Edmunds.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Edmunds.com Reviews

Updated March 16, 2017
188 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

188 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Having the results only work environment has allowed me to still be the mother I strive to be and earn myself a living (in 43 reviews)

  • I have gained a work/life balance that I did not know was possible (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • The company preaches work life balance but what does that mean and to who (in 7 reviews)

  • The Santa Monica traffic can be bad at rush hour (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good work-life balance.amenities and perks.
    As it is a small(ish) company, there are plenty of opportunities to grow, if you do quality work. There is a lot visibility and management recognizes employee performance. The company is doing well and it is constantly growing.

    Cons

    Teams could use a bit more alignment as individual team goals have steadily worsened the user experience of the website.

    Advice to Management

    We must start behaving like a big company if we want to grow more. Execs have good vision but the other desicions makers could use a bit more strategic and structured thinking. There are a lot of smart people here but sometimes, desicions are based on personal opinion rather than business strategy.
    Overall, keep up the good work and get some more talented descion makers who truly understand what needs to be done in order to stay competitive in this industry

    Edmunds.com Response

    Dec 12, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review- and welcome to Edmunds. We are very happy to hear that this has been a positive move for you, especially as it relates to work - life balance and ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Look at Upper Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Charleston, WV
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Charleston, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edmunds.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people, corporate office, training, pay, benefits, get to travel to cool places, meet awesome people, and learn about new cars.

    Cons

    Upper Management and hard to trust them, very cutthroat environment with a lot of two-faced and backstabbing from veteran sales reps towards the newbies.

    Advice to Management

    Match employees with managers that fit their learning style. Get rid of some regional managers. Give people more of a chance to prove themselves if they are new to the industry.


  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great work environments, great people, but hustled"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    I truly loved the company and enjoyed the atmosphere! Some people may not like the chaos that sometimes happens but I thrive and shine in chaos. The team strive to deliver great result with precision and efficiency. leadership teachs and HONE your skills and make sure you are effective member of the team

    Cons

    As contract employee when the offer was extended to work for them was extended I was elated with joy... But after some research I realized i was SEVERELY under paid around half .while the position it self paid around 63000 according to my research.. once I mentioned a raise so that I can meet the minimum pay of the team THEY REJECTED OFFER .. this severely hurt.. I performed well, never called out, or late and performance was MEETING company goals.

    Advice to Management

    stop trying to under cut contractor you desired to hire by paying severely below curve.(it was so bad difference you would need to consider this amount a OUTLIER so you don't sound your data) If you need additional employee pay them on par with the team or atleast bearable amount

    Edmunds.com Response

    Dec 12, 2016

    Thank you so much for the time you spent giving us feedback. It is good to hear that you found an appreciation for the culture and atmosphere. The issue of hourly pay through an staffing agency and ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Incredible Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I feel that my work has an impact across the company and the Executive Leaders make it clear that every employee has a voice.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Edmunds.com Response

    Nov 14, 2016

    Hi! Great to hear from you. We are thrilled to hear that you feel your work is recognized and valued. Edmunds couldn’t do what we do without dedicated employees like you!


  6. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Edmunds.com full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The senior executive team is great at communicating strategy and initiatives to the whole company.

    Cons

    The location can feel a little isolating sometimes, but even that isn't a big deal. Food trucks galore!

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work, keep communication lines open and maintain trajectory

    Edmunds.com Response

    Nov 14, 2016

    Thank you so much for your reply. We are always pleased to hear feedback regarding our executive leadership. As that team has continued to grow, we have made a concerted effort to seek out those ... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good, not great."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edmunds.com (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment with good benefits and great environmental perks. Open workspace with a progressive forward-facing work culture entitled ROWE (Results Orientated Work Environment). Smart people who are driven to create good products.

    Cons

    Interior work environment is often hectic, disorganized and often breaks down due to communication failures from stakeholders to the workforce. Will often shift the entire company's focus once a year with little to no follow through.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to educate interior officers on the forward-facing culture that Edmunds prides itself on.

    Edmunds.com Response

    Oct 17, 2016

    Hello! Thank you for visiting our page and leaving a review. We value former employees’ perspectives as they encourage us to continue to improve. We pride ourselves on transparency and open ... More


  8. "A Model Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Analyst
    Current Employee - Sales Analyst
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time

    Pros

    Edmunds offers a suite of products for its clients that work very well, the support for both the clients and sales force is awesome, this company actually cares about the clients and employees. A lot of companies proclaim to focus on employee morale and well being. Edmunds truly does. It gets better every day.

    Cons

    navigating on internal systems to get information is a little challenging at first, but the longer I am here, the easier it gets. Other than that I have found no Cons

    Advice to Management

    Continue to encourage employee feedback and continue to act on it. Keep up the great work.

    Edmunds.com Response

    Sep 18, 2016

    What a great review! It's true that Edmunds does care about its employees’ morale and well-being, so it's wonderful to see that that message is being received. You are correct in that each and every ... More


  9. "Continues to be a great place to work!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Director in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Cutting edge work
    Good opportunities to learn and grow
    Great Work Environment
    ROWE is amazing
    Competitive compensation and benefits

    Cons

    Too many changes that happen too fast, not strictly a con but sometimes feels like have to keep up with too much

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Edmunds.com Response

    Sep 18, 2016

    Hello and thank you for your review! We love hearing that you enjoy the work and opportunities here at Edmunds. Being in a competitive industry, Edmunds’ recognizes the need to innovate and ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive
    Current Employee - Sales Executive
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Edmunds.com (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Edmunds.com rewards its sales team based on performance with very competitive salaries and generous bones/commission plans. Edmunds.com has grown and continues to grow at a very rapid pass offering its employees with tremendous advancement opportunities and ongoing industry training. The service offered by Edmunds delivers an unmatched ROI, cutting edge tools and programs who strives to be a better dealer partner and employer every day.

    Cons

    With growth and an industry that is always changing come mistakes and growing pains. However edmunds is quick to identify these areas of improvement and they make the necessary changes immediately.

    Edmunds.com Response

    Sep 7, 2016

    Thanks for the insightful review. You are correct in that mistakes and growing pains are inevitable when a Company is expanding and leading the way with cutting edge ideas and products. However ... More


  11. "Director, Business Analytics"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Business Analytics in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Director, Business Analytics in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people. Great environment to work. Company is always trying to improve the well being of each and every employee. Very focused on career development and making employees happy. Love the flexible ROWE environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes the companies vision isn't clear and changes. Although i understand that things are always changing in the online space.



Showing 188 of 197 reviews
Reset Filters