Eli Lilly and Company Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Eli Lilly and Company Chairman and CEO  David A. Ricks
David A. Ricks
504 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and Compensation(in 236 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and loyal employees(in 143 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not a lot of opportunities outside of sales if you don’t live or want to move to Indianapolis (headquarters)(in 68 reviews)

  • "Multiple layoffs related to several patent cliffs,(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Eli Lilly and Company and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      May 5, 2021 - Medical Writer in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tons of amazing benefits, lots of opportunities for career development

      Cons

      Can get very busy (10-12 hour days)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      A good place to work....as long as you have the right boss

      Mar 9, 2021 - N/A 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Great pay and solid benefits + Generally, nice co-workers + Pleasant office environment + Plenty of opportunities for advancement in pay, title, job responsibilities + Global company, so some opportunities exist for high performers to take on international assignments, and almost all employees will interact with colleagues based in affiliates

      Cons

      + Poor leadership in many areas. Promoted by "who you know," not by how great a leader you are. + Many leaders willing to throw their own people under the bus to save their own reputation. + Underperforming managers will never be demoted/let go, but the high-performers working under them frequently burn out, leave, or lose motivation. + International assignments are oftentimes reserved for those in special "development" programs; regardless of how well you perform, your odds of getting one are significantly diminished if you aren't formally part of the program.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good benefits but narrow view of success

      May 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training, benefits, and work life balance

      Cons

      Upward movement is dependent on how innovative your sales directors are (or aren’t), and in the case of the later-good luck.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Opinion

      May 4, 2021 - Sales Representative in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the company's values and how they take care of the employees

      Cons

      Depending on the location, you have to travel a lot, but it is something we all know once we start.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 22, 2021 - Associate Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture. For the most part you work with people who are serious about their work. Who want to deliver the best. I feel respected by my coworkers and I do not have anything much to complain about. People are very professional.

      Cons

      Lots of work just like everywhere else. You surely won’t get bored.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent company

      May 2, 2021 - Demand Forecaster 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, innovation, work life balance

      Cons

      There are no cons I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      great team culture

      May 2, 2021 - Pharmaceutical Sales Representative in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -great vacation benefits -great team culture -

      Cons

      -low salaries -hard to get promoted

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      A fine place to build a career

      Apr 29, 2021 - Marketing Editor in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many opportunities for growth, as well as lateral movement.

      Cons

      As a closely regulated industry, a heavy burden of training.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lilly is the best company to work for in the Biotech Industry

      Feb 17, 2021 - Process Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had the opportunity to work for Lilly, first as an intern, and then as a full time employee for a little over 3 years. I had to leave the company to relocate due to personal reason. I am in my second job since I left and none of the companies I have worked for cared about their employees the way Lilly does. Lilly goes the extra mile to develop its people and make them feel appreciated, especially young professionals. I have been told that Lilly gave me an unrealistic expectation for what a job should be like. I disagree, I believe that Lilly should be a role model to follow for any company that understands that employees are their more important asset. A big shoutout to Lilly's HR department for the great work they do.

      Cons

      I wish they had a bigger diversity of location within the United States. Currently, most of the employment opportunities are in Indianapolis. Though it is getting better; I saw the recently opened a site in NC.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      Apr 29, 2021 - Senior Sales Representative in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company is Well organized

      Cons

      Far from headquarters when you are in sales

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,142 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Eli Lilly and Company Job Seekers

    Pharmaceutical Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Executive Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Diabetes Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Neuroscience Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Eli Lilly and Company? Share Your Experiences

    or