Edward Jones "door to door" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Edward Jones Employee Reviews about "door to door"

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Edward Jones Managing Partner  Penny Pennington
Penny Pennington
211 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are given an enormous amount of support from our home office(in 159 reviews)

  • "Great training for resume building(in 153 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to build a business from scratch door knocking(in 172 reviews)

  • "Get used to Door-to-door prospecting(in 157 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "door to door"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Branch Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Branch Intern in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones for less than a year

    Pros

    Structured environment, many projects to work on (not just busy work), real experience, good pay.

    Cons

    As a branch intern, I had to go door to door and complete a survey. In the interview process they were clear about many things, but that.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2018-10-09
  2. "A good company but residential door to door prospecting is required."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Associate in Huntington, IN

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is very good and the local associates were supportive.

    Cons

    This job is a sale job and daily door to door prospecting is required.

    Edward Jones2019-12-08
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Be Prepared for Door-to-Door Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was top notch. The firm pays you while you are studying for licensing exams. Some folks in the region seem to genuinely care about one another.

    Cons

    You must be excited about going door-to-door in residential neighborhoods trying to "sell" your services and the firm's services. If you are not passionate about this process, you will struggle. Be prepared for long days with the hope of getting a handful of phone numbers each day (if you're good and lucky enough to catch folks home). Hopefully, of the phone numbers you get, some will answer when you call. Of those that answer, hopefully a few will agree to meet with you. Of those that meet with you, hopefully a few will open accounts and move assets. Then you continue this process for 3-5 years until your book of business is built. Other FAs will tell you that they built their business without door-knocking. It rare, especially at the beginning.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-11-26
  4. "Financial Advisor Intern Edward Jones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Advisor Intern in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones

    Pros

    great look into the day to day duties of a financial advisor

    Cons

    business model is going door to door for clients

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-11-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, out-dated methods."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time

    Pros

    The people at Edward Jones are fantastic. You will be given an enormous amount of support and encouragement.

    Cons

    You will need every bit of the support you are given in order to succeed. EJ utilizes an out-dated marketing platform that emphasizes door-to-door sales. They believe in this method as the bedrock of their institution. There are better, more efficient and much less humbling ways to raise assets.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-09-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "High Expectations and Not A Lot to Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones

    Pros

    Make own schedule, salary while getting certs, well known brand name

    Cons

    Door to door can be tiring, no leads, inadequate sales training, lacking in tech compared to competition, they expect more than half to leave, try to scare you with letter to repay training if you leave or get fired, salary is almost impossible to live on and commission is gutted for 2 yrs, no real support in field. They talk a great game and they give people chances from all industries but they fail to teach you how to sell this service. Your success will heavily depend on your trainer and territory.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-09-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Training Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee 

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time

    Pros

    Good training program for those looking for a place to start

    Cons

    Knocking door-to-door to get phone numbers without a business card

    Edward Jones2019-09-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Must like cold calling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and training. You are paid a salary while training and opening up your practice.

    Cons

    It really came across as seeing people as money signs. Door to Door (residential/face-to-face) during field foundations without being fully licensed or being able to call or hand business cards is a waste of time

    Edward Jones2019-08-20
  9. Helpful (12)

    "God awful low paid nightmare, working here was the worst mistake of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Edward Jones made my life so miserable, that it forced me to reset my life completely. Thank you Edward Jones for not recognizing my profound talents and abilities. Thank you for setting the bar for just how horrible my job, my manager and life could be. Thank you for forcing me to find a new professional specialty outside of your retail financial services nightmare where I now work half the hours, have double the time off and make well over twice the money.

    Cons

    My personal opinions follow: Accepting a job at Edward Jones and turning down competing offers was THE worst mistake of my life. The fact Edward Jones still even exists blows my mind. You have door to door salespeople trying to sell front-end loaded funds (commission heavy) and advisory solutions (commission heavy) which are just absolute things of the past. I would LOVE to see where their advisory services consistently beat the no load index funds when considering fees. Please Edward Jones, prove me wrong. From my experience in the Tempe office, there were many "leaders" who had completely irrelevant education or were graduates of what I consider fake for profit colleges like University of Phoenix. Trust me when dealing with them, it shows. When you take into consideration overtime worked unpaid, I made more per hour working on my college campus as a student worker than I did at Edward Jones. Not to mention the hours and stress ruined my life. I don't say that lightly. Working at Edward Jones literally ruined my life (until I left of course). To this day the only benefit I have from working here was comparing any/every awful situation I've experienced since leaving to the fact that it could be worse like when I worked at Edward Jones. I worked 70+ hour weeks using their archaic proprietary systems with no overtime. I literally told them during the interviews I don't work excessive overtime and I was lied to about nearly every facet of the position I took. My mistakes were many here. Believing these propaganda artists was one, accepting the position #2, not quitting the second their lies became apparent #3.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-07-20
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Your local leadership means everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Set your own schedule, some people in the region are nice and supportive so I gravitated towards them, and there is ample information available to increase your knowledge base on products and services.

    Cons

    Antiquated marketing methods make it to where only door to door is acceptable by the firm. No direct mail, email, billboards, or internet advertising available. They say it’s for compliance reasons, but tons of other firms allow advertising that actually yield real results. You MUST pound pavement to be successful with Jones. Your regional leaders will determine everything in your career. They determine who you Office with initially and where your own office will eventually be. My region is highly political and led by people that really don’t care about the success or failure of FA’s. If you’re above the green production line you get left alone and the occasional kudo email sent out to the region with other top producers. If you’re below it you are harassed with negative reinforcement. Don’t expect real help beyond quasi-motivation that is fear based. Expect to simply bust your butt filling that pipeline for future business non stop for the first 5 years 6 days a week. If you don’t, you’re not going to cut it. This is a SALES JOB 1st and foremost. Never forget that. Also, beware of nepotism and clicks that exist in every region. Many people have had their book of business given to them by family or are former BOA’s that received a book from a retiring FA. Avoid these people, they are typically high level and have all this advice to give but some have never knocked on a door in their entire career. They will sink you! Finds successful New News that made it and listen to them and them alone (assuming they stayed humble). Newer FAs are on a salary and you only receive 10% of your commissions so you will be living on scraps until you level up and become profitable. The new asset bonus is $4 per every $1000 you bring in. Land big accounts FAST and OFTEN to supplement low income. Once you are profitable you only keep 40% of the commissions and still have to pay the firm a large sum every month for back office support in addition to all the costs necessary to run the office. It makes sense why people start here and then go to other firms or go independent as RIAs. I personally wouldn’t recommend this firm to anyone because I feel that they use and abuse the FA’s financially and this job will absolutely stress you out more than anything you’ve ever experienced in your life and I’m lucky enough to be successful. I can only imagine how bad it is for those that aren’t in that category. If you’re considering this firm proceed with caution and get the real story from as many local FAs as you can before you agree to onboarding. The home office culture is great but if the local level strays from those beliefs, it’s going to be rough for you if you have any morals what so ever. After 5 years, I’m going my own way where people will truly come first. I think Ted Jones’ dream is slowing dying and soon EJ will be just another money machine like Merrill Lynch.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-05-13
Found 157 reviews