Education Corporation of America Reviews | Glassdoor

Education Corporation of America Reviews

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
16%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Stu Reed
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Campus based employees do try hard to make the work environment easy going and put the student first in the best way they can(in 8 reviews)

  • "Most people don’t work that hard meaning great work life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most upper management have never set foot on campus or witness the every day functions of a campus(in 8 reviews)

  • "No job security if you are adjunct(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Adjunct Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Adjunct Instructor in Fort Pierce, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Education Corporation of America part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The curriculum is thorough and apply to real world situations.

    Cons

    Classes are not always available.

    Education Corporation of America2018-08-05
  2. "Great people, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Education Corporation of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of great people who are truly passionate about their jobs Able to work from home as needed

    Cons

    Poor leadership - company has shut down

    Education Corporation of America2019-05-17
  3. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Education Corporation of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, 9-5 days, was an ok place to work

    Cons

    Poorly run company, went bankrupt

    Education Corporation of America2019-03-14
  4. "went downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Beltsville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Education Corporation of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I loved my job up until the campus abruptly closed its doors

    Cons

    shutdown all 70 campuses without advanced notice.

    Education Corporation of America2019-04-15
  5. "The writing was on the wall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Education Corporation of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were some advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Closed down suddenly and didn't consider employees. Some are still searching for employment..

    Education Corporation of America2019-03-14
  6. "A joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registrar in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Education Corporation of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Teammates were great people. Ok compensation

    Cons

    Long hours on salary, no work/life balance, wearing many hats

    Advice to Management

    None. Too late for that.

    Education Corporation of America2019-03-30
  7. "Closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Admissions Representative 

      I have been working at Education Corporation of America full-time

      Pros

      Fun co-workers to work with

      Cons

      Closed unexpectedly- lost accreditation- very high pressure

      Education Corporation of America2019-02-07
    • "Doors shut without notice"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Graduate Student 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Education Corporation of America full-time

      Pros

      None. I cant find one

      Cons

      Shady.kept out of the loop. Students of Brightwood left out to dry.

      Advice to Management

      How could you be advertising to hire when 12/9/2018 you claimed to be filing for Bankruptcy???

      Education Corporation of America2019-02-06
    • "Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Education Corporation of America full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Some mid-level managers genuinely cared.

        Cons

        C-Suite lacked vision and strategic problem solving solutions

        Advice to Management

        None. Company has shut down.

        Education Corporation of America2019-01-04
      • "Poor Leadership"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - IT Engineer in Birmingham, AL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Education Corporation of America full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Great colleagues to work with, great people.

        Cons

        Sinking ship. It was like being on the deck of the Titanic and we were rearranging the furniture.

        Education Corporation of America2019-01-23
      Found 113 reviews