Cover image for Elastic
Logo

Elastic

Engaged Employer

Elastic

Add a Review

Elastic Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 482 of over 513 reviews
4.0
76% Recommend to a Friend
Elastic CEO  Ashutosh Kulkarni
84% Approve of CEO

Found 473 of over 513 reviews

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Elastic CEO  Ashutosh Kulkarni
Ashutosh Kulkarni
88 Ratings

What people are saying about Elastic

Join the conversation on

Tech

453.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Elastic~751551
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Elastic and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company Overall

    Dec 1, 2022 - Commercial Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive pay Remote work options

    Cons

    Constantly changing which results in frequent layoffs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Pay and Benefits but....

    Dec 1, 2022 - Renewal Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, benefits were paid by company, 401k match, and work remote

    Cons

    Poor go to market strategy. Forced customers to upgrade with high uplift in their OPx budgets. Sub par customer relationships.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Elastic team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Was a great company....

    Sep 14, 2022 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a wonderful experience at Elastic but the company has gone downhill over the past couple of years with no light at the end of the tunnel. The founders created a great culture where professional and collaboration are important. The product is solid. IF the customer is savvy enough to have the resources to sustain it. Many don't. Observability is important and there's some large deals to be found. The culture still has a lot of professionalism and new ideas are respected and allowed. There's a lot of support and freedom to do the job and respect for family obligations, work/life balance. The benefits are great with volunteer time off, donation matching, full health benefits. Steady raises and RSU's are commonplace. There's a lot of Elastic fans out in the community.

    Cons

    There has been a steady incline for a few years. Many cashed out from the IPO or were pushed out. There was some bad leadership that took 2 years to get rid of while dead wood was hired and the game of politics and hot potato began. It's been 2 years to see the growth plans and no one has outlined their goals, vision or objectives. Company Calls are full of buzz word bingo or an exec reading from paper. There is little communication from the ground up. I'll break it out by segment. Sales in the west is not doing well. The west particularly has a loss of any leadership. Reps and managers are asked to help leadership show value. Lots of late nights writing ghost emails so others feel involved and many are asked to let people join their meetings despite lack of understanding of the account, our solutions or how we can help. Sales management hasn't worked out ways to spread best practices so every sales team is on their own. We all do our own proposals, RFPs, decks, etc in our own vacuum. There was MEDPICC training with no examples or understanding of the field of observability or security. When questions of real world examples came up, the trainer was overwhelmed and moved on. Execs and managers don't bring ideas to QBRs if they even show up. SDRs: The SDR organization doesn't have a routine to scale new SDRs, have milestones, help manage messaging, teach cold calling and prospecting, ensure accountability, provide mentorship, etc. Everyone's left out on their own for the sales reps to manage the SDRs. There's a new program with zero staff so SDRs are being asked to postpone their own prospecting to help out and teach the field. Most have checked out and are looking for jobs elsewhere or they have "quietly quit". Solution Architecture has a similar trajectory. There's no career/skills development where the SAs are asked to learn from each other. They are left on their own to look for answers they need with little methodology. Yes, there's an occasional training but I haven't seen the SAs grow into enterprise reps nor be held accountable for any deliverables. SAs struggle to deliver a point of view, perspective, application of a new feature, customer relationships. Product management has fallen apart since we had our head of product take over as CEO. Ash started to make progress then was promoted to CEO. The deadlines of innovation are loose with little direction. For example, we haven't had true RBAC for cloud in the 4-5 years we've had a cloud offering. Elastic wants to be a security company without true RBAC.. There hasn't been much innovation to talk about to customers. The last innovation we had was the purchase of Endgame which failed in the market. Searchable snapshots was a small step forward but not applicable to many customers. Our cloud has had a lot of issues and support goes into a black hole. Our support has to communicate with the cloud team and there's little communication. A few years back, many of the security features that were paid were put into the free version which lost a huge customer base who doesn't want to pay huge dollar amounts just for ML or support. The reps are then pushing cloud which lacks technical needs like RBAC, data onboarding, better tech support (that communicates issues from our cloud team) and a better SaaS than a PaaS model. At the mid-market level, support and the cloud has a business case which is hard to prove at the enterprise level. The cost models at the enterprise level aren't customizable for various situations. The services organization doesn't have a direction or any consolidated content. For example, we need materials to give customers but our consulting sales people have to make it up on their own on their nights and weekends. We sell technical account managers with no methodology or accountability. We've needed migration content, onboarding, customer stories, prospecting materials, sample go live plans for various use cases. None of this exists. Leadership is non-existent. Customer Success has been non-existent. We move around CSMs as paper pushers or support case chasers but we haven't hired consistently. The leader seems like a smart guy but perhaps it's Elastic that can't invest properly? Again, there has not been a plan of any methodology or vision outlined to the field. Some of our CSMs are technical, some aren't. So we flip flop on their role at any given time and only cover a couple of accounts (or maybe we flip to a ton of accounts that we can't even begin to cover). For example, a major customer issue at a $1M+/year customer. The headcount was open so the responsibilities didn't fall on the customer success management with an open head count. The customer moves on and everyone will be wondering at renewal time. Reps aren't really incented for renewals. The renewal and customer success team aren't equipped with keeping these 7 figure/year customers and we're losing many of them to new technologies, Datadog, Grafana. At the time of renewal, there will be a lot of folks willing to help but the account was lost 1-2 years prior. Sales is held accountable to a monthly forecast but the rest of the company has a laid back attitude towards deadlines. Every other Friday is off, flexible schedules, but don't worry about timelines. We had a story of a product manager who took off 4 mo for paternity leave and burned out the other so bad he had to quit leaving the field in a complete bind. Someone will disappear for paternity leave but the responsibilities will fall onto the team instead of the manager. For example, someone complains over doing their managers work and is fired. This happens a lot at Elastic. Many emails to the director of every department to get what is needed. Marketing seems to do well and we have support at regional level. I think there's vision and execution there. There has been a lot of departures due to culture on the mid-level. The impact is big without any solutions to tie over gaps in people. Partners - Again, there is a huge change with a re-org that didn't make any sense, caused a lot of chaos and will continue to decline due to the alignment. We've put all our eggs into the cloud partnerships which isn't defined. We need a product vision to align with each cloud partner and we haven't been able to outline how this would work. For example, how does Elastic fit into Google's landscape and fit with say BigQuery? We don't have enough partner enablement to support the other traditional resellers who prefer selling other technologies because of their rebate, training, and support models. We need a distributor such as Arrow but we've ghosted Arrow because of legal language without any next steps or explanation. Paperwork: We had major issues with order forms going out with wrong language because of our software issues. I still run into a huge amount of bugs. Deals were delayed with no escalation paths to resolve the issues. It seems to have gotten better but not fully resolved. We do have a good legal team (a little short sighted and needs better alignment from sales but overall, there's been a huge improvement). We have a great deal desk team, community team. Work/Life balance is great for everyone else. Sales people have to do everyone else's job + manage up + find revenue and deal with customer satisfaction. It's really a few themes that have broken the company: 1) Only sales seem responsible for deliverables. Every sales rep who leaves says the same thing "You have a big company quota, selling big company deals with help as if you're a start up (but even then most start ups have quite a bit more) 2) Leadership has gotten completely out of touch with the customer experience. There's arrogance from the top. The company all hands continuously brings up the question why our attrition rate is so high and there isn't an answer or a plan. This question came up and it was answered "There's natural attrition and most who leave aren't regrettable." This was said in the midst of many leaving who carried the company without diving into the impact of these departures. Only about 20% of sales reps are making their numbers. Enterprise is very thin on attainment due to many of the problems outlined above. Mid-market and I would suspect SMB are better but with mid-market, the number of accounts was decreased and the quota was increased to match an enterprise rep but with a much lower OTE. Good mid-market reps have left or will leave due to this. There is ambiguity on how things like Multi-year is paid so many reps have to track down their pay putting salt on the wound in the midst of declining comp plan. I spent months working with the compensation team trying to get this outlined and no one could understand some of the compensation. Some reps got a raise of a higher OTE but it turned out they were going to make less based on commission rates which was misleading. Once they understood this, they began interviewing elsewhere. 3) Elastic has lost their messaging on what they're selling. The 3+1 platform isn't crisp enough to resonate. Search is not owned by observability teams. Our security message isn't resonating with security teams. Observability and certainly security teams need more SaaS automation. There isn't innovation fast enough to compete with Datadogs and others. Our customer exec involvement is non-existent compared to Splunk. Emailing my customers with "how can I help" is not an exec relationship. Splunk migration is hard and we don't have a services plan to migrate. We don't have the support to compete on strategic deals like the others - For example, cost models (I have too many stories of our cost being way out of wack yet no one can solve it or even understand the problem), proper onboarding, support, customer success, solution architects, etc to onboard the large strategic deals. Partnerships are weak for the larger enterprise deals. Again - No communication and no plan. 4) The passionate, hard working people have left or have been pushed out leaving a lot of dead wood covering their tracks. Politics is now the name of the game. 5) They changed the comp plans so top reps will make less this year. All good reps left and they came back later and said it was error. It really angered people that he lied saying it was an error instead of owning what happened and that many reps wouldn't sign the comp plan 6) All the while, observability and security is a tough race to the bottom. Innovation and GTM strategy is key. I don't think Elastic has it.

    Continue reading
    43 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Elastic Review

    Dec 1, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company culture in Austin.

    Cons

    Major growing pains. Recent layoff got rid of a lot of major talent

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Poor Management

    Dec 1, 2022 - Tech Trainer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and salary, better than standard

    Cons

    Horrible managers - too many managers who do nothing except make life miserable for those they manage. No direction - no support

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great community and product

    Nov 30, 2022 - Vice President in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great community and product Huge market

    Cons

    Sales leadership lacking, need better coverage and partner focus

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic company but not without challenges

    Nov 2, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First and foremost, the culture here is truly incredible. The people here are rock solid and I've felt supported the entire time I've been here. The on boarding was a bit overwhelming and I feel like its a one size fits all process. They should really be focusing on tailoring the on boarding based on what team you are on. I can truly bring my authentic self to work which is a value Elastic lives by. The flexibility is fantastic and I don't feel micro managed at all. The pay and benefits are at the top of the scale. Having two Fridays off a month has been great but as a newer salesperson I do tend to work a bit on those days off. I would say also that the product is top notch but there are some negative perceptions (as you would expect).

    Cons

    This is a very competitive and crowded space. We tout a platform of Search, Observability and Security but each of those particular areas has its own set of competitors and at times it feels like Elastic is an inch deep and a mile wide. I don't think we do a good job of truly differentiating ourselves between best of breed vendors that only focus on one area. I don't know of any customers that leverage all 3 of our focus areas within one group or use case. As well, Elastic at its core is an open source technology and that is a blessing and a curse. Many have no real compelling need to move away from free to premium and many have no desire to move to the cloud. On top of that, you have AWS and Oracle who took the free open source and created their own managed service offerings that directly compete with Elastic. These companies have hundreds of engineers they can dedicate to innovating on top of open source regardless of what Elastic is doing. They are catching up and in some ways delivering functionality thats on our roadmap faster than we do. Losing to yourself is a weird feeling. We also have so many paying customers who never engage our CSM's and have no desire to have a regular cadence with the team. When renewals come up it creates a lot of chaos. Also, salespeople hardly make any money on renewals but they can take up a lot of time even with the help of the dedicated renewals team. Finally, I would say that given the open source roots and the user community, you can easily get mired in the weeds with engineers and devops people who only care about their day to day usage but don't truly understand why Elastic was brought in in the first place. Trying to have a business outcome discussion with an engineer is like pulling teeth. For whatever reason (probably due to open source) Elastic has a difficult time engaging executives. Our messaging, our website (old and tired) , our collateral is all geared to the engineer.

    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Dream job with dream culture for engineers

    Nov 11, 2022 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Space/time flexibility to focus on quality vs quantity - worklife balance is incredible - ability to focus on cutting edge research - ability to work with teammates from around the world

    Cons

    - none to think of so far

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Nov 4, 2022 - Marketing Operations Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    smart & friendly coworkers. the people were the highlight of this job

    Cons

    unclear goals for our org

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent

    Oct 27, 2022 - Senior Support Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are good and the company is growing

    Cons

    No bad things so far

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 473 Reviews
</>Embed

Elastic Reviews FAQs

Elastic has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 513 reviews left anonymously by employees. 76% of employees would recommend working at Elastic to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Elastic employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Elastic. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

76% of Elastic employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Elastic 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Elastic to be senior leadership, benefits, culture and the cons to be career development, management.

Popular Careers with Elastic Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Elastic? Share Your Experiences

Elastic logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Elastic Photos

+ Add Photo
Elastic photo of: New Hires
Elastic photo of: Global All Hands Event
Elastic photo of: Global All Hands Event
Elastic photo of: Volunteer Event
Elastic photo of: Volunteer Time Off (VTO) Trip
Elastic photo of: Chicago Team at the JPMCC
Elastic photo of: Volunteer Time Off (VTO) Trip
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

SwiftypeEndgame

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Elastic Job Seekers Also Viewed

DataStax Logo
DataStax

3.8

531 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 513 Elastic reviews submitted anonymously by Elastic employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Elastic is right for you.