Eliot Community Human Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Eliot Community Human Services Reviews

Updated September 18, 2017
48 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Kate Markarian
22 Ratings

48 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Featured Review

    "Current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Lexington, MA
    Current Employee - Director in Lexington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eliot Community Human Services full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Commitment to mission and quality service delivery at all levels and across programs. Large agency with lots of opportunity for growth. Salaries are competitive and in many cases higher than similar positions. Benefits are exceptional compared to comparable agencies.

    Cons

    The work is hard, but this really isn't a con. The rewards for making a difference in the lives of others are great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Stay at the forefront of innovation and positioning for the future.

    Eliot Community Human Services Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Director of Workforce

    The time you took to write this review of Eliot is greatly appreciated. Your balance comments are extremely helpful to the organization .


  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    company growth, quality of services

    Cons

    None that I can see

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Get ready to work incredibly hard…"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Supervisor
    Current Employee - Clinical Supervisor
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eliot Community Human Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - amazing coworkers
    - many opportunities for trainings
    - generous vacation, sick time and paid holidays
    - good mileage reimbursement rates
    - reasonable catchment area for services
    - very good experience in the mental health field working with a variety of different populations, diagnoses, etc.

    Cons

    - absolutely no supervisory support
    - supervisors with very limited experience actually working in the field with the population served
    - micromanagement
    - incredibly high turnover rate
    - fairly low pay in comparison to the workload and expectations
    - zero recognition for good work performance
    - often necessary to work late nights and on weekends without being paid
    - unrealistic expectations with minimal staffing
    - very high caseloads
    - Limited opportunities for growth at the clinical supervisor level
    - very "cliquey"
    - horrific amounts of paperwork

    Advice to Management

    -Say something nice to the people that you supervise once in a while.
    -Consider giving bonuses or raises after a few years.
    -Provide more support and opportunities for growth.
    -Promote qualified people.

    Eliot Community Human Services Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Director of Workforce

    Thank you for taking the time and being so thorough in your review of Eliot. This feedback is taken seriously and is used to improve our work environment. Hopefully your work will result in a change... More


  4. "Steer clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Care Worker in New Bedford, MA
    Former Employee - Group Care Worker in New Bedford, MA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eliot Community Human Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pros of this job...there weren't too many. The only ones I can really think of are that you get to attempt to serve a purpose in society...attempt.

    Cons

    This job was made harder than it had to be from the greed of this organization. They perform hostile takeovers of other organizations that do things right, then find ways to mess things up. The management is iffy. I had a great director that was carried over from a former program run by the diocese of Boston. The assistant director was brought in by Eliot. A family member of mine worked on the same unit as I did. The assistant director got into a heated argument and my relative was sent away to work at another location. Shortly after I became the target of scape goating. Any little thing that happened would be blamed on me. Even things that occurred on my days off. One day I was pulled into the office, and informed that my options were to resign on the spot or be let go. The New Bedford location is a very shifty place. RUN AWAY!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff.

    Eliot Community Human Services Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Director of Workforce

    Your comments will be reviewed and Eliot appreciates the time you took to write your comments.


  5. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Eliot Community Human Services full-time

    Pros

    Good team to work on, good experience

    Cons

    Doesn't replace holidays for employees on irregular schedules.

    Eliot Community Human Services Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Director of Workforce

    Thank you for taking time to write this review. Your remarks are taken seriously and used to determine future strategic plans


  6. "Residential Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eliot Community Human Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very diverse clients & employees , great training opportunities, ability to move around in the company,

    Cons

    Depending on management team, may not be supportive. All employee trainings are in either Framingham, Lexington or Malden MA... drive may be difficult for some.

    Advice to Management

    Train staff more to equip them for their job.

    Eliot Community Human Services Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Director of Workforce

    Eliot management team appreciates hearing from our employees and seek to continual improve our work environment. Your comments will be considered in terms of our training tracks.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "I am still employed there in another department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Supervisor
    Former Employee - Clinical Supervisor
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eliot Community Human Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Clients involved in treatment
    Promote within
    13 Paid Holidays Off

    Cons

    Supervisor Micromanaged
    Did take suggested from Team
    Lots of turn over
    No Diversity in upper management
    No work life balance

    Eliot Community Human Services Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Director of Workforce

    Sorry that the response did not come sooner. Your feedback is important to Eliot. Your comments will be utilized along with recent staff surveys to make improvements to our approach to staff's work... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with decent benefits. Hard to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Eliot Community Human Services full-time

    Pros

    Does good work with kids. There are many programs to work in. You can always find some shifts

    Cons

    The staff turnover in the Juvenile Justice makes it hard for staff continuity. There is a lot of forced overtime, and not much upward movement.

    Eliot Community Human Services Response

    Feb 3, 2017 – Director of Workforce

    It's alway helpful to hear feedback so that we can ensure that we find best practices to reduce these issues. It is appreciate that you took the time to write down your thoughts.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lynn, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lynn, MA

    I worked at Eliot Community Human Services (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great, fun, energetic atmosphere to work in.

    Cons

    Only thing is the low pay rate

    Eliot Community Human Services Response

    Oct 21, 2016 – Director of Workforce

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback is appreciated by Eliot Management and used to improve our work environment


  10. Helpful (3)

    "What One Would Expect From a Growing Non-Profit Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Specialist in Lexington, MA
    Former Employee - Mental Health Specialist in Lexington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eliot Community Human Services full-time

    Pros

    ECHS, Inc. offers some opportunities for growth; however, the support with returning to higher education is minimum. A multitude of training is offered, some for Continuing Education credit for licensed professionals. The atmosphere genuinely depends on whom an employee works with (including clients and coworkers); which is hit or miss. Plenty of opportunities to engage in multifaceted populations, as long as one is willing to work in various areas of the company. The departments (DD, DCF, DMH) are incredibly different from one another, thus the expectation change. Company offers great health benefits.

    Cons

    Absolutely a growing company that has expanded too soon without fixing it's crumbling internal structure first. The administration / management lacks critical communication with direct care, ultimately leading to an incredibly high turnover rate of employment. Though ECHS addresses its community as a "team," it does not treat its employers fairly (on MULTIPLE levels), despite there being an (ineffective) union. The company conducts both client and employee "satisfaction surveys" and engages in bureaucratic rhetoric as a response, thus no viable solutions are enacted. Extremely poor support of staff regarding SAFETY concerns; this can be verified with almost any ECHS employee you ask, no matter how long the employee worked for (months to over a decade). Additionally, expect to hold a second and/or third job to manage a reasonable income. You should also expect to work single-staffed and forced time, when the company refuses to fill shifts because they do not want to pay for relief staffing. There have been company emails with team meeting minutes indicating that shifting staff from residence to residence (in order to save PAYROLL) was more important than double (or more) staffing regarding safety.

    Advice to Management

    Please visit your locations more than every few years. The President, Regional Directors, Team Leaders, Clinical Supervisors still have no idea who some of their own clients and employees are. It is a HUMAN SERVICES corporation, which should treat humans...humanely. So many clients fall through the cracks and can EASILY be helped, yet the red tape seems to never cease. If you support your staff, who sincerely accept such jobs because they care (it is certainly not for the unlivable wages), your company would be one I would recommend to others. Bonuses offered upon hiring (after probation period) won't keep employees; offering bonuses for referrals, won't provide you with more employees because I would not put my loved ones through the stress and pure neglect. It's not worth it. I expect a rhetorical response to this review, as well, and I am incredulous about the authenticity of it.

    Eliot Community Human Services Response

    Oct 21, 2016 – Director of Workforce

    Thank you for the considerable time you took to make a concrete and clear review. Eliot appreciates these comments and will use this information to ensure we improve our practices and the employee... More


Showing 48 of 48 reviews
Reset Filters