Elder-Beerman Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Elder-Beerman Stores Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Elder-Beerman Stores CEO Kathy Bufano
Kathy Bufano
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "This is a great company to work for, with great employee discount(in 17 reviews)

  • "Employees have been there for years and have lots of experience in customer service(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Alot of jealous people have tried to isolate me and mistreat me because I open so many credit cards and get alot of recognition(in 8 reviews)

  • "Low pay for as much work that you are asked to do(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Going out of business sale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Elder-Beerman Stores full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Associate were like family and friends

      Cons

      CEO didn’t care about anyone but themselves

      Elder-Beerman Stores2018-08-15
    • "Part-Time Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moraine, OH

        I worked at Elder-Beerman Stores part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Good employee discount - 20% off, 25% after one year of employment, 30-35% during special promotions

        Cons

        Low hourly wage for associates

        Elder-Beerman Stores2018-12-08
      • "good treatment for employees"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Elder-Beerman Stores part-time

        Pros

        They treated employees very well

        Cons

        long hours standing on hard floors

        Elder-Beerman Stores2018-05-13
      • "Elder-Beerman"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Sales Associate in Newark, OH

          I have been working at Elder-Beerman Stores part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          The staff and my coworkers are amazing. They are nice and they treat you like family.

          Cons

          They cut Payroll sometimes

          Elder-Beerman Stores2018-04-24
        • "Learn the Coupons"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Sales Associate in Paducah, KY
            Negative Outlook

            I worked at Elder-Beerman Stores part-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            It's not difficult work for retail, especially if you don't work in the clothing department. Carrot tactics with credit cards.

            Cons

            Sales are super annoying to put out. It often involves changes hundreds of price tags just to change them again three days later, and then again three days after that. Coupons are also really difficult because there are so many, and people get really frustrated about it.

            Elder-Beerman Stores2018-03-20
          • "Nice Family Oriented Store, great friendly staff!!!"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Salesperson in Toledo, OH
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at Elder-Beerman Stores part-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Everyone works well together, Management is very understanding and personable.

            Cons

            Too many part time people, hard to get more than 20 hours a week . They pay a lot less than most other retail stores.

            Advice to Management

            more matter how good the job, people will leave if they aren't paid a good wage.

            Elder-Beerman Stores2018-02-15
          • "Bankrupt"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Disapproves of CEO

            I worked at Elder-Beerman Stores full-time

            Pros

            The other people that worked there made it a nice place to work

            Cons

            Before going bankrupt, the company had many monetary problems and spent money on frivolous things

            Advice to Management

            Corporate level, pay your bills instead of giving bonus's to your CEO's

            Elder-Beerman Stores2018-02-25
          • "Business manager"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Free Lance Makeup Artist in Wooster, OH
            Recommends
            Negative Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Elder-Beerman Stores full-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            Friendly personnel, gratis was great

            Cons

            Low pay, low door traffic

            Advice to Management

            Pay more, better training opportunities

            Elder-Beerman Stores2018-02-23
          • "Average"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Seasonal Clerk in Piqua, OH
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Disapproves of CEO

            I worked at Elder-Beerman Stores part-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            Seemed fine to me. Nothing amazing but nothing bad. Nothing to complain about the job itself.

            Cons

            The pay was low but it's like most places.

            Elder-Beerman Stores2018-02-18
          • "Selling Supervisor"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Selling Supervisor in Athens, OH
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Elder-Beerman Stores full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Experience in Retail and enjoyed working with customers

            Cons

            Hours and lack of respect

            Advice to Management

            Have some respect for your honest, loyal employees

            Elder-Beerman Stores2017-12-29
          Found 104 reviews