Elementum Reviews | Glassdoor

Elementum Reviews

Updated 9 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Elementum CEO Nader Mikhail
Nader Mikhail
171 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging world problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - scope of problem is a daily challenge - good team mates -- can always find someone to turn to for help - nice perks (like catered lunches) and good health benefits - leadership listens and growing with the company - people getting started in their career lots of growth potential

    Cons

    - Never a dull moment. Work long hours for high targets - Company is growing and communication is sometimes not good.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening and keep involving the lower level teams in high strategy.

    Elementum2018-08-14
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great people, big challenges!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the smartest and hardest working people I've worked with. The data volumes and complex interdependencies in this space create really interesting engineering challenges. Huge customers that have gone all-in with Elementum (many multi-million $ deals)

    Cons

    Many 1st-line managers don't seem to have the same values that the founders/CEO talk about -- they only seem to care about driving tasks/operational OKRs. I can't remember the last time my manager asked about my career development goals.

    Advice to Management

    It doesn't matter what you SAY, it's what the managers below you DO.

    Elementum2018-07-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The reason why I joined Elementum and the biggest reason I love coming to work is still the same - this company has huge vision. - This is a place you can grow your career. I've been given opportunity after opportunity to try projects I showed an interest in, and I know others feel the same way. We're a young company, so that means there's a lot of room to develop yourself and try things out you maybe wouldn't... have otherwise at a bigger company. - We rev fast. It feels like there's momentum across the teams to always keep learning and trying new approaches. That is infectious. - You feel the impact of your work

    Show More

    Cons

    - It's a startup at the end of the day. If you are used to a super structured, super corporate environment, it may not be the right fit.

    Advice to Management

    As we grow, I think it's going to be hard for us to keep some of our community. Find ways to connect our teams because we only make each other stronger when we share ideas.

    Elementum2018-08-03
  4. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elementum full-time

    Pros

    -Awesome team and smart coworkers -Challenging projects. -Friendly environment.

    Cons

    Many changes on the product directions. Very engineer driven environment. Still running like a start up but with less communication than before.

    Elementum2018-08-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Elementum is a Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + High confidence in future success. I have been at the company for over three years. Through the ups and downs, I have never had more confidence in the direction we're heading and our future success. We try things. Admit mistakes. Learn fast. Iterate. We're honest about our weaknesses and are doubling down on our strengths. + High confidence in mgmt. I have seen upper management take the hit while making the... right decision for the company. Whether it was related to company bonuses, OKRs, admitting personal failures. It is not a culture of machismo or needing to be the smartest person in the room. + High confidence in cultural values. The DNA of the company sets us apart and sets us up to succeed in the long term. Success of the company > success of the individual. The best ideas win. We can operate in ambiguity and thrive in volatility.

    Show More

    Cons

    - We know we need to get better at repeatability and process to move quickly and scale. This is nothing unique to rapidly growing companies, but the evolving environment can be challenging for some. - It's a team sport at Elementum. Any ego will show up and be rigorously cut down. The best ideas win. If you feel the need to justify your own existence or need to take the credit or pass the buck, you will not fit... in at this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Don't underestimate the positive cultural impact of you genuinely, publicly admitting your own short-comings. * Stay focused on what matters, and help us filter out everything that doesn't. * Don't underestimate the positive cultural impact of BBQs.

    Elementum2018-07-18
  6. Helpful (7)

    "A lot of raw magic, a few problems, about to round the corner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The things that have kept me happy and engaged at Elementum are the relationships (real friends and good work friends), knowing the people I work for and with value my work and see my potential, and the confidence that our vision/product can truly tackle a huge problem and create a lot of value. All the typical Silicon Valley tech perks are solid too - food, offices, unlimited PTO etc. Well funded, top tier... customers, very strong board.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like all companies, ours represents the best and worst of the leadership, especially CEO. CEO is charismatic, visionary, fast with a laugh, persuasive yet also seen as inconsistent/short attention span in strategic initiatives. As a result, we fundraise well (which can cover up other deficiencies) and we land big sales deals, but the core focus shifts and the exec team doesn't invest enough time to tell everyone... why. Leadership has made hard choices in the last 6 months and realized we're not as mature of a company as our org structure and headcount suggests. We hired too fast in 2017 and in 2018, we've adjusted. Management should have done that all in one swing, not in waves. We have to hire more people to support additional customers, so the customer experience team needs to become more scalable, efficient. The product/engineering organization ought to do more customer validation rather than focus on functionality and be more concerned about burn-out risk. The HR organization needs to be more people-centric (appreciate employees) and have a strategy for building a sustainable organization. Many of those 'cons' are common across organizations scaling or pivoting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Engage more directly with the team. People only know what you tell them (and when they don't know, they make up stories to fill in the blanks). Returning to more frequent all-hands meetings is a good step. But more than all-hands, you need to go to team meetings, swing by people's desk, sit for lunch with whomever is around, share monthly updates on key priorities, have every function do a quarter in review update... to everyone, have every executive do small group coffees or dinners with random groups of employees. Set OKRs for the exec team around engaging with the team, especially when the morale is brittle right now. Be more consistent in your messaging too, when you say you loved the old days when everyone worked hard and didn't complain and in the same speech say you genuinely want to hear feedback from the team about how we can improve, that's confusing. Do you or do you not want to hear it? If employees are as important as you say, invest in resources like training for new managers, clarity on how promotions work, give teams more recruiting and HR support, provide more incentive rewards. There is a ton of raw material for excellence here. Talent, passion, drive, funding, great hearts, and at the same time some things are going awry. Topics like communication, engagement, culture, morale -- they need as much attention and DRIs as other business critical activities like selling, fundraising, coding. I hope to see that in Q3.

    Show More
    Elementum2018-07-05
  7. Helpful (28)

    "It's a rat race place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - There're still some good people who you can learn from - Lunches provided - Next to 101

    Cons

    - Benefits are worse then they used to be. Health benefits/401k are on the budget cut - Bonuses are being cut here and there, there was a 50% cut just because - Changes on immigration policy - they won't start processing GC before you worked for 1 year at least - Work you to death. People literally leave with health problems - Random laying off people - PTO is unlimited on paper, in real life you have to go and... ask VP if you wanna get 2 weeks. - Average pay, impossible to get a raise - Stocks worth nothing with all of the funding the company's got - Absolutely 0 money spent on employees skills development - Working over weekends is a regular life, of course no one gives extra day off nor it's paid - Force marketing people to put all of the 5 stars review here

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating your employees like kids, everyone sees what really happens

    Elementum2018-07-20
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Stay away from Customer On-boarding - Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elementum part-time

    Pros

    Great product vision. Free lunch. Open and transparent office floor. Great bunch of people/talent.

    Cons

    1. The team is mismanaged. 2. People managers with no supply chain background are getting involved in solutioning and decide on the timelines based on their convenience. Hard to rationalize with them. 3. Talkers are rewarded more than the actual doers of work. 4. Absolutely no coordination within the team. Each for himself/herself. Some people don't want to do anything and yet think they deserve... promotion/appreciation. 5. So-called Subject Matter experts know nothing and when things blow up, they point fingers at someone else. 6. Focus on time reduction vs quality solution and implementation. 7. No one is sure about who will be thrown out and when. 8. Need a big improvement in the infrastructure.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Look beyond managers and SMEs and spend time with each member of the team to understand his / her concerns. We don't need solutions to everything. But at least some of the concerns are to be considered. Especially when more than one person says the same thing. 2. The focus is on the wrong team to get the times down. Infra needs to be improved upon. 3. More collaboration is needed. Each team and member are... on its own and wants to do things their way. Someone needs to show the way. 2. There is no work/life balance at this point of time. Most of the team members are burned out.

    Show More
    Elementum2018-07-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding top talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum

    Pros

    The company rolled out a new bonus program that rewards high performers by more than doubling your bonus target in the quarter. This is a change from previous model where everyone on the team got the same no matter how much they contributed.

    Cons

    There is a lot of work to be done and the pace can sometimes become too intense for some. Good place to be if you like moving fast.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate. Communicate. Communicate. Your making really good changes but don’t forget to keep us all in the loop on the “why”.

    Elementum2018-06-13
  10. Helpful (21)

    "CX - Customer on boarding team MV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time

    Pros

    A good problem to solve and simplify (Supply chain) Vision to make it easier for customers to manage their Supply chain and focus on what is important

    Cons

    One of the most important and crucial team managing incoming data (Customer on boarding) being mis managed by the most inexperienced managers. The exits have started and the cracks have started showing. A team with very low morale due to leadership. Absolutely no career path or clear guidance to help promote people within the team. CX managers/directors do not interact with the team. Not a good sign for... a growing company. Managers play politics to keep the team guessing on what is going on. Projects are being sent off shore and only when there is an issue the MV team is involved in the last minute to save the project.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The CX on boarding team needs some serious overhaul. You cannot hide under the "Growing Pains" umbrella anymore. This is beyond "Growing Pains" and a serious issue. You need to understand what is really going on behind the scenes, before more experienced and hard working people start looking to leave.

    Elementum2018-07-10
Found 222 reviews