Edmunds.com Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Edmunds.com CEO Avi Steinlauf
Avi Steinlauf
197 Ratings
Pros
  • "ROWE (results only work environment) allows for flexible schedule and remote options even prior to covid(in 52 reviews)

  • "The work/life balance is the best I've seen or heard of(in 32 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A lot of the great work that happens in the office doesn't always translate well when we interact with dealers and customers(in 14 reviews)

  • "Edmunds is located in Santa Monica(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Amazing Work Life Balance and Learning Opportunities

      Oct 28, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Edmunds really takes care of their employees, especially during remote work in the pandemic. There are small things like Thinking Thursdays and extending Summer Fridays that really help with recharging and becoming a more productive worker. I was beyond burnt out from my previous company because of being overworked in a remote environment, which I imagine a lot of people are facing right now. Quitting that job and being hired at Edmunds has completely changed that, and my work-life balance is so amazing now. Meetings are focused and productive, deadlines and expectations are manageable, and I feel very rewarded for the work that I am doing. Weekly departmental and Cadillac Catch-up meetings with the CEO have been great for fostering innovation and cross-pollination of different domains. Coming from a fast-paced product-driven company, this has been amazing to experience, with time in the week actually dedicated towards growth and learning outside of immediate job responsibilities. The people here are some of the smartest and respectful people I have ever worked with, and as a remote new-hire I have felt super welcomed, especially with the Workplace Experience and PITSTOP teams making the transition very easy and accommodating during my onboarding.

      Cons

      It can be overwhelming at times when ramping up on automotive domain knowledge (especially for newcomers), internal Edmunds tooling, and documentation on all of the different processes and systems, but this has been getting better with time and experience. My advice for new hires is to be mindful of the Dunning-Kruger effect and to have a growth mindset.

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company Culture

      May 4, 2021 - Account Representative in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, competitive pay, positive culture

      Cons

      Must hit goals every month. Doesn't matter what you did previous month.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Culture, Training, and Management.

      Apr 11, 2021 - Sales Account Executive in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Edmunds has been a great company to work for. The training, management, and culture is second to none.

      Cons

      I have had no cons to speak of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Dealer Success Specialist

      Apr 13, 2021 - Dealer Success Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company. Takes care of their people.

      Cons

      Been here for3 years and don't have any complaints.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A great company!

      Apr 28, 2021 - Technical Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have great benefits and are in a great location.

      Cons

      They weren't always clear on how the company would achieve their long term goals.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work!

      Apr 5, 2021 - Senior Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible, fun, and rewarding!

      Cons

      I don't have any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Has potential to be Great!

      Oct 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Most employees are friendly, intelligent and team players - Senior leadership cares and makes an effort to stay connected to all employees by hosting weekly meetings - going over business updates, health & wellness opportunities, fun games, and even gave us half day Friday’s for several months during Covid - Edmunds is a leader in the automotive space - with the best editorial team around! - CarMax partnership established earlier this year has proven to be successful - As an individual contributor - if you stick your neck out to get involved & contribute to projects beyond your day to day responsibilities, there is a lot to learn and great people to learn from. - ROWE (results only work environment) allows for flexible schedule and remote options even prior to covid. That doesn’t mean you don’t work hard or long sometimes! It just means that the company is very understanding & no one gives you a hard time about balancing your work hours. - Benefits are great and they provide 401k matching

      Cons

      - Little to no recognition. Expectation to go “above and beyond” yet no career guidance, encouragement, or structure for growth. - Disconnect between some management can be frustrating - If you want to grow, you need to make it happen for yourself - Compensation could be better, but benefits (like Rowe) balance that out

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      What a Hot Mess

      Dec 15, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rowe was great before it was taken away Pay was pretty good for the market, but bonuses were taken away after the company started experiencing headwinds in 2017 Work life balance was pretty amazing This was a great place to work prior to fall of 2017

      Cons

      Leadership has zero long term vision. The entire company once paused working on anything meaningful to pursue chatbots for half of a year while other competitors are Edmunds’ lunch. What’s really upsetting is that all of the senior leadership that allowed the company to sink are still with the company! As a result of this, there is not much career mobility at all. There have been 2 rounds of layoffs one in 2017 and one in 2020, with the 2020 layoffs being the most severe. As others have stated, an email was sent out over holiday break detailing that there would be layoffs making everyone fear for their jobs and basically ruining any semblance of the holiday.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Great Place to Work

      Feb 1, 2021 - Anonymous in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a reason Edmunds is recognized as one of the best places to work in Los Angeles. The Company values flexibility and wellness. There are weekly offerings geared at supporting employees' personal and professional growth.

      Cons

      We haven't been able to enjoy the beautiful office due to COVID-19, but the Company has been creative with ways to keep us all connected and engaged. They also made sure we have all the tools we need to do our jobs effectively from home.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture

      Mar 26, 2021 - Operations Coordinator in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling allows for great work life balance

      Cons

      It’s easy to get complacent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 306 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Edmunds.com Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Manager, Marketing Analytics
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Edmunds.com? Share Your Experiences

    Edmunds.com logo
    or