KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Edelman

Is this your company?

Edelman

Add a Review

Edelman Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 277 of over 2,871 reviews

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Edelman President and CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
835 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great opportunity to work with some very smart people(in 120 reviews)

  • "This has greatly improved work life balance(in 110 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be a bit challenging(in 298 reviews)

  • "Some long hours, and lack of communication between departments(in 203 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What Edelman employees are saying

    Join the conversation on

    PR and Communications

    1y

    works at 

    Edelman

    Thoughts going out to all the brilliant people at Edelman after today’s seismic shock

    536

    67 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Edelman and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      May 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive work culture, work life balance, PTO, exciting work

      Cons

      It's tough getting steady WFH days

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Edelman Response

      Edelman

      Well, I'd like to take credit for the advancements we've made around working from home since you posted this but I think we both know you were hoping for improvements absent a pandemic! What I will say is that being forced into entirely work from home circumstances has been a good learning experience and we intend to capitalize on that in considering go-forward working from home guidance. Maria O'Keeffe, US Chief Talent Officer

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Edelman is a great company, but the NY office culture promotes extreme workaholism

      Dec 8, 2020 - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great resources, clients, networking and development opportunities. I had a wonderful experience working at a different Edelman office, where work-life balance actually existed. Pay was still low, but compensated for by being able to have a life and because the opportunities there were so great. Also, I felt like Richard handled the pandemic/layoffs the best way he could, and communication on that front was great IMO.

      Cons

      Pay is low. At the NY office, 1/3 of the managers and AEs would still be working at 8 or 9 pm each night. Unfortunately, the way the pay is structured, AEs and mid-level management aren't compensated for putting in those extra hours - it is simply expected of them "to get the job done." The pay structure takes advantage of these individuals who are pressured to be on call 24/7 and who regularly work 60-75+ hours a week. For the time and effort put into our clients, Edelman employees are vastly underpaid here. Ridiculous. This is why I left.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Edelman Response

      Edelman

      Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to see you thought the communication about the pandemic and the firm's handling of it was strong; I agree. I see your constructive comments about work-life balance. We are having a lot of conversation about what the future of work looks like in light of all the changes of 2020, and we do very much care about employee wellbeing and fair compensation. We'll take your thoughts into consideration and we appreciate them. Take care. Maria O'Keeffe, US Chief Talent Officer

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      PR isn't for everyone

      Jan 14, 2021 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Access to a wide range of accounts and the ability to work with reputable brands - Room for growth/ taking on more responsibilities - Great co-workers (but I know this can depend on the team/office)

      Cons

      - Poor work/life balance - Underpaid - Management could be better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great agency having troubles right now

      Jun 24, 2020 - Vice President in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Terrific Work-Life Balance. I've always been able to attend my kids' baseball games, school plays etc. without any guilt. Smartest co-workers I've ever had. Everyone is bright and energetic.

      Cons

      Client uncertainty is always a pressure. Right now, the world is upside down and any company that relies on client programs and revenue is in a similar situation. The current Chicago office wasn't the best in terms of location and amenities but now that matters less and a move is planned next year.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Edelman Response

      Edelman

      Thanks for your review. I'm so glad you've been able to make all the baseball games and school plays - priceless moments! I 100% agree that managers and direct reports should talk more! We're putting a new platform in place this fall to facilitate ongoing discussions for this reason and I'm very excited about it. I think that will help. Of course, we also encourage talking more without prompts from the firm, something that both manager and employee can and should initiate. If there are other initiatives or projects that you're referring to wanting to discuss more, please make sure to tell your manager you want in! One thing I love about Edelman is it often works to voice your interest in a topic and then become part of the team working on it! We appreciate your feedback. Maria O'Keeffe, US Chief Talent Officer

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Work life balance could improve

      Aug 10, 2020 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Supportive Management - Account Diversity - High profile clients - Expansive network/you can find an expert on basically anything within the network

      Cons

      - Little to no work-life balance - An expectation that 40hrs a week is not enough / you're not pulling your weight - Can be a bit catty at times - SO MUCH micromanaging - Low pay

      4 people found this review helpful

      Edelman Response

      Edelman

      Mixed bag review. Most importantly, I'm glad that you feel supported by your manager, which is so important. I hope knowing that, you can have a conversation about work-life balance and maybe about the proper levels of oversight that work for both you and your manager to address the percieved micromanaging. If you don't know how to approach it, reach out to your HR/Talent partner who can help you with this. Good luck! Maria O'Keeffe, US Chief Talent Officer

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good company hard work

      Nov 17, 2020 - Senior Account Supervisor in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strategic growth opportunities within agency

      Cons

      Bad work life balance overall

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Edelman Response

      Edelman

      Thanks for your feedback. I agree there are a lot of opportunities for growth in the firm right now, which is so exciting. I know work-life balance can be a struggle and it's something we're thinking through in light of everyone working from home right now, so we hope to make progress on this front through a few different upcoming initiatives. Thanks again and take care. Maria O'Keeffe, US Chief Talent Officer

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overworked

      Jun 28, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic, very intelligent, and hardworking colleagues who really care about the work they are doing. And a company owner who genuinely seems to be trying to better the world with his buisness.

      Cons

      The pressure and demands put on creative and production are completely impossible to keep up with. It's difficult to avoid burnout. HR is always sending around a lot of stuff about work life balance blah blah blah but we are not actually allowed to do that because ever day a new super duper highest priority project hits and everyone has to stay up all night and work all weekend to that on top of all their other work.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Edelman Response

      Edelman

      Oh boy. I'm sorry this has been your experience and I know we have work to do in effectively staffing creative and production. The good news is we're working on a U.S.-wide Resource Management function that I think will be critical in addressing your concerns . I'm glad you're happy with your coworkers and I agree with you that Richard is trying to better the world through our work. That's a big deal and is one of the best things about working here in my opinion. Thank you for your hard work and for your feedback. Maria O'Keeffe, US Chief Talent Officer

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Challenging Environment

      Dec 1, 2020 - Vice President in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good name on your resume

      Cons

      Lack of work-life balance, very cliquish, tone-deaf management.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Edelman Response

      Edelman

      Thanks for your review and I'm sorry you found our environment challenging. If there is any feedback you'd want to share with more directly, please do at Maria.OKeeffe@edelman.com. Maria O'Keeffe, US Chief Talent Officer

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good and bad

      Oct 18, 2020 - Account Executive in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good experience and opportunities for relationship building. Good to have on resume too

      Cons

      Junior staff are paid way too low to independently sustain living in DC. Work life balance is also horrible

      2 people found this review helpful

      Edelman Response

      Edelman

      Thanks for your review. I'm glad you're getting a lot out of your time here. I also see your critical comments and appreciate the feedback. If you haven't discussed workload management with your manager or local Talent team, I encourage you to. It's especially important now in light of the pandemic and sometimes blurrier lines between work and home life, that you are able to keep some meaningful boundaries. They should be able to help you with that if you reach out. Take care. Maria O'Keeffe, US Chief Talent Officer

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A great place to gain experience

      May 21, 2020 - Art Director in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professional, top-notch work, big brand clients, lots of resources for employees, top talent

      Cons

      All teams are different, not everyone works on great clients, not all managers believe in work/life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Edelman Response

      Edelman

      Thanks for your feedback. I loved seeing "lots of resources for employees" on your pro list along with top talent, top-notch work and big brand clients. I also agree that all teams are different and clients vary. Managers can too, but I hope that it's clear from our policies and leadership support that we view work life balance as critical for sustainable contributions to the firm. Thanks again for your review and take care. Maria O'Keeffe, US Chief Talent Officer

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 277 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Edelman Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews