Edwin Watts Golf Reviews | Glassdoor

Edwin Watts Golf Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Edwin Watts Golf CEO John Watson (no image)
John Watson
15 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edwin Watts Golf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, interesting co-workers and selling good products.

    Cons

    Retail is detail, sometimes too much.

    Edwin Watts Golf2019-10-14
  2. "Sales Associate Edwin Watts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Tyler, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edwin Watts Golf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Employee discount. Good Health Insurance, if you make enough to afford the Self Funded plan

    Cons

    Very Low pay. Commissions on certain items help, but not enough money to make much of a difference.

    Advice to Management

    Increase commissions! Or Increase hourly wage!

    Edwin Watts Golf2019-02-12
  3. "Worldwide golf Edwin Watts golf store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edwin Watts Golf full-time

    Pros

    good insurance, flexible hours, good coworkers

    Cons

    Lace protectionist of graphite and steel dust.

    Edwin Watts Golf2018-10-19
  4. "Master Club Fitter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edwin Watts Golf part-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Edwin Watts Golf2018-08-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Club Fitting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edwin Watts Golf full-time

    Pros

    Working in the golf business and networking.

    Cons

    Long hours for low pay. I did not feel valued.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees.

    Edwin Watts Golf2018-02-05
  6. "A Fun Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edwin Watts Golf part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a golf shop, all of your customers are coming to either buy new equipment or have their equipment mended. I enjoyed working there because I was surrounded by people who enjoyed the same hobby as myself. The training tutorials given increased my knowledge of golf technology and to better inform our customers on the latest and greatest in golf.

    Cons

    If one does not like or play golf, it would probably be a very boring job

    Advice to Management

    Management was excellent during my employment.

    Edwin Watts Golf2017-12-22
  7. "Best paying retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edwin Watts Golf part-time

    Pros

    Most employees and customers are golfers of some degree, so it made it enjoyable to be selling and talking about a sport we all like. The pay with commissions during the busy part of the year, in an upscale area in Houston is about $18/hr. You also second as a club fitter and golf equipment expert.

    Cons

    The cons include having to stand all shift and do normal retail work like displaying apparel.

    Edwin Watts Golf2017-06-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great co-workers, poor upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edwin Watts Golf full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy to make business contacts and friends for future job prospects. Good work environment with knowledgeable people.

    Cons

    Low pay, corporate likes to micro-manage, customer base gets less and less knowledgeable every year despite the internet age

    Edwin Watts Golf2017-05-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Regional Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edwin Watts Golf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Corporate leadership built company on two key principles; customer service and sales with integrity. Consistently strives for employees to have highest "Product IQ" knowledge to better serve the consumer. Store managers are some of the most loyal employees I've ever seen in the business world.

    Cons

    Stores could have benefited from computer technology much sooner than originally implemented. A particular retail software transition was detrimental to customer service and ultimately sales success. New owners have proven and efficient retail sales software and applications.

    Advice to Management

    Just as Edwin Watts was founded, pay close attention to store manager feedback. Continue to upgrade fitting software in the stores as well as in-store hitting areas. When feasible, consider stocking products that sell within that specific market.

    Edwin Watts Golf2017-05-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edwin Watts Golf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Great boss *Very loyal customer base

    Cons

    * long days * regrip fees are terrible

    Edwin Watts Golf2017-03-15
Found 37 reviews