Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation President and CEO Chip Lyons (no image)
Chip Lyons
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "An ongoing theme is once an employee hits the two year mark (more for entry level positions) there is not an opportunity for growth(in 6 reviews)

  • "This is particularly problematic since EGPAF is on two floors and they don't really interact(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing. My department and HR really support me and my goals so that I reach my career goals and grow as an employee. This is a great company to work at after college. I have learned so much in my time here. I have a complete health and benefits package.

    Cons

    Not a lot of team/company bonding activities. This is particularly problematic since EGPAF is on two floors and they don't really interact.

    Advice to Management

    It would be great to foster some cross floor activities like a happy hour

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2018-11-06
  2. "Toxic Environment for Entry Level Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The organization has a great mission and people that are very dedicated to that mission.

    Cons

    There is a culture of gossiping, taddle-tailing, and in some cases, bullying. HR does not provide much support to employees, especially junior staff who face this type of treatment and do not provide resources to employees. Pay disparities between different levels are far too large. Managers take business class when their employees dont make a living wage.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more resources during orientation for younger employees and take complaints more seriously.

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2020-01-22
  3. "My input"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff to work with

    Cons

    no place for career growth

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2019-12-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, friendly staff. Great Benefits. Plenty of resources to ensure success in your role

    Cons

    Lack of connection between senior management and staff on the field.

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2019-12-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "No growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool place to work, Most people are nice

    Cons

    No growth opportunities. Same people are still there and they are missing on intelligent and innovative staff

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2019-10-03
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, awesome mission and incredible colleagues

    Cons

    Tough work-life balance and difficult to advance

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2019-09-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Very poor management and over worked junior staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible mission and commitment. In country staff are excellent and have an excellent reputation in the field.

    Cons

    Very poor leadership and management. Staff are hired at leadership levels and remain even though they are poor performers and managers. Programmatic staff in particular are overworked and burnout is a problem. Little to no opportunity for growth and staff treated poorly with high turnover. Leadership ignores bad managers whose staff flee their teams, and continues to burn out or force out good employees who are workhorses for their department.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take heed of staff feedback about bad managers and redistribute work. EGPAF continues to lose good employees because of bad management.

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2019-02-23
  8. "EGPAF - Why I recommend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing mission /work, culture is beyond fantastic - you will feel like you are among family, supportive management, work life balance, outstanding benefits, office provides free snacks and fancy coffee (bonus!) and EGPAF really values career development!

    Cons

    N/A - I love coming to work everyday!

    Advice to Management

    Recognize staff because who doesn’t like to be appreciated! My supervisor is great though I must say!

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2018-09-26
  9. "Mission Driven Organization with Opportunities for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong mission, dedicated staff, internal improvement process

    Cons

    Limited lines of communication between senior management and staff

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2018-09-13
  10. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, work-life balance, great mission. Kind, compassionate team!

    Cons

    Clearer path for growth should be outlined to employees

    Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation2018-08-20
Found 77 reviews