Edison Chouest Offshore Reviews | Glassdoor

Edison Chouest Offshore Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Gary Chouest
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good people aboard ship(in 6 reviews)

  • "Newer vessels, grocery order is good if you plan well,(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Organization on some boats was not up to par(in 5 reviews)

  • "Some of the coordinators didn't care about individuals, but upper management did(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to grow with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good work environment unfortunately the down turn just made it hard to keep people employed.

    Cons

    None to speak of always took care of their employees.

    Edison Chouest Offshore2018-10-06
  2. "over worked, under paid, under fed,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mate in Port Fourchon, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    schedule (28day on 28 days off) good ship handling experience, learn lots of about vessel operations good medical and dental.

    Cons

    poor working conditions, Long hours, horrible food on board vessel, no internet when off shore, limited use of communication to home and loved ones, people/office can be extremely hard to work with. Money is alright, but only because you can't spend it due to working 1/2 the year. No 401k matching, no paid flights or transportation to work, late crew changes, horrible communication with office and client.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people. Internet,

    Edison Chouest Offshore2019-07-03
  3. "Captain at Edison Chouest Offshore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Captain in Port Fourchon, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, pretty tidy ships, great support from shore

    Cons

    Good ole boy club, if you are a captain who hit a ship, you get a promotion. If you are form north of I-5, good luck.

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting educated people down.

    Edison Chouest Offshore2019-06-01
  4. "No room to move up! Long hours! Hurry up and wait!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Houma, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay and Health Insurance cost

    Cons

    Management, Time away from home, anything else you could imagine

    Advice to Management

    remember where you came from

    Edison Chouest Offshore2019-02-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Old ways never die"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time

    Pros

    My boss is great and that's about it.

    Cons

    Pay, benefits, vacation, environment. They pay very little, no performance reviews or schedule of pay raises. Does not increase pay based on cost of living. Vacation time is 0 for the first year. 5 days for years 2-3 and 10 days for years 3+. Does not match 401k at all, even if we had a spectacular year. Everyone who succeeds is a personal buddy of a family member. Almost impossible to move up. It's the basic "good...

    Show More
    Edison Chouest Offshore2018-12-04
  6. "Drop in crude oil price adversely affected company and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Second Mate Unlimited, Any Oceans 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Loved the work, and being at sea.

    Cons

    Family separation for months on end.

    Advice to Management

    Answer the phone and do what you say. Give your employees a little latitude and watch what they can do.

    Edison Chouest Offshore2018-09-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Relief Captain/Mate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Captain/Mate in Cut Off, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have met some very good and dedicated personnel

    Cons

    Some of the coordinators didn't care about individuals, but upper management did. Must be from the South

    Edison Chouest Offshore2018-09-10
  8. "I fear for the future of ECO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vessal Master in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The 401k management is great. The health insurance is pretty good and under $300 for the whole family.

    Cons

    With over 18 years with this company as a Vessel Master. Let me start by saying that in the beginning ECO was a wonderful company. In today's ECO you will be told on a daily basis that you are replaceable at any time. If Chouest wants you gone, they will find a reason to fire you. The struggle for power in the upper management is unreal. Any employee that accidentally gets in between, conflicting upper management, will...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wish you treated your employees better. You should have more respect for your veterans. You should not treat them as garbage, you can just throw away, to suit your own personal agenda. Take into account that the people you fire, have families. They need their jobs to survive. Be a better person, then you have been.

    Edison Chouest Offshore2018-10-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "UnSure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Newer vessels, grocery order is good if you plan well,

    Cons

    You name it...Lack of communication...every man for himself..

    Advice to Management

    Safety first when it really matters...Like when its not convenient..or too costly...let the Captains and Engineers make more supply chain decisions..like they know what breaks and what inventory is needed..

    Edison Chouest Offshore2018-08-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Executive Assistant-Bid Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant- BidAdmin in Katy, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edison Chouest Offshore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful view from office and water bottles.

    Cons

    Houston office: Environment in the office is: Hostile(), lots of gossip. I specifically told my ( ) not to share that I was leaving the company. From my 2.5 months that I worked there. In less than 24 hours It was begged be(pretending- of course ), for me to stay, which means laws were broken by gossiping about my salary and employment status to non HR person...No room for growth. I made 2 formal complaint, nothing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    HR professional at houston office.. owners should be more aware of what goes on in the houston office ( kind of a joke, at least the side that supports Brazil. The American side, I have no clue due to tasks not crossing.

    Edison Chouest Offshore2018-08-10
Found 78 reviews