Educational Testing Service Reviews

Updated May 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Educational Testing Service President and CEO Walt MacDonald (no image)
Walt MacDonald
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Thousands of now laid off raters are not receiving any compensation after committing last month to score upcoming tests(in 66 reviews)

  • "My biggest problem with this company is the scoring leaders they provide(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Educational Testing Service full-time

    Pros

    Professional. Informative, and smart company

    Cons

    Coffee did not have many flavors

    Educational Testing Service2020-05-08
  2. "Flexible hours, professional training and support available throughout shifts"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rater 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Educational Testing Service part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Choose your own shifts/flexible. Good training and support.

    Cons

    Shifts are limited to 1 week per month and you aren't guaranteed hours during those weeks, depending on the number of test takers, which is out of anyone's control. You also don't get confirmation of shifts sometimes until 2 weeks prior, making it difficult to schedule other part-time work.

    Continue reading
    Educational Testing Service2020-05-12
  3. "Great part time job with TOEFL"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Rater 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Educational Testing Service part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and remote work

    Cons

    Hours can be reduced unexpectedly

    Educational Testing Service2020-04-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "I Wish I Could Rate a 1.5"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Princeton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Educational Testing Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place for researchers and academia, but horrible operationally

    Cons

    Greed and friendship will sink this company as Nero truly fiddles while Rome burns

    Continue reading
    Educational Testing Service2020-05-02
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Don’t work here!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Educational Testing Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits Paid time off 401k retirement plan

    Cons

    Prejudice Poor-management No promotions Poor HR

    Continue reading
    Educational Testing Service2020-04-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Saw the writing on the wall years ago and left"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TOEFL 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Educational Testing Service part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay was decent, but no benefits

    Cons

    Poor management, inconsistent schedules for everyone

    Continue reading
    Educational Testing Service2020-04-18
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Dismal pay with no benefits and zero communication to rater pool during the current health emergency pandemic"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Scorer in Princeton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Educational Testing Service part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work from home with great rater team and interesting topics to score

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay for raters with years experience. No respect for the important work we do for students and test-takers trying to better their lives. No benefits. No professional development opportunities. No raises. No effort to include raters as an integral part of the entire company team. Constant last-minute shift cancellations meaning they do not have a grasp on workflow needs. No communication from management about lost work due to the emergency health situation with the virus pandemic. We are left unable to proceed with emergency unemployment applications due to this negligence. This used to be a fantastic company to work for but pay has been more than cut in half over the past ten years while cost of living increases. Sadly, it is evident that management does not value their professional rating team.

    Continue reading
    Educational Testing Service2020-03-25
  8. Helpful (10)

    "ETS Doing Nothing to Help or Retain Raters After State Tests Cancelled"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Rater 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Educational Testing Service part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    In normal times a good online job Pay is decent and very good on some tests

    Cons

    The company expects flexibility -- but also commitment. That isn't returned. Thousands of now laid off raters are not receiving any compensation after committing last month to score upcoming tests. Others in the company continue getting paid, but not the workers on the frontlines. Bad communication. Show no commitment to their raters in a time of uncertainty and economic hardship for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Educational Testing Service2020-03-25
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Rater"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Educational Testing Service part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to be a good flexible stay at home job.

    Cons

    I have heard nothing from this company about the current conditions. My hours have been reduced by 75% for months and now 100% cancelled without any official statement from company. Can we apply for unemployment? Can the company pay us some of our average pay to keep their workforce? Who do we even talk to if we have questions and concerns? Just left us high and dry.

    Continue reading
    Educational Testing Service2020-03-25
  10. "Great place with a great mission"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director 

    I have been working at Educational Testing Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, great culture, mission oriented and focused on improving the lives of people through learning and education.

    Cons

    Sometimes takes a long time for change and decision making to occur.

    Educational Testing Service2020-02-27
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 618 Reviews