KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Edmunds.com

Engaged Employer

Edmunds.com

Add a Review

Edmunds.com Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 of over 329 reviews

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Edmunds.com CEO Avi Steinlauf
Avi Steinlauf
212 Ratings
Pros
  • "ROWE (results only work environment) allows for flexible schedule and remote options even prior to covid(in 52 reviews)

  • "The work/life balance is the best I've seen or heard of(in 32 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A lot of the great work that happens in the office doesn't always translate well when we interact with dealers and customers(in 14 reviews)

  • "Edmunds is located in Santa Monica(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture with positive attitude

      Jul 9, 2019 - Product Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The entire culture from the on boarding process to the day-to-day at Edmunds is top notch. The sales team leadership encourages each person to run their own business within the framework of a national strategy which allows for continued innovation and personal growth.

      Cons

      Overall the culture, benefits, leadership, and coworkers are top notch at Edmunds. So the day-to-day work environment is amazing. No complaints from me.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Has potential to be Great!

      Oct 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Most employees are friendly, intelligent and team players - Senior leadership cares and makes an effort to stay connected to all employees by hosting weekly meetings - going over business updates, health & wellness opportunities, fun games, and even gave us half day Friday’s for several months during Covid - Edmunds is a leader in the automotive space - with the best editorial team around! - CarMax partnership established earlier this year has proven to be successful - As an individual contributor - if you stick your neck out to get involved & contribute to projects beyond your day to day responsibilities, there is a lot to learn and great people to learn from. - ROWE (results only work environment) allows for flexible schedule and remote options even prior to covid. That doesn’t mean you don’t work hard or long sometimes! It just means that the company is very understanding & no one gives you a hard time about balancing your work hours. - Benefits are great and they provide 401k matching

      Cons

      - Little to no recognition. Expectation to go “above and beyond” yet no career guidance, encouragement, or structure for growth. - Disconnect between some management can be frustrating - If you want to grow, you need to make it happen for yourself - Compensation could be better, but benefits (like Rowe) balance that out

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Will it get better? Because it can't get much worse...

      Oct 13, 2020 - Manager in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office, decent benefits, flexible work environment, bagels on Friday, fro-yo and popcorn everyday, mostly nice and smart people

      Cons

      At the end of December 2019, the company warned ALL employees of upcoming layoffs - this caused every single employee to fear for their jobs and update their resumes through the holidays. If Edmunds were trying to handle layoffs the worst way possible, they succeeded. So January 2020 comes around, and 25% of the staff was laid off. Multiple employees that were due promotions were instead rewarded with being let go. The layoffs stripped the company of tons of talent, and left departments decimated - only one employee in PR, zero in marketing, etc. Morale was at an all-time low. For those that survived the layoffs, many started to job hunt immediately. To prevent anymore talent from fleeing, retention bonuses were offered to a minority of employees, which instead created tension with those that weren't included. Could things get any worse? Yes. Because then, COVID-19 hit. The decrease in car sales led Edmunds to offer discounts to its dealer partners to retain their business. Edmunds then passed along this loss in business revenue to their already overworked and understaffed workforce via a 10% reduction in salary, and gave no estimation of when salaries would return to normal. How did a company with such a long standing in the automotive industry sink to such lows? 1) Leadership No long-term vision or strategy. CEO is nice and accessible, but he and the leadership team are leading the company straight into the ground. They need to sell the rest of the company to CarMax and cut their losses, or gracefully exit and step aside for new leadership. You've had your chance and you've failed. Take it on the chin. 2) Product In tech, you're only as good as your product. Total lack of innovation here - the products are mediocre, and EVERYONE knows it. Yet, the product leadership still have their jobs and extremely bloated salaries. Why? Because they're in the "in crowd"? They need to be gone. 3) Sales-driven organization Sales team is too reactive, too focused on short-term sales goals. Sales team starts fires weekly, and the cross-functional teams have to clean up their mess. Both the Tier 1 and Tier 3 businesses are dying. Churn is high. Turnover on the sales team is high. It's all bad. 4) Marketing The org doesn't believe in marketing at all. There's a reason everyone's heard of Edmunds' competitors, but they haven't heard of Edmunds.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      This is an honest review. I hope this helps fellow job seekers.

      Sep 22, 2019 - Data Service Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool building and a lot of free food.

      Cons

      I was told that I would be able to learn SQL and a lot of other useful skills that would continue to help me grow professionally. Additionally, I was told that the work life balance was great due to their ROWE policy. I was also advised that their training was top notch and that they would allow me time to learn the role while providing attainable performance goals. This was not my experience. In terms of useful skills, this role was 50% waiting on hold from external inventory providers, while the other half was doing endless task from a queue to fix various discrepancies on the Edmunds.com website. I never dealt with databases or SQL EVER. Next, the ROWE policy is an excuse not to give employees time off. Result oriented work environment. If you get your work done, you get time off. Sounds good unless you are never done with your work. I worked 60 hours a week at that office and had to take home a laptop and do additional work after I got home. Its a salary position so forget about OT. Finally, the training I got was rushed, non specific, and from individuals who had worked there multiple years and didn't want to train people. Not to mention half the people in the department were fired while I was there. Fortunately, I found a job and quit before I received the boot as well. Those were all hard working and intelligent people who didn't deserve the treatment they got.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic Place to Work!

      Jun 3, 2016 - Marketing in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is really amazing. EVERYBODY is so helpful! From the C-level executives, to the entry-level employees, I feel like I can stop anybody and ask them a question. The company's core values are: Transparency, Resourcefulness, Urgency, Togetherness (TRUST) and they live and breathe it daily. The benefits and Results Only Work Environment (ROWE) are fantastic: maternity leave for new mothers is 6 months at 100% PAID. Fathers get 2 months at 100% PAID. This applies to adoptions and surrogacy too. And you can take as much vacation as you want because we're a ROWE. Nobody micro-manages me; they trust me to act like an adult and get my work done - novel idea! Aside from the benefits and helpful culture, the people I work with are incredibly talented and smart (and the nicest!). The work is really really challenging, but I feel proud of my projects and project teams. Edmunds really pushes you to use your critical thinking skills - no idea is impossible! It's a fast-paced company and we tend to launch MVPs (Minimally Viable Products) before launching a fully blown product, but I like that we're always innovating and not killing products with red-tape.

      Cons

      We have way too many meetings. If there was one word that summarizes why we wouldn't reach our full potential, that word would be "meetings."

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Edmunds.com Response

      Hi there! Thank you so much for your review. We know that you have a choice when it comes to your Employer and we are thrilled that you are on our team! Our company was founded on innovation, data and our people and we strive to challenge and improve in all three areas. We hear and understand your feedback regarding meetings and understand the number of them may seem overwhelming. We hope meetings foster creativity and serve as the breeding ground for some of the brilliant ideas that have resulted in the creation of our products, services and offerings for both our external clients as well as our employees. However, we know there needs to be a balance achieved. Therefore, we hope that you feel comfortable speaking up to your manager or Employment Experience contact if you have specific suggestions as we are always willing to listen and learn.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Career development, and expanding knowledge!

      Apr 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started off at Edmunds as a Jr-Mid level developer but I am now currently a Senior developer. The manager here tries their best to accommodate your career development. I was put in several teams to help me become a senior, and I had a handful of great mentors in the company as well. Not only my mentors taught me, but also the team! We share our knowledges, brainstorm together, even bounce off ideas with each other. The people who are at Edmunds are great too! Friendly, and easy to get along with. What I like the most is that everyone here isn't always about work when they don't need to! Everyone is easily approachable, even managers! During my time here, my managers are like my peers, and I don't feel intimidated. If you want to make an influence or want to you want to advance in your career, I think Edmunds is a great company to do so! Edmunds is also trying to keep up with the new technology, so we're not currently stuck with old code! I'm always learning something new everyday and expanding my knowledge!

      Cons

      The old ROWE(result only work environment) policy was GREAT, but the new ROWE one isn't so bad. I can see some pain points from the old ROWE policy that they are trying to adjust. We've got hit with bad news(and layoffs) a few months ago so morale is up and down.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 27, 2015 - Data Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - ROWE (Results Only Work Environment), where employees are given the flexibility to choose their own hours and work location, so long as the work gets done. Many employees are able to work from home on any given day. Others don't arrive in the office until late afternoon, and this is entirely possible because of ROWE, where employees trust each other to be responsible for their work. - Free catered lunch every day - Unlimited PTO, which goes hand in hand with ROWE. - The company really cares about its employees in terms of both personal and professional development. We recently had "Summer Camp", where employees were given the opportunity to attend seminars and classes ranging from "How to Improve Your LinkedIn Profile" to hip-hop dance lessons. A great time was had by all.

      Cons

      -Because of ROWE, it can sometimes be difficult to set up meetings with people working from home. People can always dial in to meetings, or have an online meeting, but occasionally, face-to-face meetings befits the circumstances. Overall though, ROWE is vastly more pro than con, and there are often ways to work around the few cons.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Don't be Fooled by all the Perks

      Oct 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ROWE (results only work environment) Trip Cash ($500 towards any trip) Snacks TAW (flexible time away from work)

      Cons

      Anyone looking to get involved with Tier 3, I would run far far away as it is one hot mess. There is a huge disconnect between upper management and the team, and the department is run by bullies who retaliate whenever anyone tries to speak up. There is no upward mobility and if people are promoted it's based off likability rather than merit. I have honestly never seen such poor Sr Management. They preach transparency and togetherness, and yet they are not transparent and they have created a divide between "them" and "us".Also, Account Executives are never reprimanded for poor behavior. The way they speak to the operations team can be condescending, rude, and misogynistic; and while this issue has been addressed multiple times with HR, it is always brushed over and Account Executives get nothing more than a slap on the wrist. Overall, there is a complete lack of respect, trust, leadership, and transparency in Tier 3. Don't let all the fun perks fool you.

      Continue reading
      36 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best company ever!

      May 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with Edmunds for less than six months. I've worked for a couple of the largest media companies and Edmunds blows them out of the water with their on-boarding process. Friendly colleagues, equipment delivered on time, tons of resources, and inclusive work environment even while working remotely. With all of the "perks" (ROWE, unlimited sick and vacation time, health benefits, etc.), I feel empowered to put forth my best effort as this company stands behind rewarding hard work.

      Cons

      Turnover is low, which I take as a positive, but may be a concern for new opportunities in the future. There are a ton of moving parts that I'd like to explore more and this seems to be addressed with new programs in place to allow employees to expand their skill sets and knowledge of the company and automotive space.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Edmunds.com Response

      Director, Employment Experience

      Thanks so much for the glowing review. We love to hear that you are happy with your experience here in all respects. Keep up the hard work and don’t forget to continue to take time to enjoy the great culture here!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      They truly value their employees!

      Aug 1, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance is incredible here. Most departments of this company are super flexible with your schedule. I come and go as I please, and I can actually live life and get my job done - all the while not feeling as stressed. If I want to leave for the day bc I'm tired, I do. But, I get my job done. The leadership TRULY cares about the consumer. They take every piece of feedback and try to apply it to making our site better. Edmunds just really values their employees and treats us well. We have a lot of fun events all the time, and they really spare no expense for us.

      Cons

      At times, it's hard to see any growth potential. Seems like sometimes people get promoted or moved up based on tenure vs actual knowledge of how to run a team of people (a critical skill). The flexible work environment has a different definition depending on what dept you're in. I think it should be consistent throughout. I know that's the goal. But, it's not reality at the moment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 59 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Edmunds.com Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Edmunds.com? Share Your Experiences

    Edmunds.com logo
    or