Educators Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Educators Credit Union Reviews

Updated Nov 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Educators Credit Union CEO Bill Strauther (no image)
Bill Strauther
5 Ratings
  1. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Educators Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and coworkers, they treat you like family. This was my first job out of college, and I am still thankful for the opportunity and skills I learned through Educators.

    Cons

    Had to work Saturdays 9-12 once a month.

    Educators Credit Union2019-11-03
  2. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Educators Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule with great team atmosphere

    Cons

    Must work every saturda for all employees

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Educators Credit Union2017-10-18
  3. "pretty scik"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Educators Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    super good job and great pay

    Cons

    sometimes people are mean and not understanding

    Advice to Management

    none

    Educators Credit Union2017-07-07
  4. "Teller 30+"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Teller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Educators Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bonus, treated like family, management cares

    Cons

    Small company, hard to move up

    Educators Credit Union2017-02-27
  5. "Dysfunctional (Racine, WI)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Educators Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are decent. The company is growing with a few new branches, and seems to be investing in new technology like the card control app.

    Cons

    Management is great at driving away good people, and rewarding incompetence. The culture is toxic and the CEO is unqualified to make any decisions and should have retired years ago.

    Advice to Management

    Hire a qualified President. The board needs to bring in external and qualified management to reverse the decline of the organization.

    Educators Credit Union2016-08-01
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Educators Credit Union

    Pros

    Good benefits, family type environment

    Cons

    The pay was low compared to others.

    Educators Credit Union2016-01-03
  7. "Very toxic workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Educators Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good learning experience Decent not great pay Pretty flexible hours

    Cons

    Promotions are very difficult to obtain you really have to know someone in upper management. People there are very gossipy and trying to put themselves ahead because it is so cut throat. Out of all the financials I've worked for this one was so much more stressful, and the least enjoyable. No one wanted to be there.

    Advice to Management

    Stop worrying so much about office politics make sure you promote who deserves it.

    Educators Credit Union2015-07-13
  8. "Change is not always a good thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Finance Representative in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Educators Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The amount of good Ecu does for people. Family work life balance is good. Pay is good hours are good.

    Cons

    The upper management seems to have let the power go to their heads. It's al in who likes who and not about the work that is being done. Promotions seem to be handed to people who are close to upper management. The culture of the credit union seems to be changing and having more of a bank culture feeling. It use to be all about NPS scores and making our members happy now it's about amount of loans we do and how many services we can get each member to have.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your upper management or you will continue to lose good employees. Stop focusing so much on numbers. Try to keep the good employees and think about getting rise of the bad seeds even in upper management.

    Educators Credit Union2015-06-11
  9. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Finance Representative in Racine, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Educators Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Passionate about providing services to member owners. Found great friends and rewarding relationships. Many opportunities for advancement if you are ambitious.

    Cons

    Has become less member focused over the last couple of years and have become more product driven. Due to this it has caused conflict and competitive untrusted relationships between branches.

    Advice to Management

    Sr. Management should experience what it's like to be a teller, call center agent, msr, mfr in this day and age. Quick to bark orders but not put themselves in our shoes. Management spends too much social time within clicks within organization. Due to this advancement of very qualified staff being overlooked to fill voids with friends or friends of friends. This becomes a conflict of interest in which HR clearly overlooks.

    Show More
    Educators Credit Union2015-06-04
  10. "Awful job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Educators Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good coworkers at branches. Might be a good job for someone desperate or a part time college student, but other than that, there is nothing good to say.

    Cons

    Horrible management who constantly talks down to staff, poor pay rate, and insanely high turnover rate. A lot of people don't stay for more than a year, if they even stay that long.

    Advice to Management

    Give people raises and take some management classes. You treat employees horribly, and there's a reason why no one stays.

    Educators Credit Union2015-04-05
Found 15 reviews