respected, management tends to turn their eyes away from people at the VP level on down, and they are very willing to do whatever it takes to "succeed." Often times, that results in employees being overworked and underappreciated. I've watched it happen with multiple people, seen people get chewed out publicly, heard people bad-mouth employees both at and below their level (for non-essential things I might add), and the list goes on. As an added note, the culture here makes one feel that if you're not "perfect" at your job, you feel really terrible about yourself. I don't know how or where that started, but if most people are honest, they will tell you that's true across the organization. That's just as true for an AAE as it is for a VP. Turnover is normal for agencies. I understand that, and agencies certainly are not for everyone; you have to be a specific kind of person to handle it. However, the turnover rate for Edelman is much higher than normal. The fact that many people are willing to leave Edelman before securing another job says it's not worth being here, despite doing successful work at a successful company. I'm quite thankful I was able to learn here. I know that I was fortunate to have a strong core team and really awesome manager, but that's really it. Everyone is pretty unhappy. Yes, there some great people at Edelman who are smart, talented and do amazing work, but it's not enough to keep many from walking out the door. Management, take a real look at your employees. Yes, an MD and AE will never be on the same level of knowledge and experience, but there's such a disconnect and lack of understanding that's leading even your most talented employees to leave. I'm not saying an agency shouldn't have turnover, and I understand the business need to hit revenue targets. Despite the fact I feel obligated to leave, I don't even necessarily regret working here. But I cannot emphasize enough that if you don't treat people well, it will bite you in the long run. For the sake of the company and for people's sanity, please just listen and do your part to help!

    Show More
    Edelman2019-05-29
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "A great place to learn, but was surprised by the low salary."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great access and mentors. A great place to learn.

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes, but it comes with the territory.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the mentorship, but please increase salaries.

    Edelman2019-04-02
  5. "Mixed experience but great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to mentor and work with smart people who are eager to learn and grow. Opportunity in learning and pushing your thinking with creative ideas. Get to work on cool and high-profile clients, including those that make positive change. Benefits are standard.

    Cons

    Unfortunately having a bad manager can make/break a situation for a team. Long hours guaranteed (agency life), but if you survive this you can tackle anything.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to support good leaders and be more in-tune in moving out poor ones.

    Edelman2018-11-01
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Good people, but that's it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun culture and smart, enthusiastic people.

    Cons

    - No work/life balance whatsoever. Expect long hours and weekends. - Shady clients. Don't work here if you want to make a positive difference in the world. - Demanding work environment. - High burnout rate. - Low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people when you see that entire teams are consistently overworked, and compensate them fairly. Take on clients that have some morality.

    Edelman2018-10-23
  7. "Pros/Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Benefits are great -CEO is amazing

    Cons

    -Long hours, everyone is over worked

    Edelman2018-09-20
  8. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman

    Pros

    great place to work, great culture and environment

    Cons

    long hours and the pay isn't the best

    Edelman2018-08-22
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great work experience, long hours, company culture/pay is so-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You'll gain tons of great work experience at Edelman. Top-notch clients, lots of specialty practices so if you work on an integrated client you get a chance to work with people in many departments. The firm has a great reputation, so it's also a good resume-builder. The people you'll work with are extremely talented, smart and motivated - I've met few slackers / non-team players at Edelman! Also some nice perks,... like quarterly fitness reimbursement in Bay Area, sabbatical after 10 years. As with most agencies, who your manager/team is will define your experience. I'm lucky enough to have a great deal of flexibility and autonomy - a lifesaver with the long hours / high stress of the job. Overall, Edelman is a good company to work for. You'll learn a lot, but there are many things about it that are frustrating and I can see why a lot of people get burnt out.

    Show More

    Cons

    Culture and organization leaves a lot to be desired. New managers receive absolutely no training or support, and new employees are only given 1-2 hours worth of onboarding by HR. It's often very unclear who you go to for what, or the procedures for certain things. Usually you just have to ask around to find an answer to questions, which leaves room for new employees to make errors in their work process or not bring... in someone they should have. Information is not centralized or well-organized. Revolving door of admin/HR staff make it hard to know who to ask questions of. Career progression is dependent a lot on politics, and on certain accounts, you don't get the visibility you need. Pay is also quite low, especially for the long hours and volume of responsibilities. When recruiters reach out to me, I always ask what the salary of a position is for my records and it's almost always around $10k more than I'm paid at Edelman, even though when I joined I was told that my salary ask was high for my position. I stay because I love the projects/teams I work on, but this doesn't seem sustainable forever. One other thing that was very frustrating is that they recently lowered everyone's PTO by 2 days per year. It was framed as "simplifying" PTO for our benefit, but in reality, we all lost 2 days. This is really upsetting as when you work so hard for so many hours, those rare PTO days are essential. FWIW, I've never worked less than 40 hours in a week I've taken a PTO day anyway (only way to escape this is to take a whole week off - but you will pay in the days leading up to and right after your vacation!).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Compensate employees based on market value - the Bay Area is an extremely expensive place to live. Create a central repository of information about company contacts, procedures and policies, and update it regularly (current systems feature many old documents). Make internal opportunities more visible to those who aren't as "well-connected" internally but might be qualified/interested in another account or new... business pitch - right now it's only based on who your manager knows. Hire more junior and mid-level support to ensure better work-life balance for all, or enable VPs to offer comp days to their teams after especially stressful times/launches (or weekend/holiday/evening event work). Upgrade finance system to something more modern and user-friendly.

    Show More
    Edelman2018-06-09
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Long hours but some perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company retains a large number of high-profile clients. Though I saw the talent level decline during my tenure, Edelman still attracts many bright people. It still looks good on a resume, and you make useful connections while working there. PTO and benefits were quite good.

    Cons

    You work long hours for low pay. I've seen the demanding hours cause high levels of stress and, at times, ruin people's personal lives. The company may be a leader in PR, but the overall sophistication is not in the same ballpark as marketing firms and in-house marketing departments. If the firm wants to play in the world of marketing, they need to step up their game. The firm seems to have a false sense of how... sophisticated their work is. Social listening, press releases, and tweets are essentially commodity offerings nowadays.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make an honest effort to give people work-life balance. Show humility.

    Edelman2018-04-08
  11. Helpful (11)

    "Try, try again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    The people you get the opportunity to work with are phenomenal. They are talented, smart, ambitious and wonderful - you also get the opportunity to work with amazing clients and on some really awesome projects.

    Cons

    You have to have a good manager and a manager that is an advocate for you, or else you will completely fail here. Much of the senior leadership loves to hear themselves talk, without much listening and consideration from the mid level staff. Even though this is an agency, you will ALWAYS work long hours, with no breaks, even on holidays as clients will never be pushed back on for unrealistic asks/many managers do... not care if their direct reporters are overburdened by work. The environment is also not very understanding of any flaws that happen in the day to day being human, leaving an unrealistic expectation of perfection that impossible to achieve.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate the way you utilize your staff, respect work life balance and don’t treat people like they’re another cog in the wheel

    Edelman2017-12-14
Found 128 reviews