Edinburgh Napier University Student Reviews | Glassdoor

Edinburgh Napier University Student Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Edinburgh Napier University CEO Andrea Nolan (no image)
Andrea Nolan
2 Ratings
  1. "Edinburgh Napier University Review Headline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student 

    I worked at Edinburgh Napier University full-time

    Pros

    Great environment with respectful personnel and amazing resources for students

    Cons

    Can't find something negative to say

    Edinburgh Napier University2019-09-12
  2. "Easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edinburgh Napier University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy to do not too busy

    Cons

    the tasks are too simple

    Edinburgh Napier University2019-09-10
  3. "Students helping Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Student Demonstrator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Understanding that we don't know the entirety of the subject material; we just performed better than average and are good at explaining what we know to our peers.

    Cons

    No accountability; it goes to say that some demonstrators don't know anything at all and yet still have the jobs. Was asked to develop learning material as a student contributor, but afterwards the lecturer did not know how to use the learning material I created so it was thrown out. Lecturers also need a minimum knowledge criteria to teach all facets of a class or those facets should be removed.

    Advice to Management

    Some kind of minimum knowledge criteria on demonstrator selection.

    Edinburgh Napier University2018-06-03
  4. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student in Edinburgh, Scotland
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University

    Pros

    Safe environment were everyone tries help each other.

    Cons

    Bad organisation between lectures, classes overlapping themselves and taking off classes you would like to do.

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-04-19
  5. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Ambassador in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organization, Infrastructure, Library, Equipment, Personal development, Help

    Cons

    Lectures, Slides, Material, could be more up to date, more carefull

    Advice to Management

    Renew, pay attention.

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-03-03
  6. "Inspriring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Administrative Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edinburgh Napier University

    Pros

    Great income; great environment when working directly with students; diverse opportunity; status of name; having been a student, learning the background was inspirational.

    Cons

    Every seconded position I applied for (that was not brought to my direct attention by my line manager) I was unsuccessful in achieving. I believe a system of promotion would have been more indicative of a promoters in people, than having internal positions advertised yet still being ring-fenced for certain individuals - I was prey to this as well..

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your subordinates and encourage diverse thinking!!! Especially in non-academic roles, ESPECIALLY because you only hire degree applicants!!! MOST OF WHICH STUDIED AT NAPIER!

    Edinburgh Napier University2017-02-23
  7. "ENU Student Ambassador review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Ambassador in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edinburgh Napier University for more than a year

    Pros

    Best student pay and wide range of responsibilities available!

    Cons

    None really! Apart from some roles that are not particularly interesting, but it depends on what projects you take on!

    Edinburgh Napier University2016-07-10
Found 7 reviews