El Rio Community Health Center Reviews | Glassdoor

El Rio Community Health Center Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
El Rio Community Health Center Executive Director Kathy Byrne (no image)
Kathy Byrne
8 Ratings
  1. "innovative, director of RN Case Managers, communication with acute and out-pt's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Discharge Care Program in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at El Rio Community Health Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    community health, integrity towards all patients

    Cons

    slim access to higher management/leadership positions due to those available

    Advice to Management

    confidential communication between those managed

    El Rio Community Health Center2014-10-03
  2. "mission oriented co workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Primary Care Physician 

    I have been working at El Rio Community Health Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    most physicians are mission oriented for underserved, great staff support with behavioral health and clinical pharmacist

    Cons

    not flexible with schedule management. most employees feel its drastically changing and feels more corporate than non profit

    Advice to Management

    one of core value is my health matters. current scheduling of extended hours are not ideal for family and women's health.

    El Rio Community Health Center2019-09-11
  3. "Great place to make a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at El Rio Community Health Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good insurance, PTO, FMLA, promotes within, a lot of programs for patients, integrated health.

    Cons

    Low pay and poor training....favoritism prevalent

    El Rio Community Health Center2019-03-18
  4. "Nurse Practitioner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Nurse Practitioner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at El Rio Community Health Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great provider leadership. Innovative company.

    Cons

    Staff is disrespectful and rude with no consequences. Providers are forced to see all late patients whether it makes you run behind or not. Pay is below average. No provider input we are basically instructed on how our clinic will be ran.

    Advice to Management

    Raises!!! Providers should have some input on the day to day operations of 5he clinic.

    El Rio Community Health Center2018-07-03
  5. "Patient communication representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at El Rio Community Health Center part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Great Co Workers Great benefits

    Cons

    New management really had a hard time understanding employees needs and recognizing great work and achievements. Towards end of employment saw a lot of favoritism

    El Rio Community Health Center2018-01-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Patient Advocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at El Rio Community Health Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    When I first began working for El Rio over 25 years ago, this clinic really cared about helping the community and supporting their staff. But as time went on and management has changed, they've stopped treating employees, and patients with respect. My hope is that in time, they find upper management who truly care for our community, and not their own pockets.

    Cons

    Not friendly, not accommodating, ageist, do not respect or care for seniority, low pay, minimal raises, do not support employees in finding alternate jobs in the company when they removed a job title due to contractual changes, do not support or care for the Physicians, rude to clients who speak a different language, unfair to new employees.

    Advice to Management

    Support all of your employees, be fair and re-evaluate where the majority of your "non-profit" monies go, respect seniority and appreciate the amount of time and care employees have given to your company. The great employees you have are what makes El Rio a friendly community health center, but if you continue to release employees you will lose what once made El Rio great.

    El Rio Community Health Center2017-02-18
  7. "Medical Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Medical Technologist in Zionsville, IN

    I worked at El Rio Community Health Center for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Good hours and no weekends when I worked there. However, the clinic days and hours of operation may have changed since then.

    Cons

    Good steady job, but not a lot of opportunity for career growth.

    El Rio Community Health Center2017-01-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Potential to harm patient care."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at El Rio Community Health Center

    Pros

    Great patients, who appreciate everything you do. Midwives are great. Management is terrible and has them duped.

    Cons

    Bullying! Birth Center. Management is a joke, they PRETEND to care. Do nothing but play favoritism with the MA who's been there for years. She will poison others to get you fired, they will bully you in order to esteem themselves, then play the victim. They were dangling a baby from a chair and the little baby threw up. YES! That happened! The mother was being seen by a midwife during the time. They are twisted and should be fired.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    El Rio needs to investigate this bunch. This facility will destroy their reputation. This should not be, especially at a clinic where babies are being born. El Rio has a zero tolerance policy for a toxic work environment? Please install cameras!

    El Rio Community Health Center2016-10-08
  9. "El Rio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Tucson, AZ
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at El Rio Community Health Center for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package! Great providers! Great co-workers!

    Cons

    Some of the people in management positions should not be there and some of those same managers are petty and do nothing more than hold others down.

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate some of the clinic managers and listen to those that work with these people on a daily basis. Show the employees that they are truly being heard.

    El Rio Community Health Center2016-07-08
  10. "Very Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Volunteer/Extern in Thatcher, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at El Rio Community Health Center for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone way very nice and helpful

    Cons

    No many job opportunities for entry level employees

    El Rio Community Health Center2015-11-02
Found 18 reviews